Language and Short Courses 2018/2019

pagination

Bucerius Summer Programme in International Business Law Bucerius Summer Programme in International Business Law

Bucerius Law School • Hamburg

Course location
Hamburg
Teaching language
  • English
Language level of course
  • English: B2, C1, C2
Dates
  • July 01 - July 19, 2019 (Registration Deadline April 15, 2019)
Target group

Bucerius Summer Programmes are designed for advanced law students, recent graduates, and young professionals wishing to acquire in-depth knowledge in the fields of international business law, international intellectual property transactions, and legal technology and operations.

By joining one of the intensive three-week courses, you will have an opportunity to gain valuable intercultural communication skills by working in small groups with students from different legal backgrounds.

Description/content

This programme bridges classroom theory with practical knowledge to provide you with a better understanding of the forces shaping international business law. Each year, distinguished guest professors and experienced practitioners lead courses on topics from their field of expertise. Coursework offered in 2019 will feature the following subjects:

  • Corporate Governance in Publicly Traded Corporations
  • International Commercial Arbitration
  • International Commercial Contracts
  • International Commercial Litigation
  • International Mergers and Acquisitions

If you are interested in exploring alternative dispute resolution, you will additionally be able to follow one of two seminar-style courses:

  • Business Mediation
  • Negotiation

The international composition of participants and lecturers provides a variety of perspectives on the issues discussed, challenging you to contemplate law from another point of view and preparing you to face a future which entails working in an international playing field that is still largely dominated by domestic rules.

Average number of hours per week
35
Average number of participants per group/course
30
ECTS credits (max.)
12
Dates and costs
  • July 01 - July 19, 2019 (Registration Deadline April 15, 2019), costs: EUR 1,900.00
This price includes
  • Course fees
  • Accompanying programme
Further information on dates and prices.

Save 15% - submit an application prior to 1 March and you will receive a tuition reduction! Admission decisions for applicants who submit their materials prior to the early bird deadline will be announced in late March.

The tuition for this programme is set at 1,900 EUR. This enables you to participate in up to six programme courses at no additional cost.

There is no application fee.

We recommend budgeting at least 1,000 EUR for your stay in Hamburg; while all extracurricular activities are provided free of charge for participants, accommodation and travel expenses to/from Hamburg come at an additional cost.

Teaching language
  • English
Language level of course
  • English: B2, C1, C2
Language requirements

Applicants may submit any of the following to satisfy the minimum requirement for participation:

  • TOEFL Internet-Based Test (IBT): 90
  • IELTS Academic Programme: 7.0
  • CAE: B or CPE: C
  • ILEC

In certain situations, we may be able to waive the test requirement and arrange for a telephone interview to assess your English skills, e.g., if you spent a significant amount of time in an English-speaking country or were enrolled in numerous courses or a short-term programme taught in English. If you do not have a (valid) English proficiency certificate and would like to discuss this option, please feel free to contact us at +49 4030706113.

Submit application to

http://buceri.us/ibl-apply

Is accommodation organised?
The organiser helps participants look for accommodation.
Is a social and leisure programme offered?
Yes
Description of social and leisure programme

Over the course of the three-week programme, a few afternoons will be kept open so that you can enjoy some time in the sun and take advantage of the extracurricular programme offered by the International Office. Hamburg has numerous museums, theatres, cafés, bars, and sights to discover. Free guided tours and excursions allow you to explore the city, its attractions, and nearby sites of interest!

Free internet access
Yes
Support in visa matters
Yes
Pick-up service from train station/airport
No

Bucerius Law School

Content Bild
Located in what was previously Hamburg's botanical institute, the Bucerius campus is an oasis of green in the city centre!

Bucerius is Germany's first private law school. After its foundation in 2000, it quickly established its position as the country's top law school, a rank it has maintained since 2008. Bucerius was founded by the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, one of Germany's largest private foundations.

33 Nationalities Represented in the 2018 Bucerius Summer Programmes

University Location

Surrounded by an expansive midtown park and located in the building that once housed the city's botanical institute, the Bucerius campus is an oasis of green in the middle of Hamburg. Whether you're looking to relax in the sun while you do your reading or visit a pub with your peers after getting out of class, you'll find that the central location offers the perfect conditions for making the most of your studies and time in Germany's second-largest city.

More programmes

Language course/short course

Sprach- und Fachkurse 2019/2020

Bucerius Summer Programme in International Business Law Bucerius Summer Programme in International Business Law

Bucerius Law School Hochschule für Rechtswissenschaft • Hamburg

Kursort
Hamburg
Unterrichtssprache
  • Englisch
Sprachniveau des Kurses
  • Englisch: B2, C1, C2
Termine
  • 06. Juli - 24. Juli 2020 (Anmeldeschluss 15. April 2020)
Zielgruppe

Die Bucerius Sommerprogramme richten sich an fortgeschrittene Jurastudenten, junge Juraabsolventen und Young Professionals, die ihre Kenntnisse in den Bereichen International Business Law, International IP Transactions und Legal Technology and Operations vertiefen möchten.

Durch die Teilnahme an einem der dreiwöchigen Intensivkurse haben Sie zudem die Möglichkeit, Ihre interkulturellen Kommunikationsfähigkeiten zu verbessern, indem Sie in kleinen Gruppen mit Kommilitonen aus verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen arbeiten.

Kursbeschreibung

In dem dreiwöchigen Programm bringen wir Studierende aus unterschiedlichsten Rechtskreisen zusammen, um ihnen Hintergründe und Zusammenhänge des internationalen Wirtschaftsrechts zu vermitteln. Das Programm vereint Gastdozenten und Praktiker aus Deutschland und dem Ausland, die ihre Expertise des jeweiligen Fachgebiets einbringen. 2019 wurden folgende Kurse angeboten:

  • Corporate Governance in Publicly Traded Corporations
  • International Commercial Arbitration
  • International Commercial Contracts
  • International Commercial Litigation
  • International Mergers & Acquisitions

Zusätzlich haben Sie die Möglichkeit, einen der beiden Kurse zum Thema Streitschlichtung zu belegen:

  • Alternative Dispute Resolution: Business Mediation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution: Negotiation

Die internationale Zusammensetzung der Gruppe und Dozenten fördert die vergleichende und kritische Diskussion untereinander und fordert Sie heraus, dieses Rechtsgebiet aus einem anderen Blickwinkel zu betrachten. Die Teilnahme an diesem Programm bereitet Sie auf eine Zukunft vor, die die Arbeit in einem internationalen Umfeld erfordert.

Durchschnittliche Anzahl Wochenstunden
35
Durchschnittliche Teilnehmerzahl pro Gruppe / Kurs
30
ECTS credits (max.)
12
Termine und Kosten
  • 06. Juli - 24. Juli 2020 (Anmeldeschluss 15. April 2020), Kosten: EUR 1.900
In den Kosten enthalten
  • Kursgebühren
  • Rahmenprogramm
Weitere Informationen zu Terminen und Preisen.

Reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbung vor dem 1. März ein und Sie erhalten eine Ermäßigung auf die Studiengebühr in Höhe von 15%.

Zulassungsentscheidungen für Bewerber, die ihre Bewerbung vor Ablauf dieser Frühbucherfrist einreichen, werden Ende März bekannt gegeben.

Die Studiengebühren betragen 1.900 EUR. Es gibt keine Bewerbungsgebühr.

Wir empfehlen, für Ihren Aufenthalt in Hamburg mindestens 1.000 EUR zu budgetieren. Alle extracurricularen Aktivitäten sind für die Teilnehmer kostenlos. Es fallen zusätzliche Kosten für Unterkunft und Reise von/nach Hamburg an.

Unterrichtssprache
  • Englisch
Sprachniveau des Kurses
  • Englisch: B2, C1, C2
Sprachliche Voraussetzungen

Als Nachweis der Englischkenntnisse werden folgende Zertifikate akzeptiert:

  • TOEFL Internet-Based Test (IBT): 90
  • IELTS Akademisches Programm: 7.0
  • CAE: B oder CPE: C
  • ILEC

In begründeten Fällen können wir ein Telefoninterview zur Beurteilung Ihrer Englischkenntnisse durchführen, z. B. wenn Sie längere Zeit in einem englischsprachigen Land verbracht haben oder an Kursen bzw. Studienprogrammen in englischer Sprache teilgenommen haben. Wenn Sie kein (gültiges) Englischzertifikat haben, rufen Sie uns gerne an +49 4030706113.

Bewerbungsanschrift

http://buceri.us/ibl-apply

Wird die Unterkunft organisiert?
Der Veranstalter unterstützt die Teilnehmer bei der Suche nach einer Unterkunft.
Wird ein Rahmen- und Freizeitprogramm geboten?
Ja
Beschreibung des Rahmen- und Freizeitprogramms

Während des dreiwöchigen Programms werden einige Nachmittage offen gehalten, um Teilnehmern die Möglichkeit zu bieten, Hamburgs Museen, Theater, Cafés, Bars und Sehenswürdigkeiten zu entdecken. Das International Office bietet zahlreiche kostenlose Führungen und Ausflüge an, die Ihnen ermöglichen, die Stadt und ihre Sehenswürdigkeiten zu erkunden!

Kostenloser Internetzugang
Ja
Unterstützung bei Visaangelegenheiten
Ja
Abholservice vom Bahnhof/Flughafen
Nein

Bucerius Law School Hochschule für Rechtswissenschaft

Content Bild
Located in what was previously Hamburg's botanical institute, the Bucerius campus is an oasis of green in the city centre!

Die Bucerius Law School ist die erste private juristische Fakultät in Deutschland. Nach ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2000 hat sie sich schnell als die bestplatzierte juristische Fakultät Deutschlands etabliert und hält diesen Rang seit 2008. Gegründet wurde die Bucerius Law School von der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, einer der größten privaten Stiftungen Deutschlands.

Informationen zur Umgebung

Umgeben von „Planten un Blomen“, einem weitläufigen Stadtpark und mit einem Gebäude, in dem einst das Botanische Institut untergebracht war, ist der Campus eine grüne Oase mitten in Hamburg. Ob Sie sich beim Lesen in der Sonne entspannen oder nach dem Unterricht mit Gleichaltrigen ein Café besuchen möchten, die zentrale Lage bietet die besten Voraussetzungen, um Studium und Freizeit in der zweitgrößten Stadt Deutschlands optimal zu vereinbaren.

Weitere Kursangebote

Sprach- und Fachkurse