Language and Short Courses 2018/2019

pagination

Introduction to German Law and German Legal Language Introduction to German Law and German Legal Language

University of Bayreuth • Bayreuth

Course location
Bayreuth
Teaching language
  • German
Language level of course
  • German: C1, C2
Dates
Target group

The course caters particularly for law students from abroad (especially those preparing to spend a period of time studying at a German law faculty) and for future translators and interpreters with an interest in acquiring a fundamental grounding in German law and expanding their legal vocabulary.

Description/content

The specialist course "Introduction to German Law and German Legal Language" is taught in four-hour classes in the morning. The course introduces students to the law of the Federal Republic of Germany through short lectures on various areas of law (max. 45 minutes per topic) that are flanked by legal exercises. The course content is based on the topics dealt with in the course instructor's book "Einführung in das deutsche Recht und die deutsche Rechtssprache" (C.H. Beck, 5th edition, Munich), but also includes newer exercises based on recent court rulings. All participants receive a set of notes and exercises.

Teaching is geared to giving students a chance to bring in their own prior knowledge from their home legal systems and to make oral contributions in class. Small group work, student presentations, films on legal topics adapted for instruction purposes and typical legal texts (penal orders, judgements, court orders) are all part of the programme.

Students also attend one civil and one criminal court case in Bayreuth and visit the Memorium Nürnberger Prozesse in Nuremberg, take part in a Q&A session with German law students and are afforded opportunities to meet a court interpreter and practitioners from various legal professions (Notar, Rechtsanwältin etc.).

Heike Simon, the course instructor, practices in Bayreuth as a "Rechtsanwältin" and is a publicly appointed and sworn translator and interpreter for the English language. She has taught German law and German legal language to foreign students since 1992. Further details may be found on her website, http://advocatrix.de.

This specialist law course is complemented by a two-hour afternoon course focussing on German legal language. The total teaching hours are approximately 100 hours in the whole course period.

Average number of hours per week
28
Average number of participants per group/course
15
ECTS credits (max.)
5
Dates and costs
  • August 05 - August 30, 2019 (Registration Deadline June 15, 2019), costs: EUR 859.00 DAAD scholarship application Reference number HSK-0199
This price includes
  • Course fees
  • Accompanying programme
Further information on dates and prices.

Additional costs can be incurred for the optional parts of the cultural programme (museum visits, excursions).

Funding

For this course DAAD university summer course scholarships (starting at language level B1) are available. If you wish to apply for this course, you can find all necessary information about the scholarship programme and its application requirements here. To submit your application, please note the reference number HSK-0199.

Teaching language
  • German
Language level of course
  • German: C1, C2
Language requirements

German language skills level C1 or higher

Submit application to

www.sommeruni-bayreuth.de

Is accommodation organised?
Accommodation is arranged by the organiser.
Type of accommodation

We organise single room accommodation. Students may choose between a room in a student dormitory or in a private shared flat. The dormitories feature two-, four-, five- and six-student apartment units, each with a kitchen and single occupancy bedrooms. All dormitories are equipped with a common room as well as a TV room. Dishes and linen are available. In shared apartments, kitchens and bathrooms are shared. Costs for accommodation are about 290 EUR per month plus a deposit fee of 100 EUR.

Meals

The students' dormitories and private shared flats are equipped with cooking facilities. Several grocery stores and restaurants are to be found in the city centre.

Is a social and leisure programme offered?
Yes
Description of social and leisure programme

The course fee includes various leisure time activities: literature café, academic seminars, international choir, theatre workshops, cinema, sports programme, and the almost legendary Summer University parties.
Cultural immersion opportunities include the following: museum visits, local trips, guided city tours. These excursions cost between one and six EUR. We also offer trips, e.g., to Nuremberg, Leipzig, Dresden or Bamberg, which cost between 10 and 30 EUR.

Free internet access
Yes
Support in visa matters
Yes
Pick-up service from train station/airport
No

University of Bayreuth

On the green campus of the University of Bayreuth, people and ideas meet. The academic life is colourful and more personal than in large universities. Top-level research, teaching according to the most modern methods, internationality and diversity, springboard our students into successful careers – that is what the University of Bayreuth stands for.

University Location

More programmes

Language course/short course

Sprach- und Fachkurse 2018/2019

Pagination

Einführung deutsches Recht und deutsche Rechtssprache Einführung deutsches Recht und deutsche Rechtssprache

Universität Bayreuth • Bayreuth

Kursort
Bayreuth
Unterrichtssprache
  • Deutsch
Sprachniveau des Kurses
  • Deutsch: C1, C2
Termine
Zielgruppe

Der Kurs richtet sich an ausländische Jurastudierende (insbesondere zur Vorbereitung eines Aufenthalts an einer deutschen juristischen Fakultät), Juristen sowie angehende Dolmetscher und Übersetzer, die Grundkenntnisse im deutschen Recht erwerben und ihr juristisches Vokabular erweitern möchten.

Kursbeschreibung

Der Fachkurs "Einführung in das deutsche Recht und die deutsche Rechtssprache" umfasst vier Unterrichtseinheiten am Vormittag. In diesem Kurs erfolgt eine Einführung in das Recht der Bundesrepublik Deutschland anhand einer kurzen Vorlesung zu dem jeweiligen Rechtsgebiet (maximal 45 Minuten pro Unterrichtsthema) sowie juristischen Übungen dazu. Der Inhalt orientiert sich an den Themen des Buches der Kursleiterin "Einführung in das deutsche Recht und die deutsche Rechtssprache" (C.H.Beck, 5. Auflage, München), umfasst aber neue Übungen zur aktuellen Rechtsprechung. Alle Teilnehmer erhalten ein Übungsskript.

Im Unterricht wird viel Wert auf die Möglichkeit gelegt, dass die Studierenden ihr Vorwissen aus dem eigenen Recht einbringen und viel sprechen können. Es kommen Kleingruppenarbeit, kleine Vorträge der Studierenden, didaktisierte Filme zu juristischen Themen und typische juristische Texte (Strafbefehl, Urteil, Beschluss, etc.) zum Einsatz.

Auf dem Programm stehen außerdem der Besuch einer Zivil- und einer Strafverhandlung in Bayreuth, der Besuch des Memoriums Nürnberger Prozesse, eine Fragestunde mit deutschen Jurastudierenden sowie Gespräche mit einer Gerichtsdolmetscherin und Praktikern aus verschiedenen juristischen Berufsfeldern (Notar, Rechtsanwältin etc.).

Die Kursleiterin Heike Simon ist Rechtsanwältin sowie öffentlich bestellte und allgemein vereidigte Dolmetscherin und Übersetzerin für die englische Sprache und unterrichtet seit 1992 ausländische Studierende im deutschen Recht und der deutschen Rechtssprache. Genaueres können Sie ihrer Website unter http://advocatrix.de entnehmen.

Der Fachkurs wird durch einen zweistündigen nachmittäglichen juristischen Fachsprachenkurs ergänzt. Der Gesamtstundenumfang liegt bei ca. 100 Unterrichtseinheiten.

Durchschnittliche Anzahl Wochenstunden
28
Durchschnittliche Teilnehmerzahl pro Gruppe / Kurs
15
ECTS credits (max.)
5
Termine und Kosten
  • 05. August - 30. August 2019 (Anmeldeschluss 15. Juni 2019), Kosten: EUR 859,00 Bewerbung DAAD-Stipendium Kennziffer HSK-0199
In den Kosten enthalten
  • Kursgebühren
  • Rahmenprogramm
Weitere Informationen zu Terminen und Preisen.

Optional können zusätzliche Kosten für das Kulturprogramm (Museumsbesuche, Exkursionen) anfallen.

Fördermöglichkeiten

Für diesen Kurs besteht die Möglichkeit, sich um ein DAAD-Hochschulsommerkursstipendium (ab Sprachniveau B1) zu bewerben. Alle wichtigen Informationen rund um das Stipendienprogramm und den Link zum Bewerberportal finden Sie hier. Wenn Sie sich für diesen Kurs bewerben möchten, geben Sie bitte die Kennziffer HSK-0199 an.

Unterrichtssprache
  • Deutsch
Sprachniveau des Kurses
  • Deutsch: C1, C2
Sprachliche Voraussetzungen

Deutschkentnisse ab C1-Niveau

Bewerbungsanschrift

www.sommeruni-bayreuth.de

Wird die Unterkunft organisiert?
Die Unterkunft wird vom Veranstalter organisiert.
Art der Unterkunft

Wir organisieren für die Studenten eine Unterkunft im Studentenwohnheim am Campus oder in einer Wohngemeinschaft in der Innenstadt. Die Studentenwohnheime sind mit Gemeinschaftsräumen, Fernsehmöglichkeiten und Küchen ausgestattet. Geschirr und Bettwäsche wird gestellt. In den Wohngemeinschaften werden Küche und Bad mit den deutschen Mitbewohnern gemeinsam benutzt. Die Kosten für die Unterkunft betragen ca. 290 EUR pro Monat. Außerdem fällt eine Kaution über 100 EUR an, die zurückerstattet wird.

Verpflegung

Sowohl die Studentenwohnheime als auch die privaten Wohngemeinschaften bieten die Möglichkeit, selbst zu kochen. In der Innenstadt gibt es zahlreiche Lebensmittelläden und Restaurants.

Wird ein Rahmen- und Freizeitprogramm geboten?
Ja
Beschreibung des Rahmen- und Freizeitprogramms

In den Kursgebühren enthalten: Literatur-Café, Vorträge und Seminare, Konzerte, internationaler Chor, Theaterwerkstatt, Kino, Sportprogramm und Sommeruni-Partys
Erlebte Landeskunde vor Ort: Museumsbesuche, Führungen zu verschiedenen Sehenswürdigkeiten kosten zwischen 1 und 6 EUR, Halbtages- und Ganztagsexkursionen z. B. nach Nürnberg, Leipzig, Dresden oder Bamberg kosten zwischen 10 und 30 EUR.

Kostenloser Internetzugang
Ja
Unterstützung bei Visaangelegenheiten
Ja
Abholservice vom Bahnhof/Flughafen
Nein

Universität Bayreuth

Auf dem grünen Campus der Universität Bayreuth begegnen sich Menschen und Ideen, hier ist das akademische Leben bunt und persönlicher als in großen Massenuniversitäten. Forschung auf Spitzenniveau, Lehre nach modernsten Methoden, Internationalität und Diversität, Sprungbrett in eine erfolgreiche Karriere – für all das steht die Universität Bayreuth.

Informationen zur Umgebung

Weitere Kursangebote

Sprach- und Fachkurse