Akademie Schloss Solitude

Akademie Schloss Solitude

Last update: September 2017

Akademie Schloss Solitude near Stuttgart offers young artists and scholars from around the world an interdisciplinary and international three- to twelve-month scholarship programme with residential and event facilities.

Programme description

Every two years, the Akademie grants 50 to 70 scholarships to artists in the disciplines of architecture, fine and performing arts, design, literature, music, sound, video, film and new media. Since 2002, the "art, science & business" programme has also been offering residential and work grants to young people working in science and business.

The programme is intended to serve both as a retreat and as an academy for scholarly and artistic exchange. Scholarship holders provide insights into their creative work through exhibitions, readings, performances, concerts and symposia. The Akademie is part of several regional cooperations and runs an exchange programme with Eastern European art and cultural institutions in Warsaw, Budapest, Novi Sad, Sofia and Zagreb. A 14-day master class for young composers is held every two years.

Akademie Schloss Solitude is funded with grants from the federal state of Baden-Württemberg.

Target group

Young graduates up to 35 years of age or artists who graduated no more than five years prior to applying, and artist groups with high-quality work in the fields of:

  • Architecture (design, urban planning, landscape architecture)
  • Fine arts (including performance art)
  • Performing arts (stage design, directing, dramaturgy, dramatic texts, dance, theatre, musical theatre, performance)
  • Design (visual communication; fashion, costume, product and furniture design)
  • Literature (theory/criticism, essay, poetry, prose, translation)
  • Music (sound installation, composition, interpretation, sound performance)
  • Video/film/new media (including video installation)
  • Web design/web art/digital journalism

Since 2007, the "art, science & business" programme has also integrated the humanities and the natural, social and economic sciences.

Scholarship benefits

The grant is paid at a monthly rate of 1,150 EUR. Expenses for travel to and from the Akademie and the cost of a furnished residential and working studio are covered. A total of 45 studios are available. Depending on the foundation situation, subsidies towards the cost of maintaining two households, health insurance for international scholarship holders, material expenses and transport costs may be provided.

Formalities

Application forms and information on the required work samples can be found here before the next round of applications. Duplicate applications to the Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg and Akademie Schloss Solitude are not permitted.

An independent committee consisting of a chairperson and twelve specialist jurors awards the scholarships in the respective arts. New jurors are appointed for each selection procedure. In the "art, science & business" programme, four jurors review applications and the associated projects relating to a key topic.

Contact

Akademie Schloss Solitude
Solitude 3
70197 Stuttgart, Germany
E-mail: mail@akademie-solitude.de
Internet: www.akademie-solitude.de

Akademie Schloß Solitude

Akademie Schloss Solitude

Letzte Aktualisierung: September 2017

Die Akademie Schloss Solitude bei Stuttgart bietet jungen Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt für drei bis zwölf Monate ein interdisziplinäres und internationales Stipendienprogramm mit Wohn- und Veranstaltungsmöglichkeiten.

Programmbeschreibung

Mit 50 bis 70 Stipendien fördert die Akademie im Abstand von zwei Jahren Künstler in den Disziplinen Architektur, Bildende und Darstellende Kunst, Design, Literatur, Musik, Klang, Video, Film und Neue Medien. Mit dem Programm „art, science & business“ werden seit 2002 auch junge Menschen aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft mit Wohn- und Arbeitsstipendien unterstützt.

Das Programm soll gleichsam einen Rückzugsort und eine Akademie für den wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Austausch bieten. Mit Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Performances, Konzerten und Symposien gewähren die Stipendiaten Einblick in ihr Schaffen. Die Akademie hat mehrere regionale Kooperationen und ein Austauschprogramm mit osteuropäischen Kunst- und Kulturinstitutionen in Warschau, Budapest, Novi Sad, Sofia und Zagreb. Alle zwei Jahre wird eine 14-tägige Meisterklasse für junge Komponisten veranstaltet.

Die Akademie Schloss Solitude wird aus Zuwendungen des Landes Baden-Württemberg finanziert.

Zielgruppe

Junge Studienabsolventen bis 35 Jahre oder Künstler, deren Studienabschluss nicht länger als fünf Jahre zurückliegt, sowie Künstlergruppen mit hochwertigen Arbeiten in den Sparten:

  • Architektur (Entwerfen, Städtebauplanung, Landschaftsplanung)
  • Bildende Kunst (inkl. Performance-Kunst)
  • Darstellende Kunst (Bühnenbild, Regie, Dramaturgie, dramatische Texte, Tanz, Schauspiel, Musiktheater, Performance)
  • Design (Visuelle Kommunikation, Mode-, Kostüm-, Produkt- und Möbeldesign)
  • Literatur (Theorie/Kritik, Essay, Lyrik, Prosa, Übersetzung)
  • Musik (Klanginstallation, Komposition, Interpretation, Klangperformance)
  • Video/Film/Neue Medien (inkl. Videoinstallation)
  • Webdesign/Webkunst/Digital Journalism

Seit 2007 integriert das „art, science & business“-Programm auch die Geistes-, Natur-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Stipendienleistung

Die monatliche Stipendienrate beträgt 1.150 Euro. Reisekosten für An- und Abreise sowie die Kosten für ein möbliertes Wohn- und Arbeitsstudio werden übernommen. Zur Verfügung stehen insgesamt 45 Ateliers. Je nach Stiftungssituation werden auch Zuschüsse zu doppelten Haushaltsführungen, Krankenversicherungen für internationale Stipendiaten, Materialkosten und Transportkosten gewährt.

Formales

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen und Informationen zu den geforderten Arbeitsproben können vor der nächsten Bewerbungsrunde hier eingesehen werden. Doppelbewerbungen bei der Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg und der Akademie Schloss Solitude sind nicht zulässig.

Ein unabhängiges Gremium aus einem Vorsitzenden und zwölf Fachjuroren vergibt die Stipendien in den jeweiligen Kunstsparten. Für jedes Auswahlverfahren werden neue Juroren benannt. Im Programm „art, science & business“ prüfen vier Juroren die Bewerbung und die dazugehörigen Arbeitsvorhaben/Projekte zu einem Schwerpunktthema.

Kontakt

Akademie Schloss Solitude
Solitude 3
70197 Stuttgart
E-Mail: mail@akademie-solitude.de
Internet: www.akademie-solitude.de