Funding programmes for students from A to Z

Individual funding

The classic DAAD scholarship marked the start of DAAD commitment to development cooperation. Over the years, however, the traditional programmes have become more varied and better adapted to the requirements of developing countries. In the meantime, the DAAD has created scholarships making continuing development available to young employees with an academic background who work in development-policy subject areas and positions.

Bicultural Regional Postgraduate Courses for the Middle East and North Africa

IIT Osnabrück

The DAAD and the GIZ support the development of bicultural master’s degree programmes for the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) at German higher education institutions and universities abroad. The main focus is on teaching regional knowledge and cross-cultural skills.

More

Development-Related Postgraduate Courses

MIWF NRW

The EPOS programme offers individual scholarships to participants from developing countries so that they may study development-related postgraduate courses at selected universities in Germany.

More

Helmut-Schmidt-Programme

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

The Helmut-Schmidt-Programme supports future leaders from Africa, Latin America, South Asia, South-East Asia, and countries in the Middle East who strive to promote democracy and social justice.

More

Country-Specific Scholarship Programme

Christina Pfänder

The DAAD supports the new academic generation in newly industrialised countries in Latin America and Southern Asia with special scholarship programmes. The main focus is on engineering, natural sciences, as well as economics and business administration.

More

Bi-National Master's Degrees

DAAD/Volker Lannert

Under the Emerging Countries Programme, international master’s degrees and higher education cooperation projects are being supported at Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí (Mexico) and Ain Shams University Cairo (Egypt). The cooperation projects focus on the environment, climate protection, resource management, and ecosystem research.

More

In-Country/In-Region Programme in Developing Countries

DAAD

The In-Country/In-Region programme supports the training of future professionals and managerial staff in developing countries, in particular university teachers. Support is available for postgraduate programmes and for doctorates.

More

Trilateral Master's Degrees

DAAD

In the Middle East there is a great shortage of highly qualified academics and managerial staff able to transcend religious and political boundaries and work together. Two master’s degrees that promote dialogue intend to change that.

More

University Advisory Programme

privat

In order to meet the growing need for advisory and consultancy services in developing countries, the University Advisory Programme hires German academics and research managers as consultants.

More

Förderprogramme für Studierende von A-Z

Privat

Förderprogramme für Studierende von A-Z

Am Anfang des Engagements in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit steht das klassische DAAD-Stipendium. Die traditionellen Programme wurden im Laufe der Zeit aber so differenziert, dass sie besser zu den Rahmenbedingungen der Entwicklungsländer passen. Inzwischen hat der DAAD ein Stipendienangebot geschaffen, das der Weiterbildung junger, akademisch vorgebildeter Berufstätiger in entwicklungspolitisch relevanten Themenfeldern und Positionen dient.

Bikulturelle regionale Aufbaustudiengänge für die Region Mittlerer Osten und Nordafrika

IIT Osnabrück

Der DAAD und die GIZ fördern an deutschen und ausländischen Hochschulen den Aufbau von bikulturellen Masterstudiengängen in arabischen Ländern. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Vermittlung regionalen Wissens und interkultureller Kompetenzen.

Mehr

Entwicklungsbezogene Postgraduiertenstudiengänge

MIWF NRW

Mit den Entwicklungsbezogenen Postgraduiertenstudiengängen hat der DAAD ein Stipendienangebot geschaffen, das die Weiterbildung junger, akademisch vorgebildeter Berufstätiger in entwicklungspolitisch relevanten Themenfeldern vorantreibt.

Mehr

Helmut-Schmidt-Programm

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

Der DAAD fördert mit dem Helmut-Schmidt-Programm zukünftige Führungskräfte aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, Südasien, Südostasien sowie den Ländern des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens, die für Demokratie und soziale Gerechtigkeit eintreten möchten.

Länderbezogenes Stipendienprogramm

Christina Pfänder

Mit speziellen Stipendienprogrammen unterstützt der DAAD den akademischen Nachwuchs in fortgeschrittenen Entwicklungsländern Lateinamerikas und Südasiens. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den Ingenieur-, Natur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Mehr

Schwellen- und Ankerlandprogramm

DAAD/Volker Lannert

Im Rahmen des vom BMZ entwickelten Ankerlandprogramms wurden 15 Staaten als so genannte Ankerländer identifiziert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen soll zu einer strategischen Partnerschaft im Sinne einer globalen Strukturpolitik ausgebaut werden.

Mehr

Surplace-/Drittlandprogramm in Entwicklungsländern

DAAD

Mit dem Surplace-/Drittlandprogramm fördert der DAAD die Ausbildung zukünftiger Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrer in Entwicklungsländern. Die Förderung erfolg im Rahmen von Postgraduierten-Studiengängen, bis hin zur Promotion.

Mehr

Trilaterale Masterstudiengänge

DAAD

In der Region Nahost herrscht ein großer Mangel an gut qualifizierten Wissenschaftlern und Führungskräften, deren Dialogfähigkeiten religiöse oder politische Grenzen überschreiten. Durch den Aufbau bzw. die Förderung von dialogbefördernden Masterstudiengängen soll diesem Mangel begegnet werden.

Mehr

Hochschulberaterprogramm

privat

Mit dem Hochschulberaterprogramm möchte der DAAD den Einsatz von Beratern an Hochschulen in Entwicklungsländern fördern. Mit der Beratungsleistung soll ein Beitrag zur Strukturbildung an der Partnerhochschule geleistet werden.

Mehr