Fact Finding Missions

DAAD / Heupel

The Fact Finding Missions programme helps German university lecturers to meet potential cooperation partners in DAC countries. The aim is to use preparatory visits to set up long-term collaboration.

Background

Many universities, especially in developing and newly industrialised countries, have relatively little contact with institutions abroad. Those that already have networks often lack the capacities to expand and broaden them.

In order to prepare project proposals for a collaboration between two or more universities (or other institutions), staff and finances are needed. This is especially the case if the needs of all participating partners are to be determined and included in the focus of the cooperation project, which is an important prerequisite for sustainable partnerships.

In order to establish contacts, provide incentives for consolidating and broadening networks, and support the creation of long-lasting partnerships, the DAAD’s Fact Finding Missions programme sponsors preparatory visits by delegations of experts from German higher education institutions, which allow them to make contact with potential cooperation partners in DAC countries. Visits to one or more universities and discussions with other institutions (embassies, ministries, DAAD regional offices, development cooperation organisations, etc.) help determine the needs of partner institutions and an application for a BMZ-funded partnership programme can then be prepared. The visit by the German delegation may be followed by visits of the foreign partners to Germany as this allows for more intensive preparations for the cooperation project and clarification of the partner structure.

Programme objectives

Funding for fact finding missions aims to support collaboration with partners in developing countries at the university level. Fact finding missions are supposed to initiate long-term contractual partnerships at the department and/or institute level. Ideally, these will result in successful joint applications for funding in one of the DAAD partnership programmes.

Funded projects

The following projects are supported in the Fact Finding Missions programme: Project list of fact finding missions (PDF, 98 KB)

Contact

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Department P32 Development Cooperation: Partnership Programmes and Higher Education Management

Anke Maria Meyer
Tel.: +49 228 882-486
Email: a.meyer@daad.de

Further information

DAAD sponsorship database: Fact Finding Missions

Supported by:

Bmz-logo En

Fact Finding Missions

DAAD / Heupel

Das Programm Fact Finding Missions fördert die Kontaktaufnahme von deutschen Hochschullehrern mit potentiellen ausländischen Kooperationspartnern in DAC-Ländern. Ziel ist es, über Anbahnungsreisen eine längerfristig angelegte Zusammenarbeit zu realisieren.

Hintergrund

Viele Hochschulen – gerade in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern – haben noch relativ wenige Kontakte zu Institutionen im Ausland. Bereits vernetzten Hochschulen fehlen häufig Kapazitäten, um ihre Netzwerke auszubauen und zu vertiefen.

Um Förderanträge für Kooperation zwischen zwei oder mehreren Hochschulen (oder anderen Institutionen) vorzubereiten, werden Personal und Gelder benötigt. Insbesondere dann, wenn die Bedarfe aller beteiligten Partner ermittelt werden und in die Ausrichtung der Partnerschaft einfließen sollen – eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Nachhaltigkeit einer Partnerschaft.

Um Kontakte herzustellen, Anreize zur Verfestigung und Vertiefung von Netzwerken zu setzen und den Ausbau zu dauerhaften Kooperationen zu fördern, fördert der DAAD im Programm Fact Finding Missions Anbahnungsreisen von Fachdelegationen deutscher Hochschulen zur Kontaktaufnahme mit potentiellen Kooperationspartnern in DAC-Ländern. Durch Besuche an einer oder mehreren Hochschulen sowie Gespräche mit anderen Institutionen (Botschaften, Ministerien, DAAD-Außenstellen, EZ-Organisationen etc.) soll der Bedarf der Partnerinstitutionen ermittelt und eine Antragstellung in einem BMZ-finanzierten Partnerschaftsprogramm vorbereitet werden. Zur intensiveren Vorbereitung eines Kooperationsvorhabens und Klärung der Partnerstruktur können im Anschluss an die Reise der deutschen Seite auch Reisen der ausländischen Partner nach Deutschland gefördert werden.

Programmziele

Die Förderung von Fact Finding Missions zielt darauf ab, auf Hochschulebene die Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern in Entwicklungsländern zu fördern. Durch Fact Finding Missions sollen längerfristig angelegte und vertraglich gebundene Kooperationen auf Fachbereichs- bzw. Institutsebene angestoßen werden. Im Optimalfall entstehen daraus erfolgreiche gemeinsame Förderanträge in einem der DAAD-Partnerschaftsprogramme.

Geförderte Projekte

Folgende Projekte werden im Rahmen des Programms Fact Finding Missions gefördert: Projektliste Fact Finding Missions (pdf, 98 KB)

Kontakt

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)
Referat Partnerschaftsprogramme und Hochschulmanagement in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit/P32

Anke Maria Meyer
Tel.: +49 228 882-486
E-Mail: a.meyer@daad.de

Weiterführende Informationen

DAAD-Förderdatenbank: Fact Finding Missions

Gefördert von:

Daad Hochschulmanagement Dies Finanzierung Bmz