Funding programmes for universities from A to Z

Project funding

All DAAD programmes are based on the interest in, and commitment to, development cooperation shown by many German universities. The DAAD uses these programmes to make the knowledge and expertise at German universities available for development cooperation. This is one way of further increasing the contribution to sustainable development made by higher education and science.

Academic Mining Education in Afghanistan

The Academic Mining Education in Afghanistan (AMEA) project (2014 to 2017) supports the training of highly qualified specialists and managerial staff in the Afghan mining industry.

More

Centres of African Excellence

The DAAD helps African universities establish centres of excellence, improve the quality of the education they provide, and increase their research capacities, thus enabling future decision-makers in Africa to be trained in line with international standards.

More

East African Centre of Excellence in the field of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

Frankfurt School of Finance & Management

The Centre of Excellence contributes to reinforcing the teaching and learning capabilities of East African universities in ICT-related fields and fosters linkages between universities, the private and public sector as well as civil society.

More

African Good Governance Network

DAAD

The African Good Governance Network (AGGN) supports a group of highly qualified academics from sub-Saharan Africa who promote the values of good governance and democratisation by advocating economic and political change in their home countries.

More

Alumni Programme for Supporting and Integrating International Alumni

DAAD

The DAAD supports higher education institutions in Germany by offering suitable programmes and initiatives to strengthen the ties of international alumni to German universities and to Germany as a whole.

More

Seminars for Professionals and Managerial Staff from Developing and Newly Industrialised Countries

DAAD

The seminars for professionals and managerial staff from developing and newly industrialised countries contribute significantly to the development of intercultural skills, professional networking, and active participation in development cooperation.

More

Bicultural Regional Postgraduate Courses for the Middle East and North Africa

IIT Osnabrück

The DAAD and the GIZ support the development of bicultural master’s degree programmes for the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) at German higher education institutions and universities abroad. The main focus is on teaching regional knowledge and cross-cultural skills.

More

Bilateral SDG Graduate Schools

Dr. Dorothee Weyler

The programme seeks to contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) of the United Nations. Thus, bilateral partnerships between higher education institutions in Germany and developing countries are supported in order to establish bilateral SDG graduate schools in developing countries.

More

German-Mongolian Institute for Resources and Technology

GMIT

Mongolia has one of the world’s largest reserves of raw materials. However, there is only a limited number of highly qualified technical specialists and managerial staff in the raw material processing industry and affiliated fields. The project German-Mongolian Institute for Resources and Technology (GMIT) is a response to this situation.

More

Development-Related Postgraduate Courses

MIWF NRW

The EPOS programme offers individual scholarships to participants from developing countries so that they may study development-related postgraduate courses at selected universities in Germany.

More

Subject-Related Partnerships with Institutions of Higher Education in Developing Countries

DAAD

By sponsoring curriculum enhancement of partner universities abroad, this programme contributes to creating high-quality, effective, and cosmopolitan higher education institutions in developing countries and in Germany.

More

Alumni Special Projects

DAAD/Michael Jordan

In the Alumni Special Projects programme professionals from developing countries who have been trained in Germany have the opportunity to come into contact with German representatives from academia and business at important trade fairs and conferences.

More

Fact Finding Missions

DAAD / Heupel

The Fact Finding Missions programme helps German university lecturers to meet potential cooperation partners in DAC countries. The aim is to use preparatory visits to set up long-term collaboration.

More

Helmut-Schmidt-Programme

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

The Helmut-Schmidt-Programme supports future leaders from Africa, Latin America, South Asia, South-East Asia, and countries in the Middle East who strive to promote democracy and social justice.

More

Higher Education Excellence in Development Cooperation

CIH

The DAAD “Higher Education Excellence in Development Cooperation – exceed” programme supports the development of competence centres by German universities and their partners in developing countries.

More

Dialogue on Innovative Higher Education Strategies

DAAD/Michael Jordan

The Dialogue on Innovative Higher Education Strategies programme is jointly developed by the DAAD and the German Rector’s Conference. It offers two programme components that foster the competencies of academic staff and contribute to the enhancement of institutional management at universities in developing countries.

More

Country-Specific Scholarship Programme

Christina Pfänder

The DAAD supports the new academic generation in newly industrialised countries in Latin America and Southern Asia with special scholarship programmes. The main focus is on engineering, natural sciences, as well as economics and business administration.

More

German-Brazilian Partnerships in Sustainable Development

Renan Cepeda/GIZ

In the context of the programme New Partnerships/Novas Parcerias (NoPa), the DAAD supports German-Brazilian research collaborations in the areas of renewable energies and energy efficiency, as well as protection and sustainable use of tropical forests.

More

Partnerships for the Health Sector in Developing Countries

DAAD/Volker Lannert

In order to prevent a possible brain drain of professionals and nursing staff in the health sector in developing countries, the Partnerships for the Health Sector in Developing Countries (PAGEL) programme supports high-quality training and continuing education opportunities in the medical field.

More

Pan African University, Institute of Water and Energy Sciences (incl. Climate Change)

Mohammed El Amine Hefhaf

The DAAD supports the development of the Pan African University Institute of Water and Energy Sciences (incl. Climate Change) (PAUWES) at the Abou Bekr Belkaïd University in Tlemcen, Algeria.

More

University Programme on Renewable Energies and Energy Efficiency in Senegal

GIZ Senegal

Under the multilateral university cooperation PESEREE, the DAAD supports four universities in Senegal. The aim is to design a more application-oriented joint degree course in renewable energies.

More

University-Business-Partnerships

DAAD Volker Lannert

Since 2012, the programme University-Business-Partnerships between Higher Education Institutions and Business Partners in Germany and in Developing Countries has supported practice-oriented degree programmes relevant to the labour market that are cutting-edge and suit the local context.

More

Partnerships for Supporting Biodiversity in Developing Countries

DAAD Volker Lannert

In the last few years, biodiversity issues have steadily increased in importance in the context of the international development agenda. As research into biodiversity in Germany is very well developed compared with other countries, it is essential to exploit the vast potential of German universities in this field more extensively.

More

Right Livelihood College

DAAD

The Right Livelihood College campus at the Bonn Centre for Development Research (ZEF) hosts workshops twice a year at which DAAD scholarship holders from all over the world exchange views with prominent international personalities.

More

Equipment/Material Support for Universities in Developing Countries

In order to support and strengthen university partnerships, the Material Support programme funds equipment university infrastructure in developing countries.

More

Bi-National Master's Degrees

DAAD/Volker Lannert

Under the Emerging Countries Programme, international master’s degrees and higher education cooperation projects are being supported at Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí (Mexico) and Ain Shams University Cairo (Egypt). The cooperation projects focus on the environment, climate protection, resource management, and ecosystem research.

More

In-Country/In-Region Programme in Developing Countries

DAAD

The In-Country/In-Region programme supports the training of future professionals and managerial staff in developing countries, in particular university teachers. Support is available for postgraduate programmes and for doctorates.

More

Dialogue promoting study programmes

DAAD

In the Middle East there is a great shortage of highly qualified academics and managerial staff able to transcend religious and political boundaries and work together. Two master’s degrees that promote dialogue intend to change that.

More

Re-Invitations for Former Postgraduate Course Scholarship Holders

The DAAD can invite former foreign scholarship holders of the Development-Related Postgraduate Courses to a study visit in Germany for up to three months.

More

Förderprogramme für Hochschulen von A-Z

TUM

Förderprogramme für Hochschulen von A-Z

Die Basis aller DAAD-Programme ist das Interesse und Engagement, das viele deutsche Hochschulen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit entgegenbringen. Der DAAD setzt sich mit seinen Programmen dafür ein, das Wissen und die Expertise der deutschen Hochschulen noch stärker für die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu erschließen, um den Beitrag von Hochschulbildung und Wissenschaft für nachhaltige Entwicklung weiter zu steigern.

Academic Mining Education in Afghanistan

Afghanistans Reichtum an Bodenschätzen bietet großes Potential für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes. AMEA ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des DAAD und der GIZ, um die Ausbildung qualifizierter Fach- und Führungskräfte im afghanischen Bergbausektor voranzubringen.

Mehr

African Excellence – Fachzentren Afrika

Der DAAD hilft afrikanischen Hochschulen mit der Einrichtung von Fachzentren dabei, ihre Ausbildungsqualität zu verbessern und ihre Forschungskapazitäten zu erweitern, um die Ausbildung von zukünftigen Entscheidungsträgern in Afrika nach internationalem Standard zu ermöglichen.

Mehr

African Good Governance Network

DAAD

Im AGGN engagieren sich afrikanische Akademiker, die in Deutschland studieren oder studiert haben. Ziel ist es, die Werte des Good Governance aktiv zu verbreiten und so die politisch-gesellschaftliche Transformation in Subsahara-Afrika zu unterstützen.

Mehr

Alumni-Programm zur Betreuung und Bindung ausländischer Alumni

DAAD

Der DAAD unterstützt die deutschen Hochschulen mit geeigneten Programmen und Initiativen, um die Bindung der ausländischen Alumni an die deutschen Hochschulen und an Deutschland insgesamt zu stärken.

Mehr

Begleitseminare für Fach- und Führungskräfte aus Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern

DAAD

Die Begleitseminare für Fach- und Führungskräfte aus Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur interkulturellen Kompetenzentwicklung, fachlichen Vernetzung und aktiven Mitwirkung in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Mehr

Bikulturelle regionale Aufbaustudiengänge für die Region Mittlerer Osten und Nordafrika

IIT Osnabrück

Der DAAD und die GIZ fördern an deutschen und ausländischen Hochschulen den Aufbau von bikulturellen Masterstudiengängen der Region Naher Osten und Nordafrika (MENA). Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Vermittlung regionalen Wissens und interkultureller Kompetenzen.

Mehr

Bilaterale SDG-Graduiertenkollegs

Dr. Dorothee Weyler

Das Programm soll dazu beitragen, die Entwicklungsziele der Vereinten Nationen umzusetzen. Dazu fördert es bilaterale Partnerschaften zwischen Hochschulen in Deutschland und in Entwicklungsländern zum Aufbau bilateraler SDG-Graduiertenkollegs in Entwicklungsländern.

Mehr

Deutsch-Mongolische Hochschule für Rohstoffe und Technologie

GMIT

Die Mongolei verfügt über eines der größten Rohstoffvorkommen der Welt. Dennoch fehlen hochqualifizierte technische Fach- und Führungskräfte in der rohstoffverarbeitenden Industrie und angegliederten Fachbereichen. Auf diese Situation reagiert das Vorhaben Deutsch-Mongolische Hochschule.

Mehr

Entwicklungsbezogene Postgraduiertenstudiengänge

MIWF NRW

Mit den Entwicklungsbezogenen Postgraduiertenstudiengängen hat der DAAD ein Stipendienangebot geschaffen, das die Weiterbildung junger, akademisch vorgebildeter Berufstätiger in entwicklungspolitisch relevanten Themenfeldern vorantreibt.

Mehr

Fachbezogene Partnerschaften mit Hochschulen in Entwicklungsländern

DAAD

Der DAAD unterstützt Kooperationen deutscher Hochschulen mit Partnerinstitutionen in Entwicklungsländern. Oft verbinden die Projekte die Entwicklung gemeinsamer Curricula oder Studiengänge mit Dozentenfortbildung und anwendungsorientierter Forschung.

Mehr

Fachliche Alumni-Sonderprojekte

DAAD/Michael Jordan

In den Alumni-Sonderprojekten erhalten in Deutschland ausgebildete Fachkräfte aus Entwicklungsländern die Gelegenheit, mit deutschen Wissenschafts- und Wirtschaftsvertretern auf wichtigen Messen und Kongressen in Verbindung zu kommen.

Mehr

Fact Finding Missions

DAAD / Heupel

Der DAAD möchte die Zusammenarbeit deutscher Hochschulen mit Hochschulen in Entwicklungsländern stärken. Ziel des Programms Fact Finding Missions ist, eine längerfristig angelegte und vertraglich gebundene Kooperation auf Fachbereichs- bzw. Institutsebene vorzubereiten.

Mehr

Helmut-Schmidt-Programm

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

Der DAAD fördert mit dem Helmut-Schmidt-Programm zukünftige Führungskräfte aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, Südasien, Südostasien sowie den Ländern des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens, die für Demokratie und soziale Gerechtigkeit eintreten möchten.

Mehr

Hochschulexzellenz in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

CIH

Seit 2009 unterstützt der DAAD mit Mitteln des BMZ im Programm „exceed – Hochschulexzellenz in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit“ den Aufbau von fünf international vernetzten Kompetenzzentren für die Millenniumsentwicklungsziele.

Mehr

Hochschulmanagement (DIES)

DAAD/Michael Jordan

DIES unterstützt Hochschulen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern dabei, institutionelle Managementprozesse zu professionalisieren und die Qualität von Studienprogrammen zu verbessern. Das Programm bietet dafür Trainingskurse, Dialogveranstaltungen, Projekte und Partnerschaften an.

Mehr

Länderbezogenes Stipendienprogramm

Christina Pfänder

Mit speziellen Stipendienprogrammen unterstützt der DAAD den akademischen Nachwuchs in fortgeschrittenen Entwicklungsländern Lateinamerikas und Südasiens. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den Ingenieur-, Natur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Mehr

Deutsch-Brasilianisches Forschungskooperationsprogramm

Renan Cepeda/GIZ

Der DAAD fördert mit dem Programm „Neue Partnerschaften/Novas Parcerias“ (NoPa) die deutsch-brasilianische Forschungszusammenarbeit in den Fachgebieten „Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz“ und „Schutz und nachhaltige Nutzung des Tropenwaldes“.

Mehr

Partnerschaften für den Gesundheitssektor in Entwicklungsländern

DAAD/Volker Lannert

Ein Schwerpunkt der Hochschulkooperationen mit Entwicklungsländern liegt auf dem Gesundheitsbereich. PAGEL unterstützt human- und zahnmedizinische Projekte wie auch Vorhaben anderer Fachrichtungen aus dem Gesundheitssektor.

Mehr

Pan African University, Institute of Water and Energy Sciences (incl. Climate Change)

Mohammed El Amine Hefhaf

Der DAAD beteiligt sich am Aufbau des Pan African University Institute of Water and Energy Sciences (PAUWES) an der Abou Bekr Belkaïd Universität in Tlemcen, Algerien. Themenschwerpunkte von PAUWES sind Wasser, Energie und Klimawandel.

Mehr

Hochschulprogramm zu erneuerbaren Energien und Energieeffizienz in Senegal

GIZ Senegal

Die Hochschulkooperation soll die vier Hochschulen des bereits existierenden Studiengangs MIER dabei unterstützen, den Studiengang stärker anwendungs- und beschäftigungsorientiert zu gestalten.

Praxispartnerschaften

DAAD Volker Lannert

Die Einbindung von Wirtschaftspartnern wird auch im Kontext der Hochschulzusammenarbeit immer wichtiger. Die Praxispartnerschaften erweitern die Kooperation zwischen Hochschulen um die Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Wirtschaft und Unternehmen der Partnerländer.

Mehr

Partnerschaften zur Förderung der Biodiversität in Entwicklungsländern

DAAD Volker Lannert

Im Mittelpunkt steht die Verankerung des Themas Biodiversität in Forschung und Lehre an den Partnerhochschulen in Entwicklungsländern. Die Förderung von Forschungstransfer und wissenschaftlichem Dialog sollen zum Erhalt der Biodiversität beitragen.

Mehr

Right Livelihood College

DAAD

Auf dem Campus des Right Livelihood College am Bonner Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung (ZEF) finden zweimal jährlich Workshops statt, bei denen sich auch DAAD-Stipendiaten aus den unterschiedlichsten Weltregionen mit herausragenden internationalen Persönlichkeiten austauschen.

Mehr

Sachmittelprogramm für Hochschulen in Entwicklungsländern

Zur Unterstützung und Festigung von Hochschulpartnerschaften fördert der DAAD im Rahmen des Sachmittelprogramms die infrastrukturelle Ausstattung an Hochschulen in Entwicklungsländern.

Mehr

Schwellen- und Ankerlandprogramm

DAAD/Volker Lannert

Im Rahmen des vom BMZ entwickelten Ankerlandprogramms wurden 15 Staaten als so genannte Ankerländer identifiziert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen soll zu einer strategischen Partnerschaft im Sinne einer globalen Strukturpolitik ausgebaut werden.

Mehr

Surplace-/Drittlandprogramm in Entwicklungsländern

DAAD

Mit dem Surplace-/Drittlandprogramm fördert der DAAD die Ausbildung zukünftiger Fach- und Führungskräfte in Entwicklungsländern, insbesondere von Hochschullehrern. Die Förderung erfolgt im Rahmen von Postgraduierten-Studiengängen bis hin zur Promotion.

Mehr

Trilaterale Masterstudiengänge

DAAD

In der Region Nahost herrscht ein großer Mangel an gut qualifizierten Wissenschaftlern und Führungskräften, deren Dialogfähigkeiten religiöse oder politische Grenzen überschreiten. Durch den Aufbau bzw. die Förderung von dialogbefördernden Masterstudiengängen soll diesem Mangel begegnet werden.

Mehr

Wiedereinladungen für ehemalige Stipendiaten der Entwicklungsbezogenen Postgraduiertenstudiengänge

Der DAAD kann ehemalige ausländische Stipendiaten der Entwicklungsbezogenen Postgraduiertenstudiengänge, die nach Beendigung der Förderung wieder längere Zeit im Heimatland tätig waren, zu einem Forschungsaufenthalt in Deutschland einladen.

Mehr