Prof. Dr. Pinelopi „Penny“ Koujianou Goldberg

Greece

Chief economist of the World Bank, Professor of Economics at Yale University, USA

DAAD Scholarship 1981–1986

Prof. Dr. Pinelopi „Penny“  Koujianou Goldberg Christina Felschen


When Penny Goldberg was appointed chief economist of the World Bank in Washington, D.C. in 2018, it was not the first time she had had dealings with the institution. 30 years earlier she had applied for an internship there – but was rejected because she did not have a PhD. This setback only spurred her on, however, and her ambition took her from Freiburg in southern Germany to the American universities of Stanford, Princeton, Columbia and Yale, and finally to Washington after all.

We were aware that we would only have real opportunities abroad.
Penny Goldberg


A Greek born in 1963, Goldberg did not take up the position to revolutionise the world – or the World Bank – but she does want to help make the world a fairer place through the bank’s work. For example, she wants to help as many people as possible to free themselves from extreme poverty – focusing particularly on minorities and women. Just like her sisters, Penny Goldberg attended the German School in Athens and learnt German, French and English. In 1981, she won a DAAD scholarship that allowed her to study in Freiburg for five years. “We were aware that Greece is a small country and that we would only have real opportunities abroad”, Goldberg explains.

She ended up in Freiburg quite by chance. “The economics curriculum was very similar at all German universities at the time. So I simply picked the most beautiful city.” When she moved to the USA, she quickly realised how different the cultures of learning are in the US and Europe. “In Freiburg I had been used to addressing my tutors as ‘Herr Professor’. When I matriculated at Stanford this old guy in a bike helmet came in through the door and the administrator said: ‘Penny, may I introduce you to Ken?’” Ken turned out to be the Nobel prize winner Kenneth Arrow. “I couldn’t even get out a complete sentence. And yet he was the most modest and most friendly person one could imagine.”

Today that describes her to a T: modest and friendly. To her co-workers she is “Penny”. Anyone who spots this petite woman in the hallways or lift at the World Bank would hardly imagine that she is one of the most influential people in the building. She is also introducing a different corporate culture: in her World Bank blog, she wrote that her resolutions for 2019 included travelling only once a month and sleeping eight hours a night. What she wishes for the world is the same as what she wishes for herself: growth and a career, yes! But not to the point of total exhaustion.

Christina Felschen

Last updated: 2019-07-19

Prof. Dr. Pinelopi „Penny“ Koujianou Goldberg

Griechenland

Chefvolkswirtin der Weltbank, Professorin für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Yale University, USA

DAAD-Stipendium 1981–1986

Prof. Dr. Pinelopi „Penny“  Koujianou Goldberg Christina Felschen


Als Penny Goldberg 2018 zur Chefökonomin der Weltbank in Washington, D.C., ernannt wurde, war das nicht ihre erste Begegnung mit der Institution. Schon 30 Jahre zuvor hatte sie sich einmal um ein Praktikum beworben – und war abgelehnt worden, weil sie noch nicht promoviert hatte. Ein Rückschlag, der sie anspornte und von Freiburg in Süddeutschland an die amerikanischen Universitäten Stanford, Princeton, Columbia, Yale und schließlich doch nach Washington brachte.

Uns war bewusst, dass wir nur im Ausland echte Chancen haben würden.
Penny Goldberg


Die 1963 geborene Griechin ist nicht angetreten, um die Welt – oder die Weltbank – zu revolutionieren. Aber doch, um über die Arbeit der Bank einen Beitrag zu mehr Gerechtigkeit zu leisten. So will sie möglichst viele Menschen dabei unterstützen, sich aus extremer Armut zu befreien – und dabei Minderheiten und Frauen in den Fokus zu nehmen. Penny Goldberg besuchte wie ihre Schwestern das deutsche Gymnasium in Athen, lernte Französisch und Englisch. Schon 1981 erhielt sie ein Stipendium des DAAD, um fünf Jahre lang in Freiburg im Breisgau zu studieren. „Uns war bewusst, dass Griechenland ein kleines Land ist und wir nur im Ausland echte Chancen haben würden“, sagt Goldberg.

In Freiburg landete sie zufällig. „Das VWL-Curriculum der deutschen Universitäten ähnelte sich damals sehr. Also suchte ich mir die schönste Stadt aus.“ Als sie in die USA wechselte, wurde ihr schnell bewusst, wie unterschiedlich die Lernkulturen in den USA und Europa sind. „Aus Freiburg war ich es gewohnt, meine Dozenten mit ‚Herr Professor Doktor‘ anzusprechen. Als ich mich in Stanford einschrieb, kam dieser ältere Herr mit Fahrradhelm zur Tür hinein und die Administratorin sagte: ‚Penny, darf ich dir Ken vorstellen?‘“ Ken war der Nobelpreisträger Kenneth Arrow. „Ich war wie gelähmt, konnte keinen Satz zu Ende bringen. Dabei war er der bescheidenste, freundlichste Mensch, den man sich vorstellen kann.“

Heute ist Penny Goldberg selbst genau das: bescheiden und freundlich. Für ihre Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter ist sie einfach „Penny“. Wer die zierliche Frau auf den Fluren der Weltbank sieht, würde kaum ahnen, dass sie zu den einflussreichsten Menschen im Haus gehört. Und sie bringt eine andere Unternehmenskultur mit: In ihren Vorsätzen für 2019 schrieb sie auf dem Weltbank-Blog, sie wolle nur einmal im Monat reisen und pro Nacht acht Stunden schlafen. Was sie sich für die Welt wünscht, gilt auch für sie selbst: Wachstum und Karriere, ja! Aber nicht um jeden Preis.

Christina Felschen

Stand: 2019-07-19