Mathias Énard

France

Writer, translator, orientalist, 2017 Leipzig Book Prize for European Understanding

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2013

Mathias Énard Marc Melki


Mathias Énard is a truly European writer – at the same time as being an outstanding mediator between East and West. The jury in Leipzig made an excellent choice when it decided to award him the 2017 Leipzig Book Prize for European Understanding. A writer, translator and orientalist who was born in Niort in western France in 1972, he received the prize for his novel “Compass”. It is no coincidence that the rhapsodic language used in this novel, which appeared in a German translation in 2016 and had already created a stir in France, winning the coveted Prix Goncourt, is reminiscent of “One Thousand and One Nights”. As in this oriental collection of fairy tales, “Compass” tells the story of a single night, Mathias Énard having his hero literally narrate for his life.

I worked on key sections of ‘Compass’ in Berlin and conducted research in libraries.Mathias Énard

A stay in Berlin also played an important part in his work on the novel – in 2013 Énard was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin programme. “I worked on key sections of ‘Compass’ in Berlin and conducted research into German and Austrian oriental studies in the countless libraries”, he says. “I was particularly excited by the Middle East departments in Dahlem! I am incredibly grateful to the Artists-in-Berlin programme for giving me this opportunity, which is why I made explicit mention of it in the ‘Acknowledgments’ section on the final page of ‘Compass’.”

His work has been influenced not only by Berlin, however, as Mathias Énard has been travelling the globe for more than twenty years. After studying the Arabic and Persian languages at the Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales (INALCO) in Paris, he spent many years in Teheran and Beirut, worked as a French teacher in a Syrian village, and at around the turn of the millennium moved to Barcelona, where he still lives today. He taught Arabic at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, and also embraced his culinary leanings by opening his own restaurant, “Karakala”. His breakthrough as an author came with the publication of his novel “Zone”, which also appeared in a German translation in 2010.

Mathias Énard

Frankreich

Schriftsteller, Übersetzer, Orientalist, Leipziger Buchpreis zur Europäischen Verständigung 2017

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2013

Mathias Énard Marc Melki


Mathias Énard ist ein wahrhaft europäischer Erzähler – und zugleich ein herausragender Vermittler zwischen Orient und Okzident. Mit ihrer Entscheidung, ihm den Leipziger Buchpreis für Europäische Verständigung 2017 zu geben, hat die Leipziger Jury eine exzellente Wahl getroffen. Der 1972 im westfranzösischen Niort geborene Schriftsteller, Übersetzer und Orientalist erhielt die Auszeichnung für seinen Roman „Kompass“. Der 2016 auch auf Deutsch erschienene Roman, der zuvor schon in Frankreich für Aufsehen sorgte und mit dem hochangesehenen Prix Goncourt ausgezeichnet wurde, erinnert mit seiner rhapsodischen Sprache nicht zufällig an „Tausendundeine Nacht“. Wie die orientalische Märchensammlung ist auch „Kompass“ die Erzählung einer einzigen Nacht, in der Mathias Énard seinen Helden buchstäblich um sein Leben erzählen lässt.

Ich habe in Berlin an wesentlichen Teilen von „Kompass“ gearbeitet und in den Bibliotheken geforscht.Mathias Énard

Für die Arbeit an diesem Roman war auch ein Aufenthalt in Berlin wesentlich – 2013 war Énard Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. „Ich habe in Berlin an wesentlichen Teilen von ‚Kompass‘ gearbeitet und in den unzähligen Bibliotheken zu deutscher und österreichischer Orientalistik geforscht“, sagt er. „Vor allem die Nahost-Abteilungen in Dahlem haben es mir angetan! Ich bin dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm unglaublich dankbar für diese Chance. Deshalb habe ich es auch in der ‚Zueignung‘ auf der letzten Seite von ‚Kompass‘ noch einmal ausdrücklich erwähnt.“

Doch nicht nur Berlin prägte sein Schaffen: Mathias Énard bereist seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren den Erdball. Nach dem Studium der arabischen und persischen Sprache am Pariser Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales (INALCO) verbrachte er viele Jahre in Teheran und Beirut, er arbeitete als Französischlehrer in einem syrischen Dorf, und um die Jahrtausendwende ging er nach Barcelona, wo er noch heute lebt. Er unterrichtete Arabisch an der Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona – und auch seine kulinarische Neigung pflegte er – mit der Eröffnung eines eigenen Restaurants namens „Karakala“. Seinen Durchbruch als Autor erlebte er mit dem Roman „Zone“, der 2010 auch auf Deutsch erschienen ist.

Stand: 2017-05-15