Marcel Beyer

Germany

Novelist, poet, essayist, editor Georg Büchner Prize 2016

DAAD scholarship 2011

Marcel Beyer juergen-bauer.com


Marcel Beyer, the explorer. In his poems, novels and essays, he is repeatedly setting out on a voyage of discovery, tracing out winding paths of German history, providing poetic views of fellow writers, photographs and pictures. His volume of poems entitled “Graphit”, which was published in 2014, was praised by critics as “a vast panorama of history and the present” – and in November 2016 the German Academy for Language and Literature awarded Marcel Beyer the Georg Büchner Prize, the German-speaking world’s most prestigious literary award.

I love England. The lousy weather, the poor heating systems – I think it’s just great.
Marcel Beyer

He began his career by studying the work of Friederike Mayröcker. Even before embarking on a master’s programme in German, English and General Literary Studies at the University of Siegen, Beyer was one of the Austrian writer’s most passionate admirers. “At the Frankfurt Book Fair, Mayröcker’s publisher encouraged me to contact her,” he explains. Their initial correspondence subsequently led to their establishing personal contact and developing a close cooperation. As an expert on her wide-ranging oeuvre, in 1988 Beyer was asked by the writer to set up a Mayröcker Archive in Vienna, He was editor of the Austrian writer‘s Collected Poems and Collected Prose, which were published by Suhrkamp-Verlag in 2004 and 2007. “The contact to Friederike Mayröcker has never broken off,” says Beyer, “and right now I’m curious about her next book.”

Beyer, who was born in 1965 in Tailfingen, Baden-Württemberg, achieved his own breakthrough as a writer in 1995 with his novel “Flughunde” (translated into English as The Karnau Tapes). “After the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, refugee hostels were set on fire in both East and West Germany and a neo-Nazi scene came to public prominence,” says Marcel Beyer. “This contradiction between the reunification euphoria and a German nationalist aggressiveness prompted me to ask at the time how the partition of Germany came about and what sort of mind-set people have who take part in experiments on humans.” In “Flughunde”, the writer embarks on a masterly exploration of German history: the novel tells the story of Hermann Karnau, a guard at the Führer’s bunker and an acoustic researcher; of his experiments with the human voice and his records, which expose the language of the National Socialists as propaganda. National Socialism and German history are to remain a central theme in his novels and poems – again and again Beyer returns to and re-presents the past.

He acquired a new perspective here not least through two DAAD-funded stays in the United Kingdom. In 1996, as Writer in Residence at University College London, he gained insight into university life, which he then deepened in 1998 as Writer in Residence at the University of Warwick in Coventry. “I love England,” says Beyer. “The lousy weather, the poor heating systems and the strange food – I think it’s just great.” In 2011, equipped with a DAAD scholarship, he moved to New York University, where he taught literature as a visiting professor. “That was absolutely marvellous because in the seminars I was not someone imparting knowledge from a writer’s perspective but rather a member of a close-reading group,” says Marcel Beyer whose Frankfurt Lectures on Poetics appeared in book form in April 2017.

Marcel Beyer

Deutschland

Romanautor, Lyriker, Essayist, Herausgeber Georg-Büchner-Preis 2016

DAAD-Stipendium 2011

Marcel Beyer juergen-bauer.com


Marcel Beyer, der Entdecker. Immer wieder geht er mit seinen Gedichten, Romanen und Essays auf Erkundung, entfaltet verschlungene Wege der deutschen Geschichte, liefert poetische Sichtweisen auf Schriftstellerkollegen, Fotografien und Bilder. Sein Gedichtband „Graphit“ aus dem Jahr 2014 loben Kritiker als „gewaltiges Geschichts- und Gegenwartspanorama“ – und im November 2016 wurde Marcel Beyer von der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung mit dem Georg-Büchner Preis, dem bedeutendsten Literaturpreis im deutschen Sprachraum, ausgezeichnet.

Ich liebe England. Das miese Wetter, die schlechten Heizungen – ich finde das einfach klasse.
Marcel Beyer

Ausgangsbasis seiner Karriere bildete die Beschäftigung mit Friederike Mayröcker. Bereits vor seinem Magisterstudium der Germanistik, Anglistik und Allgemeinen Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Siegen gehörte Beyer zu den größten Verehrern der österreichischen Schriftstellerin. „Auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse ermutigte mich ihre Verlegerin, mit Mayröcker in Kontakt zu treten“, erzählt er. Zunächst habe sich ein Briefwechsel entwickelt, später ein persönlicher Kontakt und eine enge Zusammenarbeit: Als Kenner ihres vielfältigen Werks beauftragte die Schriftstellerin Beyer im Jahr 1988, in Wien ein „Mayröcker-Archiv“ einzurichten; 2004 und 2007 gab er im Suhrkamp-Verlag „Gesammelte Gedichte“ und „Gesammelte Prosa“ der Österreicherin heraus. „Der Kontakt zu Friederike Mayröcker ist nie wieder abgebrochen“, so Beyer, „und ich bin schon gespannt auf ihr nächstes Buch.“

Seinen eigenen schriftstellerischen Durchbruch feierte der Autor, der 1965 in Tailfingen, Baden-Württemberg, geboren wurde, mit seinem Roman „Flughunde“ im Jahr 1995. „Nach dem Fall der Mauer im Jahr 1989 brannten im Westen wie im Osten Flüchtlingsheime, und in der Öffentlichkeit profilierte sich eine Neonazi-Szene“, sagt Marcel Beyer. „Dieser Widerspruch zwischen der Wiedervereinigungseuphorie und einer deutschnationalen Aggressivität führte mich damals zu der Frage, wie es zur Teilung Deutschlands kam und welche psychische Disposition Menschen haben, die an Menschenversuchen teilnehmen.“ Mit „Flughunde“ wandelt der Schriftsteller meisterhaft auf den Spuren deutscher Geschichte: Der Roman erzählt von Hermann Karnau, Wachmann im Führerbunker und Schallforscher, von seinen Experimenten mit menschlichen Stimmen und seinen Aufzeichnungen, die die Sprache der Nationalsozialisten als Propaganda entlarven. Der Nationalsozialismus und die deutsche Geschichte bleibt ein Leitthema seiner Romane und Gedichte – immer wieder vergegenwärtigt Beyer die Vergangenheit.

Eine neue Perspektive erlangte er dabei nicht zuletzt durch zwei vom DAAD finanzierte Aufenthalte in Großbritannien. 1996 gewann er als Writer in Residence am University College in London einen Einblick in das universitäre Leben, das er 1998 als Writer in Residence an der University of Warwick in Coventry vertiefte. „Ich liebe England“, sagt Beyer. „Das miese Wetter, die schlechten Heizungen und das seltsame Essen – ich finde das einfach klasse.“ Im Jahr 2011 reiste er mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an die New York University, wo er als Gastprofessor Literatur unterrichtete. „Das war ganz großartig, denn im Seminar saß ich nicht als jemand, der aus Schriftstellerperspektive Wissen vermittelt, sondern als Mitglied einer Close-Reading-Gruppe“, sagt Marcel Beyer, dessen Frankfurter Poetikvorlesungen im April 2017 als Buch erscheinen.

Stand: 2016-12-09