Dr. Matthias Mück

Germany

Mathematician, Programme Manager at Airbus Defence and Space

DAAD Scholarship 2001–2002

Dr. Matthias Mück privat


“Transatlantic – in Real Time” is the motto under which the German Canadian Concourse regularly brings Germany and Canada a little bit closer. This series of interdisciplinary conferences organised by the Canada Meets Germany Network facilitates dialogue at a professional level. Dr Matthias Mück is responsible for the event as president of the German-Canadian network. “The Concourse covers varying themes and takes place simultaneously in Germany and Canada once a year,” says the DAAD alumnus. “The core of the format is the transatlantic symposium, during which individual lectures and panel discussions are transmitted to the respective other country using video conference technology to enable real-time interaction on topical subjects across the Atlantic.” Today the German Canadian Concourse is held under the sponsorship of the Canadian and German ambassadors and is an established platform for German-Canadian dialogue.

My stay in Toronto and my ongoing connection with Canada have inspired professional activities in the transatlantic and international context.
Dr Matthias Mück

The starting point for Mück’s close relationship with Canada was a DAAD scholarship that enabled him to conduct research in mathematical physics at the University of Toronto in 2001 and 2002 as part of his doctorate. “I did not only benefit strongly in my subject as a result of my stay,” says the DAAD alumnus. “I was also very fascinated by Toronto, which I encountered as an open, multicultural city. That’s why I wanted to continue working in a Canadian context after my return to Germany. My stay in Toronto and my ongoing connection with Canada have inspired professional activities in the transatlantic and international context.” Mück initially worked as a flight dynamics engineer at the Satellite Control Centre of the European Space Agency (ESA). In 2010 he moved to EADS Astrium, part of the present Airbus Group. “Today I work for a German-Russian subsidiary of the Airbus space division where I am responsible for handing satellite launches on Russian carrier rockets for international customers,” he explains. “Technical knowledge does not only play a major role here, but also and above all international experience in handling multicultural project teams, which I was already able to gain early on thanks to the DAAD.”

The foundation for his activity as President of the Canada Meets Germany Network is an initiative of the Canadian Embassy that began in 2002: every year, six German and six Canadian managers from different disciplines received the opportunity to be accepted in the programme Canada Meets Germany – A Forum for Young Leaders. In 2007, Mück explored Germany and Canada together with the previous and following year groups. “The goal of the trips was to meet decision-makers in the host country from the spheres of politics, business, culture, research and the media and develop a long-term transatlantic network,” he says.

When the programme came to an end in 2009, the roughly 70 participants founded the Canada Meets Germany Alumni Forum and continued to promote German-Canadian dialogue with events and conferences. In the meantime the alumni forum has become the Canada Meets Germany Network and thus a forum for everyone who wants to actively contribute to German-Canadian exchange.

Dr. Matthias Mück

Deutschland

Mathematiker, Programmmanager bei Airbus Defence and Space

DAAD-Stipendium 2001–2002

Dr. Matthias Mück privat


Transatlantic – in Real Time. Unter diesem Motto lässt der „German Canadian Concourse“ Deutschland und Kanada regelmäßig näher zusammenrücken: Die interdisziplinär angelegte Konferenzreihe des „Canada Meets Germany Network“ ermöglicht einen Dialog auf professioneller Ebene. Dr. Matthias Mück ist als Präsident des deutsch-kanadischen Netzwerks für die Veranstaltung verantwortlich. „Die Konferenz findet mit wechselnden Themen einmal jährlich zeitgleich in Deutschland und in Kanada statt“, sagt der DAAD-Alumnus. „Kernstück des Formats ist das Transatlantische Symposium, bei dem die einzelnen Redebeiträge und Podiumsdiskussionen per Videokonferenz in das jeweils andere Land übertragen werden, so dass eine Interaktion zu aktuellen Themen über den Atlantik in Echtzeit möglich ist.“ Der German Canadian Concourse findet heute unter der Schirmherrschaft des kanadischen und deutschen Botschafters statt und ist ein etabliertes Format des deutsch-kanadischen Dialogs.

Mein Aufenthalt in Toronto und meine bestehende Verbindung zu Kanada sind Inspiration für berufliche Aktivitäten im transatlantischen und internationalen Kontext.
Matthias Mück
 

Ausgangspunkt von Mücks Affinität zu Kanada war ein DAAD-Stipendium, mit dem er im Rahmen seiner Promotion in den Jahren 2001 und 2002 an der University of Toronto im Bereich der mathematischen Physik forschte. „Ich habe nicht nur fachlich stark von diesem Aufenthalt profitiert“, sagt der DAAD-Alumnus. „Toronto hat mich sehr fasziniert und ist mir als offene, multikulturelle Stadt begegnet. Deshalb wollte ich auch nach meiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland weiter in einem kanadischen Kontext arbeiten. Mein Aufenthalt in Toronto und meine bestehende Verbindung zu Kanada ist Inspiration für berufliche Aktivitäten im transatlantischen und internationalen Kontext.“ Mück war zunächst als Flugdynamikingenieur am Satellitenkontrollzentrum der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) tätig und wechselte im Jahr 2010 zu EADS Astrium, Teil der heutigen Airbus Group. „Heute leite ich für ein deutsch-russisches Tochterunternehmen der Airbus Raumfahrtsparte die Abwicklung von Satelliten-Starts für internationale Kunden auf einer russischen Trägerrakete“, erzählt er. „Hierbei spielen neben technischen Kenntnissen vor allem internationale Erfahrung im Umgang mit multi-kulturellen Projektteams eine große Rolle, die ich dank des DAAD schon damals sammeln konnte.“

Die Grundlage für sein Amt als Präsident des „Canada Meets Germany Networks“ ist eine Initiative der kanadischen Botschaft aus dem Jahr 2002: Jeweils sechs deutsche und sechs kanadische Führungskräfte verschiedener Disziplinen bekamen damit jedes Jahr die Möglichkeit, in das Programm „Canada Meets Germany – a forum for young leaders“ aufgenommen zu werden. Mück erkundete im Jahr 2007 gemeinsam mit dem vorigen und folgenden Jahrgang per Studienreise Deutschland und Kanada. „Ziel der Reisen war es, im Gastland auf Entscheidungsträger aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Medien zu treffen und ein nachhaltiges transatlantisches Netzwerk aufzubauen“, sagt er.

Nach dem Auslaufen des Programms 2009 gründeten die rund 70 Absolventen das „Canada Meets Germany Alumni Forum“ und trieben mit Veranstaltungen und Konferenzen den deutsch-kanadischen Dialog weiter voran. Mittlerweile ist aus dem Alumni Forum das „Canada Meets Germany Network“ geworden und damit ein Forum für alle, die sich aktiv im deutsch-kanadischen Austausch einbringen wollen.

Stand: 2016-11-10