Hoang Minh Son

Vietnam

Professor of Electrical Engineering, President of Hanoi University of Science and Technology

DAAD Scholarship 1990–1993 and 2008

Hoang Minh Son Natascha Senftleben


Hanoi University of Science and Technology (HUST) is Vietnam’s most prestigious university of technology. And in Professor Hoàng Minh Sơn it elected as its President in July 2015 a man who in the 1990s studied engineering in Dresden on a DAAD scholarship and subsequently completed his PhD there. For his term of office, Sơn has set himself an ambitious goal: during his watch, he wants to make HUST a research-oriented, highly internationalised university enjoying maximum autonomy. He is also working on reforms designed to strengthen HUST’s position as Vietnam’s leading university of technology and make its influence felt more effectively in the region and across the globe.

In Germany, I gained not only technical knowledge but other skills as well – different ways of thinking, new ways of working and a different understanding of culture and society. Hoang Minh Son

Sơn sees opening up the university internationally as the biggest challenge: “In today’s globalised world HUST faces stiff competition, especially when it comes to attracting outstanding lecturers and students.” That’s why Sơn is introducing international standards in terms of the curriculum and quality assurance, establishing more English-language instruction and promoting international faculty and student exchange. The study programmes are designed to make students more competitive and prepare them for the international labour market – by offering applied research and teaching of practical relevance. “Internationalisation enables us to cooperate more effectively,” he says.

And he is happy to consult with the DAAD Office on issues relating to internationalisation. “I’m expanding HUST’s already existing good relations with Germany and establishing more concrete, relevant collaboration. I firmly believe that the DAAD has a very important role to play here, especially through the DAAD Office at our university’s Vietnamese-German Centre.”

Hoàng Minh Sơn feels a strong affinity with Germany. He lived and studied for many years in Dresden. In 1993 he obtained his degree in electrical engineering from the Technische Universität Dresden, and in 1998 his PhD. “In Germany, I gained not only technical knowledge but other skills as well – different ways of thinking, new ways of working and a different understanding of culture and society.” As President, he want to use the experience he gained in Germany to help shape the way he governs the university. “I want to reconsider a number of good practices in the way a German university organises teaching and research and apply them here in an appropriate fashion.” And he can hope for support in this undertaking because he’s not the only alumnus from Germany at HUST. Around 60 faculty and other staff at the university studied in Germany – some of them in Dresden.

Hoang Minh Son

Vietnam

Professor für Elektrotechnik, Rektor der Hanoi University of Science and Technology (HUST) in Vietnam

DAAD-Stipendium 1990–1993 und 2008

Hoang Minh Son Natascha Senftleben


Die Hanoi University of Science and Technology (HUST) ist die renommierteste technische Universität in Vietnam – und hat sich mit Professor Hoàng Minh Sơn im Juli 2015 einen Mann zum Rektor gewählt, der in den 1990er-Jahren mit einem DAAD-Stipendium in Dresden Ingenieurwissenschaften studierte und anschließend dort promovierte. Für seine Amtszeit hat er sich ein ehrgeiziges Ziel gesetzt: Eine forschungsorientierte Universität mit maximaler Autonomie und Internationalisierung soll die HUST unter seiner Führung werden. Der Rektor arbeitet zudem an Reformen, um ihre Position als führende technische Universität in Vietnam auszubauen und ihre Ausstrahlung in der Region und der Welt zu erweitern.

Ich habe in Deutschland nicht nur Fachkenntnisse, sondern auch andere Kompetenzen erworben – andere Denkweisen, neue Arbeitsmethoden sowie ein anderes Kultur- und Sozialverständnis. Hoang Minh Son

Die größte Herausforderung sieht Sơn mit Blick auf die Öffnung der Universität in die Welt: „In der heutigen Globalisierung steht die HUST in harter Konkurrenz, besonders beim Bewerben von exzellenten Dozenten und Studenten.“ Sơn führt deshalb internationale Standards in die Lehrpläne und Qualitätssicherung ein, etabliert mehr englischsprachigen Unterricht und fördert den internationalen Austausch von Dozenten und Studierenden. Die Lehrprogramme sollen die Studierenden konkurrenzfähiger machen und auf den internationalen Arbeitsmarkt vorbereiten – mit angewandter Forschung und praxisrelevanten Inhalten. „Internationalisierung ermöglicht uns, effektiver zu kooperieren“, sagt er.

Den Austausch mit dem DAAD-Büro über Fragen der Internationalisierung sucht der Rektor dafür gerne. „Ich entwickele die bestehenden guten Beziehungen der HUST zu Deutschland weiter und baue mehr konkrete, relevante Zusammenarbeit auf. Ich bin fest davon überzeugt, dass der DAAD einen sehr wichtigen Beitrag dazu leistet, insbesondere durch das DAAD-Büro am Vietnamesisch-Deutschen Zentrum unserer Universität.“

Hoàng Minh Sơn fühlt sich mit Deutschland verbunden. Viele Jahre hat er in Dresden gelebt und studiert. 1993 erhielt er von der Technischen Universität Dresden sein Diplom als Ingenieur für Elektrotechnik, 1998 seinen Doktortitel. „Ich habe in Deutschland nicht nur Fachkenntnisse, sondern auch andere Kompetenzen erworben – andere Denkweisen, neue Arbeitsmethoden sowie ein anderes Kultur- und Sozialverständnis.“ In seine Amtsführung als Rektor sollen die Erfahrungen aus Deutschland einfließen. „Mehrere gute Praktiken in der Gestaltung der Lehre und Forschung aus der deutschen Universität möchte ich hier nochmals überdenken und auf geeignete Weise anwenden.“ Dabei kann er auf Unterstützung hoffen, denn er ist nicht der einzige Deutschland-Alumnus an der HUST. Etwa 60 Dozenten oder Angestellte der Universität haben in Deutschland studiert – einige davon in Dresden.