Prof. Dr. Pooyan Azadeh

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Pianist and Professor of piano at Tehran University of Art

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 2007–2011

Prof. Dr. Pooyan Azadeh Ring Foto Becker


What is indispensable to a culture – that’s something one could spend a great deal of time debating. Not so for Dr Pooyan Azadeh: the German-Iranian pianist and professor of music has set himself the task of mediating music in theory and practice. Azadeh, who since October 2015 has been Tehran University of Art’s first full professor of piano, initially completed his training as a concert pianist at the university where he now teaches. His studies focused on European piano music. “But my real passion even back then was Persian piano music,” he says. “Besides the traditional works of Mortezā Mahjoubi, I was fascinated by the music of my teacher, the distinguished Persian pianist Javād Maroufi, who died in 1993. He combined Persian piano music with Western elements.”

For me, the DAAD scholarship was a mark of honour, as well as paving the way for my academic and musical development.
Pooyan Azadeh

Pooyan Azadeh’s keen interest in the subject eventually took him away from international concert halls to the world of academia – previously uncharted territory for him. With a DAAD scholarship in his pocket, he pursued his PhD at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg – the first person to study Persian piano music in terms of music education. He felt that he was positively predestined to choose Germany as a place to pursue research. “In Iran, it’s not possible to study music education,” he explains. “Germany, on the other hand, is considered a pioneer in this area – music education has a long tradition there. Over the centuries, many different methods and didactic approaches have evolved. And the quantity and quality of publications on music education are quite remarkable.” But he would not have been able to pursue his research without the support of the DAAD: “For me, the DAAD scholarship was a mark of honour, as well as paving the way for my academic development in a new musical environment,” says Azadeh. “After completing my PhD in 2015, I obtained German citizenship as a highly qualified person.”

The DAAD alumnus would now like to establish his research specialty in his native country, too. “So far, the music schools in Iran have focused exclusively on European piano music,” he says. “The Persian tradition, which only gained societal prestige around 1900, is not taught here.” Yet the critical study of Persian piano music is definitely rewarding, as demonstrated not least by his doctoral thesis. “My research has met with considerable international interest. I have talked about it widely, including at conferences in Norway and China,” says Pooyan Azadeh.

Prof. Dr. Pooyan Azadeh

Iran

Pianist, Professor für Klavier an der Universität der Künste Teheran

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 2007– 2011

Prof. Dr. Pooyan Azadeh Ring Foto Becker


Was für eine Kultur unabdingbar ist – darüber lässt sich wohl lange diskutieren. Nicht für Pooyan Azadeh: Der deutsch-iranische Pianist und Musikpädagoge hat sich die Vermittlung von Musik in Theorie und Praxis zur Aufgabe gemacht. Azadeh, der seit Oktober 2015 an der Universität der Künste Teheran als Erster eine ordentliche Professur für Klavier innehat, absolvierte zunächst eine Ausbildung als Konzertpianist an der Universität der Künste Teheran. Schwerpunkt seines Studiums bildete die europäische Klaviermusik. „Meine Leidenschaft galt jedoch schon damals der persischen Klaviermusik", sagt er. „Neben den traditionellen Werken Mortezā Mahjoobis fasziniert mich die Musik meines Lehrers, des bedeutenden persischen Pianisten Javād Maroofi, der im Jahr 1993 verstarb. Er hat die persische Klaviermusik mit westlichen Elementen kombiniert."

Das DAAD-Stipendium war für mich gleichermaßen Auszeichnung wie Wegbereiter meiner wissenschaftlichen und musikalischen Entwicklung.
Pooyan Azadeh

Sein starkes Interesse führte den Musiker schließlich weg von den internationalen Konzertbühnen in die Welt der Wissenschaft – auf bislang unerforschtes Terrain: Mit einem DAAD-Stipendium in der Tasche widmete sich Pooyan Azadeh in seiner Promotion an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg als Erster der persischen Klaviermusik unter musikpädagogischer Perspektive. Dazu galt ihm der Forschungsstandort Deutschland geradezu prädestiniert: „Im Iran ist es nicht möglich, Musikpädagogik zu studieren", erklärt er. „Deutschland hingegen gilt als Vorreiter, hier hat die Musikpädagogik eine lange Tradition. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte haben sich viele verschiedene Methoden und didaktische Ansätze entwickelt, auch die Quantität und Qualität der musikpädagogischen Publikationen sind bemerkenswert." Ohne die Unterstützung des DAAD wäre ihm allerdings seine Forschung nicht möglich gewesen: „Das DAAD-Stipendium war für mich gleichermaßen Auszeichnung wie Wegbereiter meiner wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung in einem neuen musikalischen Umfeld", sagt Azadeh. „Nach meiner Promotion im Jahr 2015 habe ich als Hochqualifizierter die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft erhalten."

Nun möchte der DAAD-Alumnus seinen Forschungsschwerpunkt auch in seinem Heimatland etablieren. „Bislang stehen die musikalischen Hochschulen im Iran ganz im Zeichen der europäischen Klaviermusik", sagt er. „Die persische Tradition, die erst um das Jahr 1900 an gesellschaftlichem Renommee gewann, wird hier nicht vermittelt." Dabei sei die Auseinandersetzung mit persischer Klaviermusik durchaus lohnenswert, wie nicht zuletzt seine Doktorarbeit zeige. „Mit meiner Forschung bin ich auf großes internationales Interesse gestoßen: Unter anderem habe ich darüber auf Konferenzen in Norwegen und China berichtet", sagt Pooyan Azadeh.