Dr. Markus Kerber

Germany

Economist, Director General of the Federation of German Industries (BDI)

DAAD Scholarship 1985–1986

Dr. Markus  Kerber BDI_Kruppa


Markus Kerber is considered Germany’s most influential business lobbyist. As Director General of the Federation of German Industries (BDI), he represents more than 100,000 manufacturing companies in Germany. Kerber, who holds a PhD in economics and social sciences, has set out to improve the way business and politics interact. It’s a task he’s perfectly equipped to handle. Born in Ulm in 1963, the financial expert is well acquainted with both sides.

Without the stay in the United States, I would definitely have taken a completely different path.
Markus Kerber

Markus Kerber studied at the University of Hohenheim and the University of California, Los Angeles. The six months he spent on a DAAD scholarship in California had a profound influence on his life and career. “The combination of living abroad, studying in a different system and experiencing a different culture broadened my horizons in the truest sense of the word,” he says looking back. “Without the stay in the United States, I would definitely have taken a completely different path.” After gaining his PhD, he applied for a job at the venerable London bank S.G. Warburg & Co. – and immediately embarked on a successful career in investment banking. He then moved to Deutsche Bank and later became chief financial officer with IT service provider GFT Technologies in Stuttgart. When he totted up his frequent-flyer miles and found that in eleven years he had spent a whole year of his life in the air, Markus Kerber handed in his resignation and turned to politics. Wolfgang Schäuble gave him a job at the Federal Ministry of the Interior, where he headed the Department of Policy Planning and International Analyses and organised the first Islam Conferences. When the grand coalition ended, he followed Schäuble to the Federal Finance Ministry, where he was responsible for international financial and monetary policy.

Since 2011, Markus Kerber has been Director General of the BDI, which he also represents internationally – in Brussels, Shanghai or London. Mobility is something he still considers the most important thing for students. “It forces you to constantly toughen your own coordinate system,” Kerber emphasises. “Changing your frames of reference also encourages interdisciplinary thinking.”

Dr. Markus Kerber

Deutschland

Ökonom, Hauptgeschäftsführer des Bundesverbands Deutscher Industrie (BDI)

DAAD-Stipendium 1985–1986

Dr. Markus  Kerber BDI_Kruppa


Markus Kerber gilt als einflussreichster Wirtschaftslobbyist des Landes. Als Hauptgeschäftsführer des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Industrie (BDI) vertritt der promovierte Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftler mehr als 100.000 produzierende Unternehmen in Deutschland. Angetreten ist er mit dem Anspruch, das Miteinander von Wirtschaft und Politik zu verbessern. Eine Aufgabe, für die er bestens gerüstet ist. Denn der 1963 in Ulm geborene Finanzexperte kennt beide Seiten gut.

Ohne den Aufenthalt in den USA hätte ich bestimmt einen ganz anderen Weg genommen.
Dr. Markus Kerber

Studiert hat Markus Kerber an den Universitäten in Hohenheim und Los Angeles. Die sechs Monate als DAAD-Stipendiat in Kalifornien prägten dabei seinen Lebens- und Berufsweg stark. „Die Kombination aus Leben im Ausland, Studium in einem anderen System und das Erleben einer anderen Kultur haben meinen Horizont im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes erweitert“, stellt er rückblickend fest. „Ohne den Aufenthalt in den USA hätte ich bestimmt einen ganz anderen Weg genommen.“ Nach der Promotion bewarb er sich bei der altehrwürdigen Londoner Bank SG Warburg – der Sprung ins Investmentbanking gelang auf Anhieb. Er wechselte zur Deutschen Bank und wurde anschließend Finanzvorstand beim IT-Dienstleister GFT Technologies in Stuttgart. Als er seine Flugstunden hochrechnete und feststellte, dass er in elf Jahren ein ganzes Lebensjahr in der Luft verbracht hatte, kündigte Markus Kerber und wechselte in die Politik. Wolfgang Schäuble holte ihn ins Innenministerium, wo er die Abteilung für Grundsatzfragen leitete und die ersten Islamkonferenzen organisierte. Nach dem Ende der großen Koalition folgte er dem Minister ins Finanzministerium und war für die internationale Finanz- und Währungspolitik verantwortlich.

Seit 2011 steht Markus Kerber dem BDI vor, den er auch international in Brüssel, Shanghai oder London vertritt. Mobilität ist für ihn bis heute das Wichtigste im Studium. „Sie zwingt einen zur beständigen Ertüchtigung des eigenen Koordinatensystems“, betont der Geschäftsführer. „Dieser Wechsel der Bezugssysteme fördert gleichzeitig das interdisziplinäre Denken.“

Stand: 2015-10-15