Prof. Violeta Dinescu

Romania

Composer and Professor of applied composition at the University of Oldenburg

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1982–1984

Prof. Violeta Dinescu DAAD


Violeta Dinescu is considered one of the foremost composers of our day. "I'm an acoustic person. Once you've developed an interest in something, an openness emerges and that works miracles," says the 51-year-old Romanian. "Without openness, people remain caught in their memories." But interest is like an Alice in Wonderland: "You open one door and look into a magic garden, and this is just the beginning of many more gardens." With her music, Violeta Dinescu would like to give everybody the key that takes them to their personal garden. The Professor of Applied Composition, who has been teaching at the University of Oldenburg since 1996, has won more than 50 prizes and awards. Her extensive musical work ranges from instrumental music, choral literature, film scores, ballet compositions through to operas. Trained at the Bucharest Conservatory, the artist not only wants to create beautiful sounds, but also wants to send a message with her music. "Mathematics helped me follow the path to my own language." Mathematical models form the starting point for her "musical constructions".

My doctoral supervisor told me: Go and compose your opera, that's more important, because theatre doesn't wait.
Violeta Dinescu

After the dramatic opera Hunger and Thirst gave her the breakthrough in Freiburg in 1986, Violeta Dinescu created the children's opera The 35th of May. Always pursuing just one direction contradicts the ups and downs of life. Composing represents the direct link with life's structures, says the pupil of Myriam Marbe, who is known well and far beyond the borders of Romania. A prize brought the young composer to Germany in 1982. In Heidelberg, the distinguished music researcher Ludwig Finscher opened up many doors for her and she applied successfully for a DAAD PhD scholarship. However, eventually she didn't write her doctoral thesis. "My doctoral supervisor told me: Go and compose your opera, that's more important, because theatre doesn't wait." Lectureships followed in Heidelberg, Frankfurt, Bayreuth and now Oldenburg, where she has also coordinated the prestigious Carl von Ossietzky Composition Prize since 2006.

She believes that if she had grown up in Germany, she would not have progressed so far. "In Romania, I never had to prove that a woman can compose. If I had been forced to constantly battle against prejudices, I would sooner or later have done something else," says Violeta Dinescu − a composer without whose works the German concert programme would be unthinkable today.

Prof. Violeta Dinescu

Rumänien

Komponistin, Professorin für angewandte Komposition an der Universität Oldenburg

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1982–1984

Prof. Violeta Dinescu DAAD


Violeta Dinescu gilt als eine der bedeutendsten Komponistinnen unserer Zeit. „Ich bin ein akustischer Mensch. Wenn man für eine Sache Interesse entwickelt hat, wächst eine Offenheit und die wirkt Wunder“, sagt die 51-jährige Rumänin. „Ohne Offenheit bleibt der Mensch in seinen Erinnerungen stecken.“ Mit dem Interesse aber verhalte es sich wie bei „Alice im Wunderland“: „Man öffnet eine Tür und betrachtet einen Zaubergarten, und er ist der Anfang von vielen weiteren Gärten.“ Mit ihrer Musik möchte Violeta Dinescu jedem Menschen einen Schlüssel geben, der ihn in seinen Garten führt. Über 50 Preise und Auszeichnungen hat die Professorin für angewandte Komposition, die sie seit 1996 an der Universität Oldenburg lehrt, erhalten. Ihr umfangreiches musikalisches Werk reicht von Instrumentalmusik, Chorliteratur, Filmmusik, Ballettkompositionen bis hin zu Opern. Die am Bukarester Konservatorium ausgebildete Künstlerin will nicht nur schöne Klänge schaffen, sondern mit der Musik etwas sagen. „Die Mathematik hat mir geholfen, den Weg zu meiner eigenen Sprache zu gehen.“ Mathematische Modelle bilden den Ausgangspunkt für ihr „musikalisches Bauwerk“.

Mein Doktorvater meinte: Komponieren Sie Ihre Oper, das ist wichtiger, denn das Theater wartet nicht.
Violeta Dinescu

Nach der dramatischen Oper „Hunger und Durst“, mit der ihr 1986 in Freiburg der Durchbruch gelang, schuf Violeta Dinescu die Kinderoper „Der 35. Mai“. Immer nur eine Richtung verfolgen, widerspreche dem Auf und Ab des Lebens. Das Komponieren sei die unmittelbare Verbindung mit den Lebensstrukturen, so die Schülerin der weit über Rumänien hinaus bekannten Myriam Marbe. Ein Preis führte die junge Komponistin 1982 nach Deutschland. In Heidelberg öffnete ihr der bedeutende Musikforscher Ludwig Finscher Türen, und sie bewarb sich erfolgreich für ein Promotionsstipendium des DAAD. Ihre Doktorarbeit hat sie dann doch nicht geschrieben. „Mein Doktorvater meinte: Komponieren Sie Ihre Oper, das ist wichtiger, denn das Theater wartet nicht.“ Es folgten Dozenturen in Heidelberg, Frankfurt und Bayreuth und jetzt Oldenburg, wo sie seit 2006 auch den bekannten Ossietzky-Wettbewerb für Komposition koordiniert.

Wäre sie in Deutschland aufgewachsen, wäre sie nicht so weit gekommen, meint sie. „In Rumänien musste ich nie beweisen, dass eine Frau komponieren kann. Wenn ich ständig gegen Vorurteile hätte kämpfen müssen, dann hätte ich irgendwann etwas anderes gemacht“, sagt Violeta Dinescu − eine Komponistin, deren Werke heute aus deutschen Konzertprogrammen nicht mehr wegzudenken sind.

Stand: 2015-09-26