Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle

Germany

Physicist, Nobel Prize for Physics 2001

DAAD Scholarship 1990

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle DAAD


Even while studying physics, he was already one of the best; his professional development reads like a dream career. Wolfgang Ketterle was the youngest German ever to win the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2001, together with his American colleagues E. A. Cornell and C. E. Wieman. In 1995, the scientist was one of the first to succeed in generating what is known as a Bose-Einstein condensate. Under the most extreme of low temperatures, this condensate – that does not occur naturally – proves Einstein's theories of quantum mechanics. Wolfgang Ketterle is convinced: "Quantum mechanics is already just as fundamental for science today as Goethe's works or Beethoven's symphonies have been for cultural education."

A combination of good fortune, excellent staff, selfless mentors, a sixth sense and my own abilities enabled me to be right at the front in important developments.
Wolfgang Ketterle

After gaining his school-leaving certificate, Ketterle, who was born in Heidelberg in 1957, began to study physics in his home town. But he soon moved to the TU Munich. Undecided over whether to go for pure or applied research, he chose a topic in theoretical physics for his Diplom thesis. "However, I had some doubt as to whether this might end up taking me too deeply into the ivory towers of science." In 1982, he began working at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching and completed a doctorate on an applied experimental research subject. Another change followed: back home at the University of Heidelberg, Wolfgang Ketterle now focused on combustion research with lasers. "The time I spent in combustion research was decisive for me. I had long wanted to go into applied research and in so doing found out where I really belonged – namely in pure basic research." In 1990, he received a DAAD Scholarship that enabled him to work as a visiting researcher at a leading US university, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he worked in Dave Pritchard's group on problems of laser cooling. "The scholarship enabled me to plan my move into a new research area and to gain a position in the research field of cold atoms even without any relevant experience. After one year, my position was fully funded by MIT.  Without this DAAD Scholarship, this change would have been much more difficult to complete."

Once at MIT, a meteoric career began for the German physicist. Within a short time – and overtaking all his American colleagues – he became an assistant professor in 1993, and five years later he received a highly sought-after endowed chair, the John D. MacArthur Professorship for Physics. "The move to the United States at the age of 32 was a step without a safety net, because I exchanged a longer-term position for a two-year appointment with uncertain prospects," he says. Attempts to get the successful researcher to return to Germany have failed. "The question of my return came up in 1997 when I decided by a whisker to turn down an outstanding offer from the Max Planck Society. But I've firmly established myself in America now."

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle

Deutschland

Physiker, Nobelpreis für Physik 2001

DAAD-Stipendium 1990

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle DAAD


Schon als Physikstudent war er einer der Besten, seine berufliche Laufbahn gleicht einer Traumkarriere. Als jüngster Deutscher erhielt Wolfgang Ketterle gemeinsam mit E. A. Cornell und C. E. Wieman 2001 den Physik-Nobelpreis. Der Wissenschaftler gehörte 1995 zu den ersten, denen die Erzeugung des sogenannten Bose-Einstein-Kondensats gelungen war. Unter extremsten Tieftemperaturen ist dieses in der Natur nicht vorkommende Kondensat der Beweis für Einsteins Theorien der Quantenmechanik. Wolfgang Ketterle ist überzeugt, dass „die Quantenmechanik schon heute so grundlegend für die Naturwissenschaft ist wie Goethes Schriften oder Beethovens Sinfonien für die kulturelle Bildung“.

Eine Kombination von Glück, exzellenten Mitarbeitern, uneigennützigen Mentoren, dem richtigen Riecher und eigenen Fähigkeiten hat es mir erlaubt, bei wichtigen Entwicklungen ganz vorne dran zu sein.
Wolfgang Ketterle

Nach dem Abitur hatte der 1957 geborene Heidelberger in seiner Heimatstadt ein Physikstudium begonnen, wechselte aber bald an die Technische Universität München. Hin- und hergerissen zwischen Grundlagenforschung und angewandter Forschung wählte er für seine Diplomarbeit ein Thema in theoretischer Physik. „Ich hatte aber Zweifel, ob es mich nicht zu tief in den Elfenbeinturm der Wissenschaft führen würde.“ 1982 begann er am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik in Garching und promovierte über ein angewandtes, experimentelles Forschungsgebiet. Es folgte wieder ein Wechsel: Zurück an seiner Heimatuniversität Heidelberg widmete Wolfgang Ketterle sich nun der Verbrennungsforschung mit Lasern. „Die Zeit in der Verbrennungsforschung war prägend für mich. Ich wollte seit langem in die angewandte Forschung und lernte dabei, wo ich wirklich hingehörte – nämlich in die reine Grundlagenforschung.“ 1990 ging er mit einem DAAD-Stipendium als Gastforscher an die US-amerikanische Elite-Einrichtung Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) und arbeitete in der Gruppe von Dave Pritchard an Problemen der Laserkühlung. „Das Stipendium ermöglichte mir, den Wechsel in ein neues Arbeitsgebiet zu planen und ohne einschlägige Erfahrung eine Position im Forschungsgebiet der kalten Atome zu bekommen. Nach einem Jahr wurde meine Stelle voll vom MIT finanziert. Ohne das DAAD-Stipendium wäre dieser Wechsel viel schwerer gewesen.“

Am MIT begann für den deutschen Physiker ein kometenhafter Aufstieg. Binnen kurzer Zeit – und an allen amerikanischen Kollegen vorbei – wurde er 1993 „Assistant Professor“, fünf Jahre später erhielt er einen der begehrten Stiftungslehrstühle, den John D. MacArthur-Lehrstuhl für Physik. „Der Wechsel in die USA mit 32 Jahren war damals ein Schritt ohne Sicherheitsnetz, denn ich tauschte eine längerfristige Stelle gegen eine Zwei-Jahres-Stelle mit unsicherer Perspektive“, sagt er. Versuche, den erfolgreichen Forscher nach Deutschland zurückzuholen, schlugen fehl. „Die Frage nach der Rückkehr stellte sich 1997, als ich mich sehr knapp entschied, ein ausgezeichnetes Angebot der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft abzulehnen. Heute habe ich mich in Amerika fest niedergelassen. “

Stand: 2015-10-04