Prof. Dr. Vassilios Skouris

Greece

Lawyer, former President of the Court of Justice of the European Communities (ECJ) in Luxembourg

DAAD Scholarship 1965–1972

Prof. Dr. Vassilios Skouris DAAD


More judges, more disputes and more languages in which legal actions can be filed – the president takes it all in his stride. “It’s all a question of organisation that we have solved well,” said Vassilios Skouris, commenting on the challenges that the European Court of Justice (ECJ) in Luxembourg faced with the enlargement of the European Union in 2004. “The leap from the original six to 15 members is not much smaller than the leap from 15 to 25. It’s happening in a way that causes no insurmountable difficulties for the ECJ.”

A German doctorate is certainly an advantage for your later career.
Vassilios Skouris

Vassilios Skouris, born in 1948 in Thessaloniki, has been the President of the ECJ since autumn 2003. He had already worked as a judge at the Plateau du Kirchberg since 1999. Before that, from 1989 to 1996, he was Minister of Internal Affairs in his home country. He studied law as a young man in Berlin with the support of the DAAD and followed this up with a doctorate at the University of Hamburg. “A German doctorate is certainly an advantage for your later career,” he emphasises. Later, the former scholarship holder taught public law at the University of Bielefeld. In 1982, he accepted a professorship at the university in his home town of Thessaloniki.

Vassilios Skouris, who was confirmed in office in October 2012, takes a positive view of the tasks faced in an enlarged Europe. “The judges come from various schools, and that’s a good thing. We don’t have any difficulties in communicating with each other because legal problems are the same everywhere.” Recently, one of the Greek intellectual’s most important challenges was the role he and his colleagues played in the dispute over the competences of European Central Bank (ECB). In May 2015, the ECJ, of which he is President, was awarded the 50th Theodor Heuss Prize – as “the guardian of legal unity and the rule of law”, as the Theodor Heuss Foundation put it in the statement explaining their choice.

Prof. Dr. Vassilios Skouris

Griechenland

Jurist, ehemaliger Präsident des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Gemeinschaften (EuGH) in Luxemburg

DAAD-Stipendium 1965–1972

Prof. Dr. Vassilios Skouris DAAD


Mehr Richter, mehr Streitfälle und mehr Sprachen, in denen geklagt werden kann – der Präsident nahm es gelassen. „Das ist eine Organisationsfrage, die wir gut gelöst haben“, kommentierte Vassilios Skouris die Herausforderungen, die mit der EU-Erweiterung 2004 auf den Gerichtshof der europäischen Gemeinschaften (EuGH) in Luxemburg zukamen. „Der Sprung von ursprünglich sechs auf 15 Mitglieder ist nicht viel kleiner als der Sprung von 15 auf 25. Das geschieht in einer Art und Weise, die für den EuGH keine unüberwindlichen Schwierigkeiten aufwirft.“

Der deutsche Doktortitel ist auf jeden Fall ein Vorteil für die spätere Berufstätigkeit.
Vassilios Skouris

Seit Herbst 2003 steht Vassilios Skouris, Jahrgang 1948, an der Spitze des EuGH. In dem großen Gebäudekomplex auf dem Plateau Kirchberg arbeitet der Grieche bereits seit 1999 als Richter. In den Jahren zuvor, von 1989 bis 1996, war er Innenminister seines Heimatlandes. Als junger Mann hatte der Thessalonicher mit Unterstützung des DAAD Rechtswissenschaft in Berlin studiert. Anschließend promovierte er an der Universität Hamburg. „Der deutsche Doktortitel ist auf jeden Fall ein Vorteil für die spätere Berufstätigkeit“, betont der Jurist. Später lehrte der ehemalige Stipendiat an der Universität Bielefeld öffentliches Recht. Im Jahr 1982 nahm er dann einen Ruf an die Hochschule seiner Geburtsstadt Thessaloniki an.

Die Aufgaben im erweiterten Europa sieht Vassilios Skouris, der im Oktober 2012 in seinem Amt bestätigt wurde, positiv: „Die Richter kommen aus unterschiedlichen Schulen, und das ist gut so. Wir haben keine Schwierigkeiten, miteinander zu kommunizieren, denn die Rechtsprobleme sind überall die gleichen.“ Eine seiner zuletzt wichtigsten Rollen spielte der griechische Intellektuelle zusammen mit seinen Kollegen in den Auseinandersetzungen um die Kompetenzen der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB). Im Mai 2015 wurde dem Gerichtshof, den er leitet, der 50. Theodor-Heuss-Preis verliehen, als „Hüter der rechtlichen Einheit und Rechtsstaatlichkeit“ – so die Begründung der Theodor-Heuss-Stiftung.

Stand: 2015-09-14