Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert

Germany

Sinologist, former State Secretary

DAAD Scholarship 1974–1975

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert DAAD


While many encounter globalisation with scepticism, it has been Siegfried Englert's experienced reality since his earliest youth. Born in Worms in 1947, he took part in visits abroad to France, England and Japan while he was still a student at the local high school. "The sooner a young person goes abroad, the better. The decision for Bad Kreuznach on the River Nahe comes early enough in life," says the sinologist with conviction.

The intensive examination of a foreign culture puts one's own system of values to the test.
Siegbert Englert

In the course of his studies at the University of Heidelberg, he spent several semesters in the United States and Taiwan. From 1974 to 1975, Siegfried Englert studied at the Beijing Language and Culture University as a DAAD scholarship holder, which made him one of the first western students ever in the People's Republic. "It was an unknown world. Dealing intensively with a foreign culture makes you put your own system of values to the test." He considers the DAAD exchange programme as a vehicle for remaining competitive in the globalisation process.

After his first stay in Beijing, the People's Republic played an important role in his professional career. In 1988, at the University of Applied Sciences Ludwigshafen am Rhein, he established the degree programme on Marketing East Asia, from which the East Asia Institute emerged in 1997. A year abroad in Japan or China is obligatory for students at the institute today. In 1996, the university professor took leave of absence to establish the first Chinese SAP branch office. "We have to open up new markets, and China plays a key role in this." In 2006, the sinologist changed his career with a move to Mainz to become state secretary at the Economics Ministry of the Rhineland-Palatinate. He remained in office until 2011, after which he devoted his time to writing, published books about China, became a sought-after speaker and engaged in voluntary work – not only in support of international cooperation, but also social causes. Englert is active as chairman of the district association of the German Red Cross.

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert

Deutschland

Sinologe, Staatssekretär a.D.

DAAD-Stipendium 1974–1975

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Englert DAAD


Während viele Menschen der Globalisierung mit Skepsis begegnen, ist sie für Siegfried Englert seit seiner frühesten Jugend gelebte Realität. 1947 in Worms geboren, nahm er bereits als Schüler des dortigen Gymnasiums an Auslandsaufenthalten in Frankreich, England und Japan teil. „Je eher ein junger Mensch ins Ausland geht, desto besser. Die Entscheidung für Bad Kreuznach an der Nahe kommt im Leben noch früh genug“, ist der Sinologe überzeugt.

Durch die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit einer fremden Kultur stellt man das eigene Wertesystem auf die Probe.
Siegbert Englert

Im Zuge seines Studiums an der Universität Heidelberg verbrachte er daher einige Semester in den USA und Taiwan. Von 1974 bis 1975 studierte Siegfried Englert als DAAD-Stipendiat an der Beijing Language and Culture University (Yuyan Xueyuan) in Peking und gehörte damit zu den ersten westlichen Studierenden in der Volksrepublik überhaupt. „Es war eine unbekannte Welt. Eine derart intensive Auseinandersetzung mit einer fremden Kultur bewirkt, dass man das eigene Wertesystem auf die Probe stellt.“ Das DAAD-Austauschprogramm ist aus seiner Sicht ein Vehikel, um in der Globalisierung wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.

Seit seinem ersten Aufenthalt in Peking nimmt die Volksrepublik in Siegfried Englerts beruflichem Werdegang eine wichtige Rolle ein. 1988 begründete er an der Hochschule Ludwigshafen den Studiengang „Marketing Ostasien“, aus dem 1997 das Ostasieninstitut hervorging. Für seine Studierenden ist bis heute ein Auslandsjahr in Japan oder China Pflicht. 1996 ließ sich der Hochschulprofessor beurlauben, um in Peking die erste chinesische SAP-Niederlassung aufzubauen. „Wir müssen neue Märkte erschließen, China spielt dabei eine zentrale Rolle.“ 2006 wechselte der Sinologe als Staatssekretär nach Mainz ins rheinland-pfälzische Wirtschaftsministerium. Bis 2011 blieb er im Amt, danach widmete er sich dem Schreiben, veröffentliche Bücher über China, wurde zu einem begehrten Redner und engagierte sich ehrenamtlich – für internationale Zusammenarbeit, aber auch für Soziales. Englert ist Vorsitzender des Kreisverbandes Worms des Deutschen Roten Kreuzes.

Stand: 2015-10-04