Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge

Germany

Philosopher and Professor

DAAD Scholarship 1977–1978

Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge by Tobias Klenze [CC BY-SA 4.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Born in 1953, Thomas Pogge is today regarded as “perhaps one of the world's best known philosophers who thinks about poverty and hunger”, according to the German weekly Die Zeit. Published in 2002, his book World Poverty and Human Rights is one of the most important works to address the question of global justice.

If philosophy can't help, what can?
Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge

After studying sociology in Hamburg, Thomas Pogge went to Harvard University as a guest student in 1977 with a DAAD scholarship. It was there that he met the American justice philosopher John Rawls and finished his doctorate in 1983 with a thesis on Kant, Rawls, and global justice. "I had already been interested in politics and political reform," says Thomas Pogge, "but the meeting with Rawls helped me to develop new ideas, on how to combine political work with work in political philosophy." After finishing his doctorate, he stayed in the United States and taught at Columbia University in New York until 2008, before accepting the offer of a professorship at Yale, where he is now the Leitner Professor of Philosophy and International Affairs.

Thomas Pogge not only thinks theoretically about justice. He also makes suggestions on how global economic structures could be reformed to relieve poverty, hunger and illness in the world. This is why he launched the Health Impact Fund. The underlying idea of this fund is to provide the pharmaceutical industry with incentive systems to promote the development and marketing of those drugs, which the poor worldwide urgently need, such as to combat AIDS and tuberculosis.

For Thomas Pogge, this philosophical approach is "a new way to engage in a new kind of political philosophy." As he sees it, discussions on political philosophy should enable citizens to think about existing injustices and the responsibility that derives from this and so work towards the necessary reforms. "If philosophy can't help, what can?"

Pogge has made a name for himself as a vociferous critic: in a 2015 interview with the Süddeutsche Zeitung he accused the United Nations and the World Bank of playing down global hunger with false numbers. "Measuring methods and definitions have always been retrospectively adjusted and each new adjustment has led to new reports of success." The philosopher is also combative when it comes to climate change: he belongs to a group of renowned law scholars in the USA that call upon states to protect their citizens and introduce measures against climate change. "Governments that do nothing to counter climate change are a case for the judiciary," said Pogge on Deutschlandfunk in 2015.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge

Deutschland

Philosoph, Hochschullehrer

DAAD-Stipendium 1977–1978

Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge by Tobias Klenze [CC BY-SA 4.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Der 1953 geborene Thomas Pogge gilt heute als der „weltweit vielleicht bekannteste Philosoph, der über Armut und Hunger nachdenkt“, so titulierte ihn die deutsche Wochenzeitung „Die Zeit“. Sein 2002 erschienenes Buch „World Poverty and Human Rights" gehört zu den wichtigsten Werken, die sich mit der Frage der globalen Gerechtigkeit auseinandersetzen.

Wenn die Philosophie da nicht hilft, wer sonst?
Prof. Dr. Thomas Pogge

Nach seinem Soziologie-Studium in Hamburg ging Thomas Pogge 1977 mit einem Stipendium des DAAD als Gaststudent in die USA, an die Universität Harvard. Dort traf er auf den amerikanischen Gerechtigkeitsphilosophen John Rawls und promovierte 1983 bei ihm mit einer Arbeit über Kant, Rawls und globale Gerechtigkeit. „Für Politik und politische Reform habe ich mich auch schon vorher interessiert“, sagt Thomas Pogge, „Aber die Begegnung mit Rawls half mir, neue Ideen zu entwickeln, wie man politische Arbeit mit solcher in der politischen Philosophie verbinden kann“. Nach seiner Promotion blieb er in den USA und lehrte bis 2008 an der Columbia-Universität in New York, ehe er einen Ruf nach Yale annahm. Dort hat er die Leitner-Stiftungsprofessur inne.

Thomas Pogge denkt nicht nur theoretisch über Gerechtigkeit nach. Er macht auch Vorschläge, auf welche Art und Weise die globalen Wirtschaftsstrukturen reformiert werden könnten, um Armut, Hunger und Krankheit in der Welt zu lindern. So hat er den Health Impact Fund ins Leben gerufen. Die Idee hinter diesem Fonds ist, der Pharmaindustrie ein Anreizsystem zu bieten, um Entwicklung und Vertrieb von solchen Medikamenten zu fördern, die von armen Menschen weltweit dringend benötigt werden, etwa zur Bekämpfung von AIDS oder Tuberkulose.

Für Thomas Pogge ist dieser philosophische Ansatz „eine neue Art, politische Philosophie zu betreiben“. Die Diskussionen in der politischen Philosophie sollten seiner Ansicht nach Bürger dazu befähigen, über bestehende Ungerechtigkeiten und die daraus entstehende Verantwortung nachzudenken und auf notwendige Reformen hinzuarbeiten: „Wenn die Philosophie da nicht hilft, wer sonst?“

Schließlich hat Pogge sich einen Namen als lautstarker Kritiker gemacht: Den Vereinten Nationen und der  Weltbank warf er 2015 im Interview mit der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“ vor, sie würde den Hunger in der Welt mit falschen Zahlen beschönigen. „Die Messmethoden und Definitionen wurden immer rückwirkend angepasst und jede neue Anpassung führte zu neuen Erfolgsmeldungen.“ Streitbar wird der Rechtsphilosoph auch, wenn es um den Klimawandel geht: In den USA gehört er zu einer Gruppe international renommierter Juristen, die Staaten zum Schutz ihrer Bürger auffordert, Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel einzuleiten. „Regierungen, die nichts gegen den Klimawandel tun, sind ein Fall für die Justiz“, sagte Pogge 2015 im Deutschlandfunk.

Stand: 2015-10-01