Richard Powers

United States of America

Writer

Samuel Fischer Guest Professorship for Literature 2009

Richard Powers DAAD


Richard Powers, born in Evanston, Illinois, in 1957, is among the best-known authors in the United States. With novels like 2003’s The Time of our Singing and 2006’s The Echo Maker, he has become an international best-selling author, recognised by readers and critics alike. His award-winning novel Orfeo was published in the United States in 2014.

That's the advantage of being a novelist: you can go anywhere you want, and you should do, too.
Richard Powers

The recipe for success lies in his highly effective literary processing of major social topics, such as racial problems, neurosciences or genetic research. These grand stories are linked together with excursions into classical music, mathematics or other artistic scientific fields. And so, the reader not only goes through a reading experience, but also, at the same time, an educational experience. It may be this mix that makes his books so successful. „Whether I write a book about molecular genetics or virtual reality, about music or photography – it’s always about our hopes, fears and longings. There’s no difference between our scientific disciplines and us,” said Powers on Deutschlandradio Kultur in 2011. His inventiveness reminds one of the “later Thomas Mann and early Thomas Pynchon”, concluded the great American author, John Updike, when talking about his colleague.

An inquisitive nature and a broad interest could already be seen developing at an early age in Powers, who spent his childhood in Bangkok. He studied physics, later literary studies, worked as a programmer, and trained himself as a classical musician (cello). His first novel was the result of a real educational experience. In the museum, he saw a photo of the German photographer, August Sander. It showed three farmers from the Westerwald on their way to a fair. The photo and the underlying story fascinated Powers so much that he abandoned his job as a programmer and wrote a novel. It appeared in 1985 under the title Three Farmers on Their Way to a Dance.

Powers has published eleven novels as of 2015, each of which addresses contemporary issues. “That’s the advantage of being a novelist,” says Powers, “you can go anywhere you want, and should do, too.”

He has been repeatedly drawn to teaching. He is professor emeritus at the University of Illinois. In the 2009 summer semester, he held a Samuel Fischer Guest Professorship for Literature –established in 1998 in cooperation with the DAAD – at the FU Berlin. The topic he chose for his course reflected his particular literary interest, between fiction and fact: Factitious Fiction, Fictitious Fact.

Richard Powers

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Schriftsteller

Samuel-Fischer-Gastprofessur für Literatur 2009

Richard Powers DAAD


Richard Powers, geboren 1957 im amerikanischen Evanston, Illinois, zählt zu den bekanntesten Autoren seines Landes. Mit Romanen wie „Der Klang der Zeit“ (auf Deutsch 2004), „Das Echo der Erinnerung“ (2006) ist er zu einem internationalen Bestseller-Autor geworden, bei Publikum und Kritikern gleichermaßen anerkannt. 2014 erschien sein in den USA preisgekrönter Roman „Orfeo“.

Das ist der Vorteil des Romanciers: Er kann sich überall hinbegeben – und sollte es auch tun.
Richard Powers

Sein Erfolgsrezept besteht in einer sehr effektvollen literarischen Verarbeitung von gewichtigen gesellschaftlichen Themen wie Rassenproblem, Neurowissenschaft oder Gen-Forschung. Diese großen Geschichten sind verschränkt mit Ausflügen in die klassische Musik, die Mathematik oder anderen musischen oder wissenschaftlichen Bereichen. So erlebt der Leser nicht nur ein Lese-, sondern ganz nebenher auch noch ein Bildungserlebnis. Diese Mischung mag den Erfolg seiner Bücher ausmachen. „Ob ich nun über Molekulargenetik ein Buch schreibe oder über die virtuelle Realität, über Musik oder über Fotografie. Es geht immer um unsere Hoffnungen, Ängste und Sehnsüchte. Es gibt keinen Unterschied zwischen unseren Wissenschaften und uns“, sagte Powers 2011 im Deutschlandradio Kultur. Sein Erfindungsreichtum erinnere „an den späten Thomas Mann und den frühen Thomas Pynchon“, befand der große amerikanische Schriftsteller John Updike über seinen Kollegen.

Neugier und breites Interesse zeichneten sich bei Powers, der seine Kindheit in Bangkok verbracht hat, schon früh ab. Er studierte Physik, später Literaturwissenschaft, arbeitete als Programmierer, bildete sich als klassischer Musiker (Cello) aus. Sein erster Roman war Folge eines regelrechten Bildungserlebnisses. Im Museum sah er ein Foto des deutschen Fotografen August Sander. Es zeigt drei Bauern aus dem Westerwald auf dem Weg zu einem Fest. Das Foto und die sich dahinter verbergende Geschichte faszinierte Powers so sehr, dass er seinen Beruf als Programmierer aufgab und einen Roman schrieb. Er erschien 1985 unter dem Titel „Three Farmers on their way to a Dance“.

Powers hat bis 2015 elf Romane veröffentlich, die sich stets mit Gegenwartsthemen auseinandersetzen. „Das ist der Vorteil des Romanciers“, sagt Powers, „er kann sich überall hinbegeben – und sollte es auch tun.“

Seine Neigung galt immer wieder auch der Lehre. Er ist Professor Emeritus an der Universität von Illinois. Im Sommersemester 2009 hatte er an der Freien Universität Berlin die Samuel-Fischer-Gastprofessur für Literatur inne, die 1998 unter Mitwirkung des DAAD eingerichtet wurde. Das Kursthema entsprach seinem besonderen literarischen Anliegen zwischen Fiktion und Fakten: „Facticious Fiction, Fictitious Fact“.

Stand: 2015-09-14