Dr. Nelson Mendonça Mattos

Brazil

Independent consultant, member of the Grameen Foundation, former Vice President Engineering at Google (2007 to 2014)

DAAD Scholarship 1984–1989

Dr. Nelson Mendonça Mattos DAAD


“We don't want just good people, rather we want people with an enterprising spirit,” said Nelson Mattos in an interview with Neue Züricher Zeitung while he was Vice President Engineering at Google. “Our staff have to be technology leaders, but also need to be aggressive enough to be able to pursue their own ideas.” All employees were allowed to spend 20% of their working time on their own ideas.

Our staff also need to be aggressive enough to be able to pursue their own ideas.
Nelson Mendonça Mattos

Google is not only the world’s most popular search engine, but also one of the world's favourite employers, because of its special corporate culture. From 2007 to 2014 Nelson Mattos worked for Google in Zurich, where he was responsible for the company's entire R&D in Europe, the Middle East and Africa. The IT specialist was responsible for some 800 engineers working in Google development centres in Germany, Britain, Ireland, Russia, Scandinavia, Israel, Poland and Switzerland. The Brazilian sought to identify and catalogue the products that Google users wanted in order to define the tasks of the development centres accordingly.

Born in 1959, Nelson Mattos gained his Master's degree at the University of Rio Grande do Sul in Brazil. In 1984 he came to the University of Kaiserslautern on a DAAD Scholarship. He gained his doctorate in information science there in 1989 and then did research, initially as an associate professor, on knowledge base management systems. He published more than 80 works on database management and related topics. He holds 13 patents and is the author of the book An Approach to Knowledge Base Management.

In 1991 Nelson Mattos moved to IBM in the United States as a visiting scientist, where he experienced a meteoric rise up the career ladder over the next 15 years. Among other things, he was IBM Distinguished Engineer and Vice President of Information and User Technologies with IBM Research. He was in charge of research groups that worked worldwide on search technologies, structured and unstructured information processing and business collaboration tools. He designed a portfolio of products for IBM that earned the company several hundred million dollars.

Today, Nelson Mattos lives in San Jose, California, where he works as an independent consultant. In addition, he is an active member of the Grameen Foundation, where he supports the world’s poorest to realise their potential by providing funding and information on the subjects of health and agriculture.

Dr. Nelson Mendonça Mattos

Brasilien

Unabhängiger Berater, Mitglied der Grameen Foundation, ehemaliger Vice President Engineering bei Google (2007–2014)

DAAD-Stipendium 1984–1989

Dr. Nelson Mendonça Mattos DAAD


„Wir wollen nicht nur gute Leute, sondern solche, die auch Unternehmergeist zeigen“, sagte Nelson Mendonça Mattos in seiner Zeit als Vice President Engineering bei Google, in einem Interview mit der „Neuen Züricher Zeitung“. „Unsere Mitarbeiter müssen technisch top sein, sie müssen aber auch die Aggressivität haben, ihre eigenen Ideen verfolgen zu können.“ Für diese eigenen Ideen stünden allen Mitarbeitern 20 Prozent ihrer Arbeitszeit zur Verfügung.

Unsere Mitarbeiter müssen auch die Aggressivität haben, ihre eigenen Ideen verfolgen zu können.
Nelson Mendonça Mattos

Google ist nicht nur die beliebteste Suchmaschine der Welt, sondern wegen ihrer speziellen Unternehmenskultur auch eine der beliebtesten Arbeitgeberinnen. Nelson Mattos, kümmerte sich in seiner Zeit bei Google in Zürich von 2007 bis 2014 um die gesamte Entwicklung des Unternehmens in Europa, im Mittleren Osten und in Afrika: Der Informatiker war zuständig für rund 800 Ingenieure, die in Deutschland, England, Irland, Russland, Skandinavien, Israel, Polen und der Schweiz in Google-Entwicklungszentren arbeiten. Der Brasilianer versuchte, die Produktwünsche der Google-Anwender zu erfassen und entsprechend die Aufgaben der Entwicklungszentren zu definieren.

Seinen Master machte der 1959 geborene Nelson Mendonça Mattos an der Universität Rio Grande do Sul in Brasilien. 1984 kam er mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an die TU Kaiserslautern. Dort promovierte er 1989 in Informatik und forschte zunächst als außerordentlicher Professor über Knowledge Base Management-Systeme. Der Wissenschaftler veröffentlichte mehr als 80 Arbeiten zu Datenbank-Management und verwandten Themen. Er hält 13 Patente und ist Autor des Buches „An Approach to Knowledge Base Management“.

1991 wechselte Nelson Mendonça Mattos als Gastwissenschaftler zu IBM in die USA. Dort machte er in den folgenden 15 Jahren eine steile Karriere, unter anderem als IBM Distinguished Engineer und Vice President of Information and User Technologies bei IBM Research. Er leitete Forschergruppen, die weltweit an Suchtechnologien, strukturierter und unstrukturierter Informationsverarbeitung oder Business-Collaboration-Tools arbeiteten. Er erstellte für IBM ein Portfolio von Produkten, die dem Unternehmen mehrere hundert Millionen Dollar einbrachten.

Heute ist Nelson Mattos als unabhängiger Berater in San Jose, Kalifornien zu Hause. Zudem unterstützt er als Mitglied der „Grameen Foundation“ die ärmsten Menschen der Welt darin, mithilfe einer finanziellen Förderung sowie Informationen zum Thema Gesundheit und Landwirtschaft ihr Potential zu entfalten.

Stand: 2015-09-11