Navid Kermani

Germany

Writer, journalist, orientalist

DAAD Scholarship 1991–1992

Navid Kermani Villa Massimo


Few prominent public figures mediate between cultures and religions so impressively as the author Navid Kermani – and demonstrate such stylistic brilliance in their literary, journalistic and academic writing. In 2015, the writer, orientalist, travel journalist and essayist was awarded the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade, after receiving the Joseph Breitbach Prize and the Gerty Spies Literature Prize in 2014. Navid Kermani, who was born in Siegen in 1967 and now lives and works as a freelance writer in Cologne, has produced a body of work that is almost overwhelming in its richness and diversity. Equally memorable are in particular the speech he gave in the German Bundestag to mark the 65th anniversary of the Basic Law in 2014 and his 2014 assignment in Iraq to write a reportage for the German news magazine Der Spiegel.

I’m grateful to the DAAD even now.
Navid Kermani

That identity is not a fixed entity but rather something that assumes different forms in different relationships is an accepted fact for Navid Kermani. Born the son of Iranian immigrants (his father was a doctor) and growing up in provincial Germany, he was always at home in at least two different worlds: the world of his German friends – an environment which, he always emphasises, he never felt to be hostile – and the world of his Iranian parents, which was shaped by quite different traditions. While living in Cairo, where he pursued oriental studies in the early 1990s with funding from the DAAD – something for which he is “grateful to the DAAD even now”– he realised that there was a challenge awaiting him. He had previously regarded oriental studies as “drudgery”; he would really have preferred to work in the world of theatre. But now, living in an apartment on Opera Square in the heart of Cairo and being woken every morning by the chanting of the muezzin from the nearby mosque, he has found his subject. Kermani first made a name for himself in 1999 with the publication of his PhD thesis entitled God is Beautiful: The Aesthetic Experience of the Quran, in which he talks about the reception history of Islam’s holy book, in particular its aesthetic, poetological reception.

Many years have passed since these watershed events in his career. Political thinking, analytical skills, philological flair and creativity – all of these qualities are most felicitously combined in Kermani: he seems positively predestined to be a mediator between cultures. But he first learned the tools of his trade by reading German literature, especially Jean Paul, Hölderlin and Kafka. His literary preoccupation with the Quran came later – in 2014 he published a collection of essays and speeches entitled Between Quran and Kafka. In his novel Great Love, he writes so ardently and effortlessly about the schoolyard romance of a 15-year-old boy that readers find themselves infected with the author’s love of Arabic-Persian mysticism. The book also paints a portrait – both ironic and soulful – of the 1980s in a small West German town. Kermani‘s 1,200-plus-page novel Your Name, which was published in 2011, can be seen as his key work and opus magnum. It’s a book that shows Kermani’s poetic side, as well as revealing him as a genuine critical intellectual.

Navid Kermani

Deutschland

Schriftsteller, Publizist, Orientalist

DAAD-Stipendium 1991–1992

Navid Kermani Villa Massimo


Nur wenige Persönlichkeiten vermitteln auf so beeindruckende Weise wie der Autor Navid Kermani zwischen Kulturen und Religionen – und zeigen dabei solch eine stilistische Brillanz in literarischen, journalistischen und wissenschaftlichen Texten. 2015 wurde dem Schriftsteller und Orientalist, Reisereporter und Essayist der Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels zuerkannt, 2014 der Joseph-Breitbach-Preis und der Gerty-Spies-Literaturpreis. In seiner Vielfalt und Fülle hat Navid Kermani, der 1967 in Siegen geboren wurde und heute als freier Schriftsteller in Köln lebt, ein kaum zu überblickendes Werk vorgelegt. Denkwürdig waren zudem insbesondere seine Rede zur 65-Jahr-Feier des Grundgesetzes 2014 im Deutschen Bundestag und seine Irak-Reportagereise für den „Spiegel“ 2014.

Ich bin dem DAAD bis heute dankbar.
Navid Kermani

Dass Identität nichts Festes ist, sondern sich in verschiedenen Relationen unterschiedlich ausformt, ist für Navid Kermani eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Aufgewachsen in der deutschen Provinz mit aus dem Iran eingewanderten Eltern, gab es für den Arztsohn immer mindestens zwei Welten: die Welt der deutschen Freunde mit einer, wie er stets betont, nie als feindlich empfundenen Umwelt, und die von anderen Traditionen geprägte Welt seines iranischen Elternhauses. Bei seinem Aufenthalt in Kairo, wo er Anfang der 1990er-Jahre als Student der Orientalistik vom DAAD gefördert wurde – wofür er „dem DAAD bis heute dankbar“ ist –, kam ihm zu Bewusstsein, dass es eine Aufgabe gibt, die auf ihn wartet. Das Orientalistikstudium hatte er bis dahin wie eine „Fron“ empfunden. Eigentlich wollte er lieber ans Theater gehen. Nun aber, als er in einer Wohnung am Opernplatz mitten in Kairo lebte und jeden Morgen vom Gesang des Muezzins der nahegelegenen Moschee geweckt wurde, fand er sein Thema: Einen Namen machte Kermani sich erstmals 1999 mit der Veröffentlichung seiner Dissertation „Gott ist schön. Das ästhetische Erleben des Koran“, in der er die Rezeptionsgeschichte des heiligen Buchs des Islam erzählt, insbesondere die seiner ästhetischen, poetologischen Rezeption

Seit dieser Weichenstellung sind viele Jahre vergangen. Politisches Denken, analytische Fähigkeiten, philologischer Spürsinn und Kreativität gehen bei Kermani eine überaus glückliche Verbindung ein – zum Vermittler zwischen den Kulturen scheint er geradezu prädestiniert. Doch sein Handwerkszeug schulte er zunächst an der deutschen Literatur, allen voran an Jean Paul, Hölderlin und Kafka. Die literarische Beschäftigung mit dem Koran kam später – 2014 publizierte er eine Anthologie von Essays und Reden mit dem Titel „Zwischen Koran und Kafka“. In seinem Roman „Große Liebe“ schreibt er so feurig und leichthändig über die Schulhofliebe eines Fünfzehnjährigen, dass sich seine Begeisterung für die arabisch-persische Mystik auf den Leser überträgt. Zugleich entsteht das gleichermaßen ironische wie beseelte Porträt der 1980er-Jahre in einer westdeutschen Kleinstadt. Als Kermanis Schlüsselwerk und Opus magnum lässt sich der über 1.200 Seiten fassende Roman „Dein Name“ aus dem Jahr 2011 lesen: Kermani zeigt sich darin von seiner poetischen Seite genauso wie von der als genuiner kritischer Intellektueller.

Stand: 2015-08-28