Prof. Dr. Naoji Kimura

Japan

Germanist, Researcher on Goethe

DAAD Scholarship 1959–1961

Prof. Dr. Naoji Kimura DAAD


Although a few decades have now passed, Naoji Kimura can still remember his DAAD Scholarship in Munich very well: "Without wishing to flatter anyone, it was the most wonderful time of my life," he reminisces. "I still belong to the last generation of scholarship holders who were able to sail by French passenger ship from Yokohama to Marseille and back, through the Suez Canal. On board, I was already somehow able to feel universal in the Goethe sense." The scholarship had, he said, made it possible for him to "make acquaintance with the spirit of German philology." Moreover, he was pleased to still have been able to get to know the old German university based on Wilhelm von Humboldt's educational ideal. The thirst for knowledge of the German fellow students, some of whom were much older and had been away in the war, impressed the Japanese student greatly at the time.

Above all I was taken with Goethe's universality.
Naoji Kimura

Kimura was born in 1934 in Sapporo, capital of the Japanese northern island of Hokkaido. He came to read German studies via a small diversion: "In April 1955, when I began to study at the Sophia University in Tokyo, which German Jesuits founded, my major was philosophy. Students of this subject either had to learn Latin or German as a foreign language. I wanted to learn German from the outset, because it was traditionally considered the language of science and research in Japan." After two years of studying German he decided to specialise in German studies, because he could learn German much better with a German married couple, who both happened to be DAAD lecturers. "I not only read German literature with them, but also philosophy and theology," explains Kimura. "Above all, I was taken with Goethe's universality." Kimura soon knew that he wanted to become a professor of German. And he remained true to his preoccupation with Johann Wolfgang von Goethe throughout his academic life. The German poet was and is his core research area, namely "Goethe as poet, philosopher and natural scientist," as the Japanese professor stresses.

Professor Kimura has received numerous prizes and awards for his services to German language and literature, as well as to cultural exchange between Germany and Japan. 1982 saw him receive the Philipp Franz von Siebold Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany, in 1992 the Cross 1st Class of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. He was awarded the Goethe Medal by the Goethe-Institut in 1996. In June 2003 the DAAD awarded him the Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm Prize. Also in June 2003 he received the Golden Goethe Medal from the Goethe Society in Weimar. Kimura considered it a special honour to be made a Corresponding Member of the German Academy for Language and Poetry in 1997. He was Vice-President of the German-Japanese Society in Regensburg, which was founded on 1 February 2005. Furthermore, he has been Vice-President of INST, a cultural studies institute based in Vienna, since 2003. After gaining emeritus status at the Sophia University, Tokyo, in 2000, Kimura has repeatedly felt drawn back to Germany. He taught Japanese language and literature at Regensburg University until 2006. Naoji Kimura now lives in Tokyo.

Prof. Dr. Naoji Kimura

Japan

Germanist, Goethe-Forscher

DAAD-Stipendium 1959–1961

Prof. Dr. Naoji Kimura DAAD


Es liegt schon ein paar Jahrzehnte zurück, aber an sein DAAD-Stipendium in München kann sich Naoji Kimura noch sehr gut erinnern: „Ohne schmeicheln zu wollen: Es war die schönste Zeit meines Lebens“, sagt er rückblickend. „Ich gehöre noch zur letzten Stipendiatengeneration, die die Seereise mit dem französischen Passagierschiff von Yokohama bis Marseille hin und zurück durch den Suez-Kanal mitmachen durfte. Schon unterwegs konnte ich mich irgendwie goethisch-universal fühlen.“ Das Stipendium habe ihm die „Bekanntschaft mit dem Geist der deutschen Philologie“ ermöglicht. Außerdem freue er sich, die alte deutsche Universität nach dem Bildungsideal von Wilhelm von Humboldt noch kennengelernt zu haben. Der Wissenshunger der zum Teil viel älteren deutschen Kommilitonen, die im Krieg gewesen waren, beeindruckte den jungen Japaner damals sehr.

Von Goethes Universalität war ich vor allem angetan.
Naoji Kimura

Kimura wurde 1934 in Sapporo, Hauptstadt der japanischen Nordinsel Hokkaido, geboren. Zum Studium der Germanistik kam er über einen kleinen Umweg: „Als ich im April 1955 anfing, an der von den deutschen Jesuiten gegründeten Sophia-Universität in Tokio zu studieren, war mein Hauptfach Philosophie. In diesem Fach hatte man entweder Latein oder Deutsch als Fremdsprache zu erlernen. Ich wollte von Anfang an Deutsch lernen, weil es in Japan traditionell als Wissenschaftssprache galt.“ Nach zweijährigem Deutschstudium entschied er sich für das Fachstudium Germanistik, weil er dort bei einem deutschen Ehepaar – beide DAAD-Lektoren – viel besser Deutsch lernen konnte. „Ich habe bei ihnen nicht nur deutsche Literatur, sondern auch Philosophie und Theologie studiert“, erzählt Kimura. „Von Goethes Universalität war ich vor allem angetan.“ Früh stand für ihn fest, dass er Germanistik-Professor werden wollte. Der Beschäftigung mit Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ist Kimura dabei sein gesamtes Wissenschaftsleben über treu geblieben. Der deutsche Dichter war und ist sein Forschungsschwerpunkt, und zwar „Goethe als Dichter, Denker und Naturwissenschaftler“, wie der Japaner betont.

Für seine Verdienste um die deutsche Sprache und Literatur sowie um den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Deutschland und Japan hat Professor Kimura zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen erhalten: 1982 bekam er den Philipp Franz von Siebold-Preis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, 1992 das Verdienstkreuz 1. Klasse des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Die Goethe-Medaille des Goethe-Instituts erhielt er im Jahr 1996. Im Juni 2003 verlieh ihm der DAAD den Jacob- und Wilhelm-Grimm-Preis. Ebenfalls im Juni 2003 erkannte ihm die Goethe-Gesellschaft in Weimar die Goldene Goethe-Medaille zu. Als besondere Ehre empfand es Kimura, dass man ihn im Jahre 1997 zum Korrespondierenden Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung ernannte. Er war Vizepräsident der Deutsch-Japanischen Gesellschaft Regensburg, die am 1. Februar 2005 gegründet wurde. Außerdem ist er seit 2003 Vizepräsident eines kulturwissenschaftlichen Instituts (INST) in Wien. Nach seiner Emeritierung von der Sophia-Universität in Tokio im Jahr 2000 zog es Kimura immer wieder nach Deutschland: An der Universität Regensburg unterrichtete er bis 2006 japanische Sprache und Literatur. Heute lebt Naoji Kimura in Tokio.

Stand: 2015-09-30