Susan Sontag

United States of America

Author and cultural theoretician

DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1989–1990

Susan Sontag DAAD


At the age of ten, she read about Marie Curie and adopted the scientist as a role model. At 14, she was invited to tea by Thomas Mann. At 16, she went to university to study philosophy. Susan Sontag was not only a “child prodigy”, she has also retained a special aura throughout her life – whether as a journalist or essayist, a novelist or cultural philosopher, a critic or filmmaker. In 2003, she received the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade for her work.

I'm the world’s leading German studies expert that speaks no German.
Susan Sontag

“In a world of falsified images and distorted truths,” read the statement explaining why she was awarded the prize, she had “stood up for the dignity of free thought.” Continuing, the statement said that Sontag, who had rendered outstanding services as an intermediary of European – and in particular German – literature, had become the “foremost intellectual ambassador between the two continents”.

The American, who described herself as “the world’s leading German studies expert that speaks no German”, has written a great deal about German-speaking authors such as Brecht, Benjamin, Kleist, Kafka, Celan and Canetti. And it was she who made the German writer W.G. Sebald, who died in 2001, famous in the United States. Incidentally, Sebald was himself a DAAD scholarship holder, in England.

Sontag, who was born the daughter of a middle-class Jewish family in New York in 1933, constantly influenced public awareness, whether in the 1960s with her theoretical writings on the aesthetics of modernism, or with her books on cancer and AIDS, or with her most recent, often rigorously critical statements on politics, war and human rights.

In June 2003, she was held a lectureship in poetics in Tübingen, where she was awarded an honorary doctorate by the university. She was presented with the Peace Prize, worth 15,000 euros, in Frankfurt’s St Paul’s Church on 12 October 2003 as part of the Frankfurt Book Fair events.

Susan Sontag died at the age of 71 in New York.

Susan Sontag

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Schriftstellerin, Kulturtheoretikerin

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms 1989–1990

Susan Sontag DAAD


Ich bin die größte Germanistin der Welt, die nicht Deutsch spricht.
Susan Sontag

Mit zehn Jahren las sie über Marie Curie und nahm sich die Wissenschaftlerin zum Vorbild. Mit 14 war sie bei Thomas Mann zum Tee eingeladen. Mit 16 ging sie zur Universität, um Philosophie zu studieren. Susan Sontag war nicht nur ein „Wunderkind“, sondern behielt die Aura des Besonderen ihr Leben lang – sei es als Journalistin oder Essayistin, Romanautorin oder Kulturphilosophin, Kritikerin oder Filmemacherin. 2003 erhielt sie für ihr Werk den Friedenspreis des deutschen Buchhandels.

„In einer Welt der gefälschten Bilder und verstümmelten Wahrheiten“ sei sie „für die Würde des freien Denkens eingetreten“, heißt es in der Begründung. Sontag, die sich um die Vermittlung europäischer und insbesondere deutscher Literatur verdient gemacht habe, sei zur „prominentesten intellektuellen Botschafterin zwischen beiden Kontinenten“ geworden.

Die Amerikanerin, die sich selbst als „die größte Germanistin der Welt, die nicht Deutsch spricht“, bezeichnete, hat viel über deutschsprachige Autoren wie Brecht, Benjamin, Kleist, Kafka, Celan und Canettí geschrieben. Den 2001 verstorbenen deutschen Autor W.G. Sebald hat sie in den USA berühmt gemacht. Sebald war übrigens DAAD-Stipendiat in England.

Sontag, die als Tochter einer jüdisch-bürgerlichen Familie 1933 in New York geboren wurde, nahm stets Einfluss auf das öffentliche Bewusstsein, sei es in den 60er-Jahren mit ihren theoretischen Schriften zur Ästhetik der Moderne, sei es mit ihren Büchern über Krebs und Aids oder mit ihren aktuellen, oft rigoros-kritischen Äußerungen über Politik, Krieg und Menschenrechte.

Im Juni 2003 war sie Poetik-Dozentin in Tübingen und erhielt dort die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität. Den mit 15.000 Euro dotierten Friedenspreis nahm sie am 12. Oktober 2003 während der Frankfurter Buchmesse in der Paulskirche entgegen.

Susan Sontag verstarb im Alter von 71 Jahren in New York.

Stand: 2015-09-08