Dr. Sumaya Farhat-Naser

Palestinian Territories

Peace activist

DAAD Scholarship, DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1979-1982

Dr. Sumaya  Farhat-Naser by Elke Wetzig (Elya) [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


She has been called a “secret agent for peace” because she courageously and creatively advocates an end to violence in the Middle East. The Palestinian Sumaya Farhat-Naser refuses to think in friend-foe categories; she fights against the Israeli occupation policy, for the democratisation of the Palestinian Territories, and condemns the suicide bomb attacks. She was the first Palestinian woman to publicly discuss a possible peace with Israeli women. For her commitment, she and the Israeli Gila Svirsky were jointly awarded the Hermann Kesten Medal by the German PEN Centre in 2002. In 2011, Sumaya Farhat-Naser won the Open Church’s AMOS Prize.

Only those who have hope can think creatively and find ways to escape the vicious circle of violence.
Sumaya Farhat-Naser

Sumaya Farhat-Naser was born the same year the State of Israel was founded, in June 1948, during the war. She grew up in a Christian family in Birzeit near Jerusalem and attended a German boarding school in Beit Jala near Bethlehem. At 14, her grandfather, as was customary, wanted to marry her off to a relative. Sumaya Farhat-Naser resisted. In her first book Thyme and Stones, she writes: “Grandfather was so shocked he couldn’t say a word and left the house.”

The young Palestinian prevailed over all conventions and, after gaining her school-leaving certificate, went to Germany, where she studied from 1979 to 1982 on a DAAD scholarship, gaining a doctorate in biology in Hamburg. When she returned home, the Israelis had already occupied Palestine. She campaigned for peace and in Jerusalem met the Jewish woman Gila Svirsky, who for her part advocated dialogue with the Palestinians. The two women went on demonstrations together and actively supported women’s rights in their countries. From 1997 to 2001, Sumaya Farhat-Naser ran a women’s centre in East Jerusalem, where Israeli and Palestinian women work for peace.

Even as everyday life became ever more difficult and she had little freedom of movement left, she kept up the dialogue with her Israeli co-activists by email. Sometimes, she smuggles herself through the checkpoints to Israel to give talks, always closely observed by her compatriots. One wrong word or an overnight stay with Israeli friends and she would be considered a traitor to the Palestinian cause.

In 2002, she was offered the position of Mayor of Birzeit – she turned it down. Farhat-Naser sees herself as an educational worker, not a political administrator. During a reading in Cologne in 2012, Sumaya Farhat-Naser said it was important never to allow any room for hatred, “for hatred destroys the soul.” The peace activist regularly gives lectures in Germany, Austria and Switzerland on education, everyday life, ecology and women, presenting her books and reporting on the situation in Palestine on German radio and television. Conversely, in Palestine he cautiously talks about her experiences in Germany. “The good things I’ve learned in Germany – about tradition, political thinking and history – I like to absorb and transfer to my own culture and then develop them,” she said in an interview with Bavarian broadcaster Bayerischer Rundfunk in 2015.

Dr. Sumaya Farhat-Naser

Palästinensische Gebiete

Friedensaktivistin

DAAD-Stipendium, DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1979–1982

Dr. Sumaya  Farhat-Naser by Elke Wetzig (Elya) [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


„Geheimagentin für den Frieden“ wurde sie genannt, weil sie mutig und kreativ für ein Ende der Gewalt in Nahost eintritt. Die Palästinenserin Sumaya Farhat-Naser weigert sich, in Freund-Feind-Schablonen zu denken; sie kämpft gegen die israelische Besatzungspolitik, für eine Demokratisierung der palästinensischen Gebiete und verurteilt die Selbstmordattentate. Sie war die erste Palästinenserin, die öffentlich mit israelischen Frauen über einen möglichen Frieden diskutierte. Für ihr Engagement erhielt die Biologin gemeinsam mit der Israelin Gila Svirsky 2002 vom deutschen PEN-Zentrum die Hermann-Kesten Medaille, 2011 wurde Sumaya Farhat-Naser mit dem AMOS-Preis der Offenen Kirche ausgezeichnet.

Nur wer die Hoffnung hat, denkt kreativ und findet Lösungen aus dem Teufelskreis der Gewalt.
Sumaya Farhat-Naser

Sumaya Farhat-Naser wurde im selben Jahr wie der Staat Israel geboren, im Juni 1948 während des Krieges. Sie wuchs in einer christlich geprägten Familie in Birseit bei Jerusalem auf und besuchte ein deutsches Internat in Beit-Jala nahe Bethlehem. Mit 14 Jahren wollte sie ihr Großvater wie üblich mit einem Verwandten verheiraten. Sumaya Farhat-Naser wehrte sich. Sie schreibt in ihrem ersten Buch „Thymian und Steine“: „Großvaters Schock war so groß, dass er kein Wort hervorbrachte und das Haus verließ.“

Die junge Palästinenserin setzte sich gegen alle Konventionen durch und ging nach dem Abitur zum Studium nach Deutschland. Mit einem DAAD-Stipendium studierte und promovierte sie von 1979 bis 1982 in Hamburg. Als die Biologin in ihre Heimat zurückkehrte, hatten die Israelis Palästina bereits besetzt. Sie engagierte sich für den Frieden und traf in Jerusalem die Jüdin Gila Svirsky, die sich ihrerseits für einen Dialog mit den Palästinensern ausspricht. Gemeinsam gingen die beiden Frauen auf Demonstrationen und setzten sich in ihren Ländern für Frauenrechte ein. Sumaya Farhat-Naser leitete von 1997 bis 2001 ein Frauenzentrum in Ost-Jerusalem, wo israelische und palästinensische Frauen für den Frieden arbeiten.

Auch als der Alltag immer schwieriger wurde und sie nur noch wenig Bewegungsfreiheit hatte, hielt sie den Dialog mit ihren israelischen Mitstreitern per Mail aufrecht. Manchmal schmuggelte sie sich für Vorträge durch die Checkpoints nach Israel, immer beobachtet von ihren Landsleuten. Ein falsches Wort oder eine Übernachtung bei den israelischen Freunden und sie gälte als Verräterin der palästinensischen Sache.

2002 bot man ihr das Bürgermeisteramt von Birseit an – sie lehnte ab. Farhat-Naser versteht sich als Erziehungsarbeiterin, nicht als politische Verwalterin. Wichtig sei es, nie dem Hass Raum zu geben, sagte Sumaya Farhat-Naser während einer Lesung in Köln im Jahr 2012, „denn Hass zersetzt die Seele“. In Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz hält die Friedensaktivistin regelmäßig Vorträge über Erziehung, Alltag, Ökologie, Frauen, stellt ihre Bücher vor und berichtet auch im deutschen Rundfunk und Fernsehen über die Lage in Palästina. Behutsam erzählt sie umgekehrt in Palästina von ihren Erfahrungen in Deutschland. „Das Gute, das ich in Deutschland gelernt habe – an Tradition, an politischer Denkweise, an Geschichte – nehme ich gerne auf und mit in meine Kultur und entwickle es“, sagte sie 2015 in einem Interview mit dem Bayerischen Rundfunk. 

Stand: 2015-09-15