Nam June Paik

Korea, the Republic of

Video Artist

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1983

Nam June  Paik DAAD


He is considered the "father of video art" and his monumental installations can still be seen in the major museums of the world after his death in 2006. The Kunstsammlung NRW only dismantled the world-famous artist’s room-filling video installation TV-Garden in 2015 and gave away 200 palms to enthusiastic art lovers in less than half an hour.

Television attacked us all life long – now we're fighting back.
Nam June Paik

Nam June Paik, American of Korean descent, was born in Seoul in 1932, studied in Tokyo and came to Germany in the 1950s to study composition and music history in Freiburg and Munich. Over the following decades he became the star of the western art scene. In 1983, he was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme. He spent many years teaching at the Düsseldorf Art Academy.

As a musician, Paik not least worked with Karlheinz Stockhausen, however it was his encounter with John Cage that was to prove decisive. In the 1960s, he belonged, together with Cage, Beuys and Vostell, to the Fluxus Movement. Some of his actions included smashing up violins and pianos. He caused a sensation in New York when he had a robot cross the road and let it be run over by a car.

He was already working on his first installations built of television sets in the 1960s. His media art is always visionary, often ironic and even witty. He uses the methods of television to criticise television. His motto is: "Television has attacked us all life long – now we're fighting back." And that was also the intention of the electronic collage Global Groove, which he created in 1973. It went on display in the Deutsche Guggenheim Exhibition Hall in Berlin from April to July 2004. In this large-scale installation with Video Walls made of TV screens, the viewer is confronted by a visual flood of alienated TV images and video sequences – step dancers accompanied by rock music, Pepsi commercials, drumming Navajo Indians, psychedelic eddies of colour, Richard Nixon's grotesquely distorted face and material from current affairs programmes, game shows and soap operas.

The artist came to the exhibition especially from New York, where he lived until his death. After suffering a stroke, Nam June Paik was bound to a wheelchair, but his creativity remained unbroken – he turned his artistic ideas into reality with the help of assistants. Nam June Paik died on 29 January 2006 at the age of 73.

Nam June Paik

Korea, Republik

Videokünstler

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1983

Nam June  Paik DAAD


Er gilt als der „Vater der Videokunst“, und seine monumentalen Installationen sind über seinen Tod 2006 hinaus in den großen Museen der Welt zu sehen. Erst 2015 wurde in der Kunstsammlung NRW die raumfüllende Videoinstallation „TV-Garden“ des weltbekannten Künstlers aufgelöst, 200 Palmen wurden innerhalb einer halben Stunde an begeisterte Kunstfreude verschenkt.

Das Fernsehen hat uns ein Leben lang attackiert – jetzt schlagen wir zurück.
Nam June Paik

Nam June Paik, Amerikaner koreanischer Abstammung, wurde 1932 in Seoul geboren, studierte in Tokio und kam in den 1950er-Jahren nach Deutschland, um in Freiburg und München Komposition und Musikgeschichte zu studieren. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten wurde er zum Star der westlichen Kunst-Szene. 1983 war er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Viele Jahre lehrte er an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf.

Als Musiker arbeitete Paik unter anderem mit Karlheinz Stockhausen, doch entscheidend wurde seine Begegnung mit John Cage. In den 1960er-Jahren gehörte er, gemeinsam mit Cage, Beuys und Vostell, der Fluxus-Bewegung an. Zu seinen Aktionen gehörte es, Geigen und Klaviere zu zertrümmern. Aufsehen erregte er, als er in New York einen Roboter die Straße überqueren und von einem Auto überfahren ließ.

Schon in den 1960er-Jahren bastelte er die ersten Installationen aus Fernsehgeräten. Seine Medienkunst ist immer visionär, oft ironisch, ja witzig. Mit Mitteln des Fernsehens wird das Fernsehen kritisiert. Seine Devise: „Das Fernsehen hat uns ein Leben lang attackiert – jetzt schlagen wir zurück.“ Dies ist auch die Intention seiner 1973 geschaffenen elektronischen Collage „Global Groove“, die von April bis Juli 2004 in der Ausstellungshalle Deutsche Guggenheim in Berlin zu sehen war. In der Großraum-Installation aus Bildschirmwänden und „Video Walls“ wurde der Besucher mit einer visuellen Flut verfremdeter Fernsehbilder und Videosequenzen konfrontiert: Zu Rockmusik steppende Tänzer, Pepsi-Werbespots, trommelnde Navajo-Indianer, psychedelische Farbwirbel, das grotesk verzerrte Gesicht Richard Nixons, Material aus aktuellen Nachrichtensendungen, Game Shows und Soaps.

Der Künstler kam zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung eigens aus New York, wo er bis zu seinem Tod lebte. Nach einem Schlaganfall war Nam June Paik an den Rollstuhl gefesselt, doch seine Kreativität blieb ungebrochen – mit Hilfe von Assistenten realisierte er seine künstlerischen Ideen. Am 29. Januar 2006 starb Nam June Paik mit 73 Jahren. In den Nam June Paik Studios in New York City lebt seine Arbeit weiter.

Stand: 2015-09-30