Silke Pfeiffer

Germany

Conflict and peace advisor

DAAD Scholarship 1995

Silke Pfeiffer DAAD


Silke Pfeiffer, who was born in 1970, has special ties with Latin America. After leaving school with Abitur, the German university entrance qualification, she immediately spent ten months travelling around Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina. In the Argentinian metropolis of Buenos Aires she developed a taste for finding out about other aspects of the country. She received an opportunity to do just that while reading regional Latin American studies at the University of Cologne: the DAAD gave her a scholarship at the Universidad del Norte Santo Tomás de Aquino in Tucumán, Argentina, from March to October 1995. "Those were really exciting days," she recalls. In Tucumán, it was the period when General Antonio Domingo Bussi, who had made an infamous name for himself during the military dictatorship, was elected governor. "The extremely controversial election really gave us a wake-up call," she says. That was when she first noticed that corruption was a major problem. It was a topic that was to occupy her for a long time. Her commitment to peace, which she eventually made into her career, originates from that time. Today she is an advisor on conflict issues at the Heinrich Böll Foundation and produces regular reports as a writer for the Norwegian Peacebuilding Resource Centre (NOREF).

I was really pleased that I hadn’t ended up in the capital. A provincial town like this is a small and straightforward world that you can get to understand quite well in half a year.
Silke Pfeiffer

Tucumán offered her a good insight into Argentinian reality. "I was really pleased that I hadn’t ended up in the capital," she says. "A provincial town like this is a small and straightforward world that you can get to understand quite well in half a year." She sang in a choir – and that is the best thing she could have done, she says: "All at once, I got to know a lot of nice people." And she still maintains contacts with some of the members.

Directly after finishing her DAAD scholarship, Silke Pfeiffer did an internship at a human rights organisation in Buenos Aires. In so doing, she did the ground work for her Diplom thesis on an appraisal of the military dictatorship under the democratic President Raúl Alfonsín. It was at this time that her wish matured to later work in development cooperation. She took another step in that direction with a training course at the German Development Institute (DIE). It provided nine months of training for young graduates before they began their development cooperation assignments. While she was at DIE she got to know Transparency International, an organisation that fights corruption. Among other things, she developed instruments that made public tendering systems and party funding more transparent. "This work has so many different political, economic and social dimensions. I found that really interesting." Her fascination remained: Silke Pfeiffer joined Transparency International as director for Latin America. From 2010 to 2013 she was project leader for Colombia and the Andes region with the International Crisis Group and reported in detail from Bogotá on the Colombian conflict.

Silke Pfeiffer DAAD

Silke Pfeiffer

Deutschland

Konflikt- und Friedensberaterin

DAAD-Stipendium 1995


Silke Pfeiffer, geboren 1970, hat eine besondere Beziehung zu Lateinamerika. Bereits nach dem Abitur reiste sie zehn Monate quer durch Paraguay, Bolivien und Argentinien. In der argentinischen Metropole Buenos Aires bekam sie Lust, weitere Seiten des Landes kennen zu lernen. Gelegenheit dazu hatte sie während ihres Studiums der Regionalwissenschaften Lateinamerika an der Universität Köln: Sie erhielt von März bis Oktober 1995 ein DAAD-Stipendium an der Universidad del Norte Santo Tomás de Aquino in Tucumán, Argentinien. „Das war eine sehr spannende Zeit“, erinnert sie sich. In Tucumán wurde in jener Zeit General Antonio Domingo Bussi, der sich während der Militärdiktatur einen unrühmlichen Namen gemacht hatte, zum Gouverneur gewählt. „Die äußerst kontroverse Wahl hat uns aufgerüttelt“, sagt sie. In dieser Zeit war ihr Korruption als großes Problem aufgefallen – ein Thema, das sie lange beschäftigen sollte. Ihr Engagement für Frieden, das sie zum Beruf machte, stammt aus dieser Zeit. Heute ist sie Beraterin zu Konfliktfragen bei der Heinrich Böll Stiftung und berichtet als Autorin regelmäßig für das Norwegian Peacebuilding Resource Centre (NOREF).

Ich war ganz froh, dass es mich nicht in die Hauptstadt verschlagen hat. So eine Provinzstadt ist eine kleine, überschaubare Welt, die man in einem halben Jahr ganz gut durchdringen kann.
Silke Pfeiffer

Tucumán bot ihr einen guten Einblick in die argentinische Realität. „Ich war ganz froh, dass es mich nicht in die Hauptstadt verschlagen hat,“ sagt sie. „So eine Provinzstadt ist eine kleine, überschaubare Welt, die man in einem halben Jahr ganz gut durchdringen kann.“ Sie sang in einem Chor mit – und das sei das Beste gewesen, was sie machen konnte: „Auf einem Schlag kannte ich viele neue Leute.“ Noch heute pflegt sie Kontakt zu einigen Mitgliedern.

Direkt nach ihrem DAAD-Stipendium absolvierte Silke Pfeiffer ein Praktikum bei einer Menschenrechtsorganisation in Buenos Aires. Dabei bereitete sie ihre Diplomarbeit über die Aufarbeitung der Militärdiktatur unter dem demokratischen Präsidenten Raúl Alfonsín vor. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt reifte der Wunsch, später in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit tätig zu werden. Ein weiterer Schritt in diese Richtung war eine Fortbildung beim Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungshilfe (DIE), die junge Akademiker in neun Monaten für ihren Einsatz in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit schulte. Beim DIE lernte sie die Organisation Transparency International kennen, die sich mit Korruption beschäftigt. Sie entwickelt unter anderem Instrumente, mit denen sich öffentliche Systeme von Ausschreibungen oder Parteienfinanzierung transparenter gestalten lassen. „Diese Arbeit hat so unterschiedliche politische, wirtschaftliche, soziale Dimensionen. Das fand ich sehr interessant. “ Die Faszination ließ nicht nach: Silke Pfeiffer stieg bei Transparency International als Lateinamerika-Direktorin ein. Von 2010 bis 2013 war sie Projektleiterin für Kolumbien und die Andenregion bei der International Crisis Group und berichtete von Bogotá aus ausführlich über den kolumbianischen Konflikt.

Stand: 2015-10-04