Prof. Dr. Ummu Salma Bava

India

University teacher, Professor of european studies at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi

DAAD Scholarship 1994

Prof. Dr. Ummu Salma Bava privat


In 2012, Ummu Salma Bava was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit, Germany’s highest civil honour, in recognition of her services to binational relations. The professor of European studies at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi and an expert in international foreign and security policy has cultivated close relations with Germany for two decades. To this day she promotes partnership between Germany and India and is committed to cultural, political and academic exchange.

I had always been fascinated by Europe, and my stays in Germany served only to increase my admiration.
Ummu Salma Bava

As a political studies expert, her biography is inextricably bound up with German history. “In 1990, the year of German reunification, I began my doctoral degree at Jawaharlal Nehru University,” explains Salma Bava. “I followed the events unfolding in Europe with keen interest and decided to focus on German foreign policy in my dissertation.”

Bava travelled to Germany on a DAAD scholarship in 1994 to research her topic. There, at Freie Universität (FU) Berlin and the universities of Hamburg, Bonn and Heidelberg, she was able to benefit not only from the extensive literature available: “The six months in Germany proved extremely fruitful,” the DAAD alumna recalls. “I talked to experts about my topic, made many friends and had the chance to experience German culture at first hand.”

Now a professor, Bava still maintains close ties with German culture – and with the DAAD. She has already taught on a number of occasions at Würzburg University’s Institute of Political Science and Sociology within the framework of the DAAD’s funding initiative A New Passage to India. In 2005, she was invited by the DAAD to serve as an election observer during Germany’s general election. She has also remained loyal to Germany’s capital: Bava is a member of the Research Advisory Board of the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) in Berlin and was also a member of the Academic Advisory Council of the research project Asian Perceptions of the EU at the FU Berlin until the end of 2014.

Furthermore, Bava – who was appointed director of the Europe Area Studies Programme in 2011 and director of the Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Advanced Studies (JNIAS) at Jawaharlal Nehru University in 2012 – is a highly committed ambassador of Germany and the DAAD at her home university. Her own positive experiences make it easy for her to inspire her students to spend a period studying abroad: “Most of all I value the professional and personal friendships that have evolved over the past twenty years thanks to the DAAD scholarship,” says Salma Bava.

Prof. Dr. Ummu Salma Bava

Indien

Professorin für Europäische Studien an der Jawaharlal Nehru University in Neu-Delhi

DAAD-Stipendium 1994

Prof. Dr. Ummu Salma Bava privat


Für ihre Verdienste um die binationalen Beziehungen wurde sie 2012 mit der höchsten zivilen Auszeichnung Deutschlands gewürdigt – dem Bundesverdienstkreuz. Ummu Salma Bava, Professorin für Europäische Studien an der Jawaharlal Nehru University in Neu-Delhi und Expertin für internationale Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, pflegt seit zwei Jahrzehnten enge Beziehungen zu Deutschland. Bis heute macht sie sich für eine deutsch-indische Partnerschaft stark und setzt sich für den kulturellen, politischen und wissenschaftlichen Austausch ein.

Von Europa war ich schon immer fasziniert, und die Aufenthalte in Deutschland haben meine Bewunderung noch vergrößert.
Ummu Salma Bava

Die Biografie der Politikwissenschaftlerin ist dabei eng mit der deutschen Geschichte verbunden. „1990, im Jahr der deutschen Wiedervereinigung, habe ich mit meiner Promotion an der Jawaharlal Nehru University begonnen“, erzählt Salma Bava. „Die Ereignisse in Europa verfolgte ich mit Spannung, und so beschloss ich, mich in meiner Dissertation mit der deutschen Außenpolitik auseinanderzusetzen.“

Zur Recherche reiste Bava mit einem DAAD-Kurzzeitstipendium 1994 nach Deutschland und profitierte an der Freien Universität (FU) Berlin sowie den Universitäten Hamburg, Bonn und Heidelberg nicht nur von der umfangreichen Literatur: „Die sechs Monate in Deutschland waren sehr ertragreich“, erinnert sich die DAAD-Alumna. „Ich sprach mit Experten über mein Thema, gewann viele Freunde und konnte die deutsche Kultur hautnah erleben.“

Der deutschen Kultur – und dem DAAD – ist die Professorin weiterhin verbunden. Mehrfach hat sie bereits im Rahmen der DAAD-Förderinitiative „A New Passage to India“ am Institut für Politikwissenschaft und Soziologie der Universität Würzburg gelehrt; 2005 war die Politikwissenschaftlerin auf Einladung des DAAD Wahlbeobachterin der Bundestagswahl. Auch der deutschen Hauptstadt ist sie treu geblieben: Bava ist Mitglied des Forschungsbeirats der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) in Berlin und war bis Ende 2014 Mitglied des Akademischen Rates des Forschungsprojektes „Asian Perceptions of the EU“ an der FU Berlin.

Zudem engagiert sich Bava – die 2011 zur Direktorin des „Europe Area Studies Programme“ und 2012 zur Direktorin des „Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Advanced Studies (JNIAS)“ an der Jawaharlal Nehru University ernannt wurde – auch an ihrer Heimatuniversität als Botschafterin Deutschlands und des DAAD. Ihre eigenen positiven Erfahrungen machen es der Professorin leicht, ihre Studierenden für ein Auslandsstudium zu begeistern: „Am meisten schätze ich die fachlichen und persönlichen Freundschaften, die in den letzten zwanzig Jahren dank des DAAD-Stipendiums gewachsen sind“, sagt Salma Bava.

Stand: 2015-09-26