Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes

Germany

Political Scientist, Director of the SWP

DAAD Scholarship 1986–1987

Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes DAAD


Volker Perthes was a student when he first visited Saudi Arabia, where his father was working as an engineer building a cement factory for Krupp. Fascinated by his impressions, he took Arabic courses in addition to studying political sciences at the university in his home town of Duisburg. After graduating, he spent two years conducting research in Damascus, Syria, with a DAAD scholarship.

If we today seek a heading that characterises and categorises the developments in the Middle East since 2011, and even more since 2013–2014, with regard to their international historical significance, then the term ‘disintegration of order’ appears appropriate.
Volker Perthes

In 1991, a year after completing his doctorate, he went to the American University of Beirut in Lebanon as an assistant professor. One year later, he began working in the Middle East specialist group at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), which was then based in Ebenhausen near Munich. The SWP is a largely publicly funded, but independent research institute that advises the Bundestag and Bundesrat on all questions of foreign and security policy on the basis of its own academic research.

Perthes is still with the SWP, which moved to Berlin in 2001. In 1999–2000, he was responsible for the SWP advance team in Berlin; later, he headed the SWP Middle East and Africa Research Division for several years. “If we today seek a heading that characterises and categorises the developments in the Middle East since 2011, and even more since 2013–2014, with regard to their international historical significance, then the term ‘disintegration of order’ appears appropriate,” says Perthes. In 2005, he was appointed director of the German Institute for International and Security Affairs and executive chairman of the Board of SWP.

Today, Perthes is a sought-after political adviser, speaker and discussion partner for the media. He is often described as a “Middle East expert”, which annoys him. However, the Middle East now belong to the core areas of German foreign and security policy, on which the SWP and therefore also Perthes focus. The subjects include transatlantic relations, the challenges of European security and dealing with global shifts in political power.

The political consultant is also well known as the author of numerous publications about the Arab world: for example, his book Geheime Gärten – die neue arabische Welt (Secret Gardens: The New Arab World, Berlin 2002), in which he describes the political and economic history of Arab countries in the 20th century. Perthes has also remained true to his original research subject with the books Der Aufstand. Die arabische Revolution und ihre Folgen (The Uprising. The Arab Revolution and Its Consequences) and Das Ende des Nahen Ostens, wie wir ihn kennen. Ein Essay (The End of the Middle East as We Know It. An Essay), which were published in 2011 and 2015 respectively. “The popular uprisings in the Arab world must be understood as a major historic event comparable in significance to the 1989 sea change in Central and Eastern Europe,” wrote Perthes in 2011. “The huge task of building up and consolidating new, democratic or at least more representative, responsible and better governed political systems in the Middle East will certainly take a decade, perhaps longer.”

Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes

Deutschland

Politikwissenschaftler, Direktor der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik

DAAD-Stipendium 1986–1987

Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes DAAD


Als Student kam Volker Perthes das erste Mal in die arabische Welt: nach Saudi-Arabien, wo sein Vater als Ingenieur für Krupp ein Zementwerk baute, und nach Ägypten. Perthes begann bald darauf, neben seinem Politikwissenschaftsstudium an der Universität/Gesamthochschule Duisburg Arabisch-Kurse zu nehmen und machte daraus später sein zweites Nebenfach, das er an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum belegte.

Wenn wir heute nach einer Überschrift suchen, die die Entwicklungen im Nahen und Mittleren Osten seit 2011 und mehr noch seit 2013/2014 charakterisiert und welthistorisch einordnet, dann scheint das Wort ‚Ordnungszerfall‘ angemessen.
Volker Perthes

Nach dem Studium forschte er als DAAD-Stipendiat zwei Jahre in Damaskus, Syrien. 1991, ein Jahr nach der Promotion, ging er als Assistant Professor an die American University of Beirut im Libanon. Ein weiteres Jahr später begann er seine Tätigkeit bei der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), damals in Ebenhausen bei München, in deren Fachgruppe Naher Osten. Die SWP ist ein überwiegend öffentlich finanziertes, aber unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut, das Bundestag und Bundesregierung auf Grundlage seiner eigenen wissenschaftlichen Forschung in allen Fragen der Außen-und Sicherheitspolitik berät.

Bei der SWP, die im Jahre 2001 nach Berlin umzog, ist Perthes noch immer. 1999/2000 war er für das Vorausteam der SWP in Berlin verantwortlich; später leitete er einige Jahre lang die SWP-Forschungsgruppe Naher/Mittlerer Osten und Afrika. „Wenn wir heute nach einer Überschrift suchen, die die Entwicklungen im Nahen und Mittleren Osten seit 2011 und mehr noch seit 2013/2014 charakterisiert und welthistorisch einordnet, dann scheint das Wort ‚Ordnungszerfall‘ angemessen“, sagt Perthes. 2005 wurde er zum Direktor des Deutschen Instituts für Internationale Politik und Sicherheit und geschäftsführenden Vorsitzenden der SWP berufen.

Perthes ist heute ein gefragter Politikberater, Redner und Gesprächspartner für die Medien. Oft wird er als „Nahostexperte“ bezeichnet, was ihn ärgert. Allerdings gehören der Nahe und Mittlere Osten heute zu den Kernthemen der außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen Deutschlands, mit denen die SWP und mit denen auch Perthes sich beschäftigt. Dazu gehören auch die transatlantischen Beziehungen, die Herausforderungen europäischer Sicherheit oder der Umgang mit globalen Kräfteverschiebungen.

Der Politikberater ist auch als Autor zahlreicher Publikationen über die arabische Welt bekannt, zum Beispiel für sein Buch „Geheime Gärten – die neue arabische Welt“ (Berlin 2002), in dem er die politische und wirtschaftliche Geschichte der arabischen Länder im 20. Jahrhundert darstellt. Mit den 2011 und 2015 erschienenen Büchern „Der Aufstand. Die arabische Revolution und ihre Folgen“ und „Das Ende des Nahen Ostens, wie wir ihn kennen. Ein Essay“ ist Perthes seinem ursprünglichen Forschungsthema treu geblieben. „Der Aufstand der Menschen in der arabischen Welt muss als ein historisches Großereignis begriffen werden, das von seiner Bedeutung her mit der Zeitenwende von 1989 in Mittel- und Osteuropa vergleichbar ist“, schreibt Perthes 2011. „Die große Aufgabe, neue, demokratische oder zumindest repräsentativere, verantwortliche und besser regierte politische Systeme im Nahen und Mittleren Osten aufzubauen und zu konsolidieren, wird sicherlich ein Jahrzehnt, vielleicht länger brauchen.“

Stand: 2015-10-05