Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer

Germany

Astrophysicist

DAAD Scholarship 1984, DAAD Scholarship 1990

Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer DAAD


If you click on the name "Norbert Langer" on his homepage, you get to see a picture of an astronaut in space. Behind the visor is the smiling face of Professor Norbert Langer. This shows that the astrophysicist, who was born in 1958 and has been one of the world's leading international experts in the field of theoretical astrophysics for more than two decades, is also emotionally attached to his life as a scientist.

The stars do not volunteer to show us the things we would like to know.
Norbert Langer

He became known for his research on the development of high mass-stars all the ways through to the explosion – the supernova. He contributed to the understanding of cosmic mechanisms and delivered key answers to exciting questions: How do high-mass stars form? How to black holes develop? "The stars do not volunteer to show us the things we would like to know," says the astrophysicist. Such processes can be observed in the local universe, for example, and particularly in the Milky Way. However, it is only possible to gain a closer insight into the secrets that are so very far away with the help of computational simulations and models. The development of such models lies right at the heart of Langer's scientific interest.

In 2008, Norbert Langer became one of the first eight Humboldt Professors, who receive Germany's most valuable research prize. Since the summer of 2009 he has been conducting research at the University of Bonn’s Argelander-Institut für Astronomie (AIfA), where he is executive director. The award aims to enable exceptional scientists to work long term at German universities under good conditions. He has already gained experience in this field. After studying and gaining his doctorate in Göttingen, a Heisenberg Fellowship took him to the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics in Garching from 1993 to 1996. He subsequently moved to the University of Potsdam and accepted the offer of a professorship from Utrecht University in the Netherlands in 2000.

Today, Langer sees his stays at the University of Tokyo in Japan (1984) and the Bosscha Observatory at the Bandung Institute of Technology in Indonesia (1990) on a DAAD Scholarship as "decisive" for his career. Japan was in fact his very first stay abroad and opened his eyes to how effective international contacts in science are. The time in Indonesia helped him make a scientific breakthrough. He addressed a symposium in Bali where his latest papers were discussed. "After that, I was well known in the community," recalls Langer.

Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer

Deutschland

Astrophysiker

DAAD-Stipendium 1984, DAAD-Stipendium 1990

Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer DAAD


Wer auf seiner Homepage den Namen „Norbert Langer“ anklickt, bekommt das Bild eines Astronauten im Weltall zu sehen. Hinter dem Visier: das lächelnde Gesicht von Professor Norbert Langer, Jahrgang 1958. Ein Hinweis, dass der Astrophysiker, der seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten zu den international führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet der theoretischen Astrophysik gehört, seinem wissenschaftlichen Lebensthema auch emotional verbunden ist.

Die Sterne zeigen uns nicht freiwillig die Dinge, die wir wissen wollen.
Norbert Langer

Bekannt geworden ist er für seine Forschung zur Entwicklung massereicher Sterne bis hin zur Explosion – der Supernova. Er hat zum Verständnis kosmischer Mechanismen beigetragen und wesentliche Antworten auf spannende Fragen geliefert: Wie entstehen massereiche Sterne? Wie entstehen schwarze Löcher? „Die Sterne zeigen uns nicht freiwillig die Dinge, die wir wissen wollen“, ist der Astrophysiker überzeugt. Im lokalen Universum, also insbesondere in der Milchstraße, könne man solche Prozesse beobachten. Den Geheimnissen in größeren Entfernungen kommt man aber nur mit Hilfe von Modellrechnungen auf die Spur. Die Entwicklung solcher Modelle steht im Zentrum von Langers wissenschaftlichem Interesse.

2008 gehörte Norbert Langer zu den ersten acht hoch dotierten Humboldt-Professoren und forscht seit Sommer 2009 an der Universität Bonn am Argelander-Institut für Astronomie, dem er als geschäftsführender Direktor vorsteht. Die Auszeichnung mit einer Humboldt-Professur soll es herausragenden Wissenschaftlern ermöglichen, unter guten Bedingungen langfristig an deutschen Hochschulen zu arbeiten. Dort hat er bereits Erfahrungen gesammelt: Nach Studium und Promotion in Göttingen führte ihn ein Heisenberg-Stipendium von 1993 bis 1996 an das Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik in Garching. Anschließend wechselte er an die Universität Potsdam und nahm 2000 einen Ruf an die Universität Utrecht in den Niederlanden an.

Als „entscheidend“ für seine Karriere sieht Langer heute seine Aufenthalte als DAAD-Stipendiat an der Universität Tokio in Japan (1984) und am Bosscha Observatorium des Bandung Institute of Technology in Indonesien (1990). Japan sei sein erster Auslandsaufenthalt überhaupt gewesen und habe ihm die Augen dafür geöffnet, wie effektiv internationale Kontakte in der Wissenschaft sind, sagt Langer. Die Zeit in Indonesien habe ihm zum wissenschaftlichen Durchbruch verholfen. Bei einem Symposium in Bali wurden seine damals aktuellen Arbeiten diskutiert, er trat als Referent auf. „Danach war ich in der Community bekannt“, erinnert sich Langer.

Stand: 2015-10-01