Prof. Dr. Mikhail Tsarev

Russian Federation

Auditor and Director of the International Investment Advisory Group EastOne Ltd

DAAD Scholarship 1989

Prof. Dr. Mikhail  Tsarev DAAD


In 1989, Michael Tsarev was one of the first 60 Russian DAAD scholarship holders to come to the Federal Republic of Germany following the signing of the government treaty with Russian head of state Mikhail Gorbachev. At the age of 22 he spent two semesters studying economics and business administration at the University of Passau. He remembers: "I was so happy, it was like a dream. The time of perestroika had just begun. Some of my fellow students had studied in East Germany, but not in West Germany!"

I wanted to get to know the new economics subjects in Germany.
Mikhael Tsarev

He learned from German students how important internships were for a later career. Tsarev found a position with auditors and management consultants KPMG and wrote his Diplom dissertation on the topic of auditing. "There was nothing like that in Russia," he says. Tsarev stayed with the company, working in Munich until 1996. Then, following a short stint in London, he returned home to Moscow, where the auditors had already formed a Russian public limited company in 1992. When he arrived, the company had over 1,650 staff in Moscow and the countries of the CIS.

KPMG annually awards five scholarships under the auspices of the Russia Fund of German Trade and Industry, which funds a programme for Russian economists through the DAAD. Tsarev speaks from personal experience when he says: "These future Russian executives and leaders get to know the German mentality and make personal contacts. These are exactly the people that are needed for the international recognition of Russian companies." He worked hard to contribute to this reputation in his capacity as head of financial consulting at KPMG, before moving to the Board of the international investment advisory group EastOne as director and head of the internal control and audit department in 2011.

Prof. Dr. Mikhail Tsarev

Russische Föderation

Wirtschaftsprüfer, Geschäftsführer des internationalen Finanzinvestors EastOne Ltd.

DAAD-Stipendium 1989

Prof. Dr. Mikhail  Tsarev DAAD


Mikhail Tsarev war 1989 einer der ersten 60 russischen DAAD-Stipendiaten, die nach der Regierungsvereinbarung mit Staatschef Gorbatschow in die Bundesrepublik kamen. Mit 22 Jahren studierte er für zwei Semester Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Passau. Er erinnert sich: „Ich war so froh, es war wie ein Traum. Die Zeit der Perestroika hatte gerade begonnen. In der DDR hatten ja einige Kommilitonen studiert, aber doch nicht in der Bundesrepublik!“

In Deutschland wollte ich die neuen Fächer in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften kennen lernen.
Mikhail Tsarev

Von deutschen Studierenden erfuhr er, wie wichtig Praktika für die spätere Karriere sind. Tsarev kam bei der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft und Unternehmensberatung KPMG unter und schrieb seine Diplomarbeit über das Thema Wirtschaftsprüfung. „So etwas gab es nicht in Russland“, erklärt er. Tsarev blieb bei dem Unternehmen: bis 1996 in München, anschließend – mit einer Zwischenstation in London – kehrte er nach Moskau zurück. Dort hatten die Wirtschaftsprüfer bereits 1992 eine russische Aktiengesellschaft gegründet und sind inzwischen mit über 1.650 Mitarbeitern in Moskau sowie den Staaten der GUS vertreten.

KPMG vergibt jährlich fünf Stipendien im Rahmen des Russland-Fonds der Deutschen Wirtschaft, der ein Programm für russische Wirtschaftswissenschaftler über den DAAD finanziert. Tsarev spricht aus Erfahrung, wenn er sagt: „Diese künftigen russischen Führungskräfte haben die deutsche Mentalität kennengelernt und persönliche Verbindungen geknüpft. Genau solche Leute werden für die internationale Anerkennung von russischen Unternehmen gebraucht.“ An dieser Anerkennung wirkte er in seiner Funktion als Chef der Finanzberatung bei KPMG mit, bevor er 2011 als Direktor und Leiter der internen Kontrolle und Revision in die Führungsetage der internationalen Finanzunternehmensgruppe EastOne wechselte.

Stand: 2015-09-26