Prof. Dr. Rokuro Makabe

Japan

Physician, scientist

DAAD Scholarship 1960

Prof. Dr. Rokuro Makabe DAAD


Rokuro Makabe spent a long time wondering who could have nominated him for the Medal of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. "After all, I've already been in retirement for 13 years," said the doctor and researcher, who was born in Japan in 1930. This prestigious award was conferred in recognition of his many years of service to ophthalmology, to collaborative German-Japanese research and to international cultural exchange. Several years earlier, the doctor had received a similar award in his home country in recognition of his cultural commitment.+

Germany was a dream destination for us and the scholarships were in great demand.
Rokuro Makabe

Rokuro Makabe came to the University Hospital in Frankfurt in 1960 as a junior doctor equipped with a DAAD Scholarship. "Germany was a dream destination and the scholarships were in great demand," he says, commenting on his decision to leave his home town of Niigata. Actually, he only wanted to spend between one and two years in Frankfurt am Main. That this turned out to be nearly five decades is also due to a young medical student who initially became his assistant in 1963 and a year later his wife. In 1974 Rokuro Makabe became a German citizen. From 1973 until he gained emeritus status in 1996, he was head of the Department for Functional Diagnostics and Laser Therapy at the Ophthalmology Centre, University Hospital Frankfurt. He primarily worked on the blood flow within the eye and developed a special method for measuring eye pressure, which also helps doctors recognise the risk of stroke at an early stage. This former scholarship holder’s research contributed substantially to the understanding of blood supply disorders of the eye.

Rokuro Makabe wrote more than 160 scientific papers during his research career, many of which he translated into Japanese. He even wrote some specialist articles in his favourite language: Esperanto. He never lost contact with Japan. He often travelled to his home country and also brought many Japanese to the city on the Main.

After gaining emeritus status, Rokuro Makabe dedicated himself to Esperanto. He was active in various organisations that aimed to advance and preserve this artificial language. He attended meetings of the Esperanto Association in Frankfurt and annual Esperanto World Congresses. Rokuro Makabe explained: "Esperanto was in widespread use in Japan after the Second World War. At the time, foreign countries were far away for us, and so I corresponded a lot in Esperanto."

Prof Dr Rokuro Makabe died on 7 April 2012 at the age of 82.

Prof. Dr. Rokuro Makabe

Japan

Arzt, Wissenschaftler

DAAD-Stipendium 1960

Prof. Dr. Rokuro Makabe DAAD


Rokuro Makabe grübelte lange, wer ihn wohl für das Bundesverdienstkreuz vorgeschlagen haben könnte. Immerhin war der Arzt und Wissenschaftler zu dem Zeitpunkt bereits seit 13 Jahren im Ruhestand. Makabe wurde 1930 in Japan geboren. Mit der hohen Auszeichnung wurden seine langjährigen Verdienste um die Augenheilkunde, die gemeinsame deutsch-japanische Forschung sowie den internationalen Kulturaustausch gewürdigt. Einige Jahre zuvor hatte der Mediziner für sein kulturelles Engagement eine ähnliche Auszeichnung seines Heimatlandes erhalten.

Deutschland war für uns das Traumland und Stipendien waren heiß begehrt.
Rokuro Makabe

Rokuro Makabe kam 1960 als junger Assistenzarzt mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an die Universitätsklinik nach Frankfurt. „Deutschland war für uns das Traumland und Stipendien waren heiß begehrt“, sagte er über die Entscheidung, seine Heimatstadt Niigata zu verlassen. Eigentlich wollte er nur ein bis zwei Jahre am Main bleiben. Dass daraus fast fünf Jahrzehnte geworden sind, lag an einer jungen Medizinstudentin, die 1963 zuerst seine Assistentin an der Augenklinik wurde und im Jahr darauf seine Ehefrau. 1974 nahm Rokuro Makabe die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft an. Von 1973 bis zu seiner Emeritierung 1996 leitete er als Medizinprofessor die Abteilung für Funktionsdiagnostik und Lasertherapie am Zentrum für Augenheilkunde der Uniklinik Frankfurt. Er befasste sich vor allem mit der Durchblutung des Auges und entwickelte eine spezielle Methode zur Messung des Augendrucks; sie hilft, auch Risiken für Schlaganfall früh zu erkennen. Mit seiner Forschung hat der einstige Stipendiat besonders zum Verständnis von Durchblutungsstörungen am Auge beigetragen.

Mehr als 160 wissenschaftliche Arbeiten schrieb Rokuro Makabe während seiner Forschertätigkeit, viele davon übersetzte er ins Japanische. Einige Fachartikel verfasste er sogar in seiner Lieblingssprache Esperanto. Den Kontakt zu Japan hat er nie abgebrochen: Häufig reiste er zu Vorträgen in sein Heimatland und holte im Gegenzug viele japanische Wissenschaftler an den Main.

Nach seiner Emeritierung widmete sich Rokuro Makabe dem Esperanto. Er war in verschiedenen Organisationen aktiv, die sich mit der Weiterentwicklung und Pflege der Kunstsprache beschäftigen. Er nahm an den Zusammentreffen der Frankfurter Esperantogesellschaft teil und besuchte die jährlichen Esperanto-Weltkongresse. „Esperanto war nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in Japan stark verbreitet“, so Rokuro Makabe. „Für uns war das Ausland damals weit weg und ich habe viele Briefwechsel in Esperanto geführt.“

Prof. Dr. Rokuro Makabe starb am 7. April 2012 im Alter von 82 Jahren.

Stand: 2015-09-29