Sean Chen

Taiwan

Politician, former Premier of the Republic of China, Taiwan

DAAD Scholarship 1977–1978

Sean Chen Hsu Shih-Mou


It is really rather remarkable: although Sean Chen’s time as a DAAD scholarship holder at Goethe University Frankfurt ended over three decades ago, it is regularly mentioned in reports about the former Taiwanese premier. Chen’s stay in Germany is obviously still having an effect. It was also the main reason why Sean Chen’s family received the German journalist Maya Kristin Schönfelder in 2011. 250 families from all over Taiwan took part in the Saytaiwan programme, which invited young people from more than 100 different nations to visit on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the foundation of the Republic of China (as the country officially calls itself).

We need a new wave of economic changes.
Sean Chen

This form of demonstrative openness was also a leitmotif of Chen’s term as Premier (2012–2013). When he was Vice Premier the politician already promoted closer economic cooperation with the People’s Republic of China and opened the Taiwanese market for Chinese banks. Chen included among his main goals as Premier, also with regard to Taiwan’s foreign trade relations, “a new wave of economic changes”. He called for more free trade agreements “to anchor the spirit of the World Trade Organisation”.

Chen’s international reputation as an economic and financial expert is largely based on his posts as chairman of Taiwan’s Financial Supervisory Commission and as Vice Premier. In these positions, Chen successfully steered Taiwan through the global financial crisis. Neue Zürcher Zeitung called him a growth tsar. However, Chen graduated from the National Taiwan University in 1973 as a Master of Law, before taking up the DAAD scholarship in Frankfurt in 1977–1978. Sean Chen resigned from his post as Premier in February 2013.

Sean Chen

Taiwan

Politiker, ehemaliger Ministerpräsident der Republik China, Taiwan

DAAD-Stipendium 1977–1978

Sean Chen Hsu Shih-Mou


Es ist schon bemerkenswert: Obwohl Sean Chens Zeit als DAAD-Stipendiat an der Frankfurter Goethe-Universität über drei Jahrzehnte zurückliegt, wird sie in Berichten über den ehemaligen taiwanesischen Ministerpräsidenten immer wieder erwähnt. Chens Aufenthalt in Deutschland wirkt offenbar nach. Er war auch ausschlaggebend dafür, dass Sean Chens Familie 2011 die deutsche Journalistin Maya Kristin Schönfelder bei sich aufnahm. 250 Familien aus ganz Taiwan beteiligten sich an dem Programm „Saytaiwan“, das anlässlich des 100. Jahrestags der Gründung der Republik China (so nennt sich das Land offiziell selbst) junge Leute aus rund 100 Ländern einlud.

Taiwan braucht eine neue Welle ökonomischer Veränderungen.
Sean Chen

Die derart demonstrierte Offenheit war auch Leitmotiv von Chens Amtszeit als Premier (2012/2013). Bereits als stellvertretender Ministerpräsident förderte der Politiker eine engere wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit der Volksrepublik China und öffnete den taiwanesischen Markt für chinesische Banken. Zu seinen Hauptzielen als Premier zählte Chen, auch mit Blick auf Taiwans Außenhandelsbeziehungen, „eine neue Welle ökonomischer Veränderungen“. So forderte er mehr Freihandelsabkommen, „um den Geist der Welthandelsorganisation zu verankern“.

Chens internationales Renommee als Wirtschafts- und Finanzfachmann rührt insbesondere von seinen Ämtern als Leiter der taiwanesischen Finanzmarktaufsicht und als Vize-Premier. Chen steuerte Taiwan in diesen Positionen erfolgreich durch die globale Finanzkrise. Die „Neue Zürcher Zeitung“ nannte ihn einen „Wachstumszar“. Seinen Abschluss an der National Taiwan University machte Chen 1973 allerdings als „Master of Law“, bevor er 1977/1978 noch das DAAD-Stipendium in Frankfurt wahrnahm. Im Februar 2013 trat Sean Chen von seinem Amt als Ministerpräsident zurück.

Stand: 20135-09-29