Prof. Miao Xiaochun

China, PR

Artist

DAAD Scholarship 2002

Prof. Miao Xiaochun DAAD


Present and past, tradition and modernity, Asia and Europe – these are the dimensions that Beijing-based artist Miao Xiaochun tries to interlink in his photographic works. The topics derive from his own life experience: Miao Xiaochun was born in the Chinese city of Wuxi (Jiangsu Province) in 1964. Due to its rapid economic growth the city also became known as "little Shanghai". In 1982, he moved to Nanjing to study and then, four years later, went to the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing, where he graduated in 1989.

Who am I? Where do I go? Who judges me?
Miao Xiaochun

His first visit to Europe and Germany followed in 1995. It lasted five years. He returned to Beijing in 1999, where he currently holds a professorship for photography and digital media at the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA). His DAAD scholarship took him back to Germany for a three-month stay at the School of Art and Design in Kassel.

The days in which his studio only measured twelve square metres are long gone, as are the exhausting attempts to sell his pictures and avoid the censors. Miao has long been recognised by the international art scene and is represented at biennales around the world. His work is also regularly presented in Germany, whenever the focus falls on Chinese contemporary art. His studio is now a hall of 300 square metres. He is an artist who enjoys a lot of freedom in China. However, his work is still quiet and philosophical rather than loud, colourful, and provocative. It is characterised by a sensitivity for cultural nuances that knows how to use the artistic luxury of aesthetic freedom.

For a while Miao had his alter ego reappear in each and every picture in the form of the classical Confucian scholar. He came across the idea of a fibreglass double while he was in Kassel. The black and white photography As a Guest of a German Family (1999) shows him seated at a table amongst a group of Germans. In his photo series Last Judgement in Cyberspace Miao explores the work of the same name in the Sistine Chapel using digital colour technology, but nevertheless continues to perform a cultural balancing act. "I've never seen the original fresco by Michelangelo," he said in an interview with the online magazine artnet. "However, since the 1970s, illustrated books with the most important international works of art, including Michelangelo's sculptures and paintings, have been circulating in China."

What fascinated him particularly about the fresco, apart from the 390 perfectly portrayed figures, is the antithesis between Christ's omnipotence and man's impotence when facing the Last Judgement. "What do the figures on the murals see at this moment?" Miao asked. "I didn't look at the question from a metaphysical perspective, but rather from a technological one," he explained.

Prof. Miao Xiaochun

China

Künstler

DAAD-Stipendium 2002

Prof. Miao Xiaochun DAAD


Gegenwart und Vergangenheit, Tradition und Moderne, Asien und Europa, das sind die Dimensionen, die der Pekinger Künstler Miao Xiaochun in seinen Fotoarbeiten miteinander verknüpft. Sein künstlerischer Lebenslauf gibt diese Themen vor. Geboren wurde Miao Xiaochun 1964 in der chinesischen Stadt Wuxi (Provinz Jiangsu), die wegen ihrer schnellen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung auch „Klein-Shanghai“ genannt wird. Von dort zog Miao 1982 nach Nanjing, um dort zu studieren, vier Jahre später wechselte Miao an die Central Academy of Fine Arts in Peking und schloss dort sein Studium 1989 ab.

Wer bin ich? Wohin gehe ich? Wer richtet mich?
Miao Xiaochun

1995 kam er erstmals nach Europa und Deutschland. Nach fünf Jahren kehrte er 1999 wieder zurück nach Peking, wo er heute als Professor Fotografie und Digitale Medien an der Zentralen Hochschule für Bildende Kunst (CAFA) lehrt. Ein DAAD-Stipendium brachte ihn 2002 nochmals für ein Dreimonatsprojekt nach Deutschland, an die Kunsthochschule in Kassel.

Das einst nur zwölf Quadratmeter große Atelier gehört der Vergangenheit an, ebenso der mühselige Verkauf seiner Bilder und das Umgehen der Zensur. Längst ist Miao weltweit auf den Biennalen vertreten und immer wieder auch in Deutschland, wann immer es um chinesische Gegenwartskunst geht. Seine Arbeiten entstehen mittlerweile in einem 300 Quadratmeter großen Werkraum. Er ist ein Künstler, der in China alle Freiheiten genießt. Seine Arbeiten sind jedoch wie von Beginn an nicht laut, bunt und provokativ, sondern still und philosophisch. Sie sind geprägt von einem Feingefühl für kulturelle Nuancen, das den künstlerischen Luxus des ästhetischen Freiraums voll zu nutzen weiß.

Eine Zeit lang ließ Miao sein Alter Ego in Gestalt eines klassischen konfuzianischen Gelehrten auf jedem seiner Fotos wiederkehren. Die Idee für seinen Doppelgänger aus Fiberglas kam ihm in Kassel. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie „As a Guest of a German Family“ (1999) zeigt ihn im Kreise einer deutschen Tischgesellschaft. In seiner Fotoserie „Last Judgement in Cyberspace“ hat sich Miao – mittels farbiger Digitaltechnik – auf die Spuren des „Jüngsten Gerichts“ in der Sixtinischen Kapelle begeben, aber weiterhin dem kulturellen Spagat gestellt. „Michelangelos Fresko habe ich nie im Original gesehen“, berichtete Miao in einem Interview mit dem Online-Magazin „artnet“. „Aber seit dem Ende der 1970er-Jahre kursieren in China Bildbände mit den wichtigsten Werken der internationalen Kunst. Dazu gehören Michelangelos Skulpturen und seine Malerei.“

Besonders fasziniert hat ihn an dem Fresko neben den 390 perfekt dargestellten Figuren das Gegensätzliche der Allmacht Christi und der Ohnmacht des Menschen angesichts des Jüngsten Gerichts. „Was sehen die Gestalten des Wandbilds in dem Augenblick?“, fragte Miao. „Ich suchte nicht in der Metaphysik nach Antwort, sondern in der Technik“, erklärt der Künstler.

Stand: 2015-09-29