Dr. Michael Jansen

Germany

Lawyer, diplomat, former Head of the Office of the Federal President

DAAD Scholarship 1968–1969

Dr. Michael Jansen DAAD


Michael Jansen was No. 2 in the Office of the Federal President – second only to the Federal President himself – from 1 July 2004 to 1 March 2006. On reaching the age limit of 65, Jansen retired from this office. He was the state secretary for Germany's Federal President Horst Köhler (CDU) and was in charge of his office – and not only that. Although Jansen is a signed-up member of the CDU, his position meant that he was also be allowed to sit in on the strictly confidential cabinet meetings of the SPD-Green and later CDU/CSU-SPD coalition governments.

I've learnt to reach consensus through a cooperative approach.
Michael Jansen

Born in 1941, the former top civil servant has plenty of political experience. Jansen was born in Athens as the son of a German diplomat, read law in Bonn, Cologne and Washington, and, as a DAAD Scholarship holder, studied administration at the prestigious École Nationale d'Administration (ENA) in Paris. As a member of Federal Foreign Office staff, he gained his first career experience in Spain, Brussels and Venezuela. He wrote speeches for Federal President Carl Carstens, who was in office from 1979 to 1984, and in the 1980s climbed the career ladder at the Federal Foreign Office under Foreign Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher to become head of the Ministerial Office and director of the Executive Management Unit. In 1989 he successfully negotiated with the Hungarian government on the opening of the border for thousands of East Germans.

1990 saw Jansen move to the Executive Board of Degussa as a general representative for the company with full power of attorney. While there, he opened the company archives to a team of historians so that they could study the firm's history during the Nazi era and break the silence on its "brown" past. During the Hitler regime, Degussa processed the dental gold of extermination camp inmates who had been murdered. In 1991, when Iraqi rockets rained on Israel, Jansen spontaneously visited the Jewish country as a sign of solidarity.

In September 2000, the lawyer became chairman of the Board of Directors of the Remembrance, Responsibility and Future Foundation, which was responsible for paying financial compensation to former forced labourers under the Nazis. Until the middle of 2006, almost all of the available 4.32 billion euros was paid out for over 1.66 million former forced labourers. A great deal of tact and sensitivity is required in this work, which Jansen has continued in high-ranking positions – for example, as interim chairman of the Board of Trustees in 2015. When he was once asked about how he dealt with conflicts, he replied that he had learnt how to reach consensus through a cooperative approach.

Dr. Michael Jansen

Deutschland

Jurist, Diplomat, ehemaliger Chef des Bundespräsidialamts

DAAD-Stipendium 1968–1969

Dr. Michael Jansen DAAD


Der zweite Mann im Bundespräsidialamt – gleich hinter dem Bundespräsidenten – war vom 1. Juli 2004 bis zum 1. März 2006 Michael Jansen. Mit dem Erreichen der Altersgrenze von 65 Jahren ist er aus diesem Amt ausgeschieden. Er war Staatssekretär des damals amtierenden Bundespräsidenten Horst Köhler (CDU) und leitete dessen Büro − und nicht nur das. Obwohl Jansen das CDU-Parteibuch hat, durfte er, dank seiner Position, auch an den streng vertraulichen Kabinettsitzungen der rot-grünen und dann schwarz-roten Regierung teilnehmen.

Ich habe gelernt, auf kooperative Weise Konsens herzustellen.
Michael Jansen

Der 1941 geborene Spitzenbeamte im Ruhestand hat hinreichend Politikerfahrung. Jansen wurde als Sohn eines deutschen Diplomaten in Athen geboren, studierte Jura in Bonn, Köln und Washington und absolvierte als DAAD-Stipendiat ein Studium der Verwaltungswissenschaften an der Pariser Elitehochschule ENA (Ecole Nationale d'Administration). Als Mitarbeiter des Auswärtigen Amts sammelte er erste Berufserfahrungen in Spanien, Brüssel und Venezuela. Er schrieb Reden für Bundespräsident Carl Carstens, der von 1979 bis 1984 amtierte, und stieg in den Achtzigerjahren im Auswärtigen Amt unter Außenminister Hans-Dietrich Genscher (FDP) auf der Karriereleiter bis zum Leiter des Ministerbüros auf. 1989 handelte er mit der ungarischen Regierung die Grenzöffnung für Tausende von DDR-Bürgern aus.

1990 wechselte Jansen als Generalbevollmächtigter in die Vorstandsetage der Firma Degussa. Dort veranlasste er, dass ein Historikerteam Zugang zu den Firmenarchiven erhielt, um sich mit der Geschichte des Konzerns während der Nazizeit zu befassen und das Schweigen über die „braune“ Vergangenheit der Firma zu brechen. Degussa hatte in der Hitler-Zeit das Zahngold ermordeter KZ-Häftlinge verarbeitet. Als 1991 irakische Raketen über Israel niedergingen, machte Jansen spontan einen Solidaritätsbesuch in dem jüdischen Land.

Im September 2000 wechselte der Jurist an die Spitze der Stiftung „Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft“, die für die Zahlung finanzieller Entschädigungen an ehemalige Zwangsarbeiter der Nazis zuständig ist. Bis Mitte 2006 wurde fast der gesamte zur Verfügung stehende Betrag in Höhe von 4,32 Milliarden Euro für mehr als 1,66 Millionen ehemalige Zwangsarbeiter abgerufen. Für diese Tätigkeit – der er nach wie vor in hohen Positionen treu ist, 2015 als Interims-Vorstandsvorsitzenden des Kuratoriums – braucht Jansen viel Fingerspitzengefühl. Auf die Frage nach seinem Umgang mit Konflikten hat er einmal geantwortet, er habe gelernt, auf kooperative Weise Konsens herzustellen.

Stand: 2015-10-05