Matthew G. Boyse

United States of America

Politician, diplomat, US Consul General in Düsseldorf

DAAD Scholarship 1985

Matthew G. Boyse DAAD


Matthew Gordon Boyse came to Germany for three months on a DAAD scholarship in 1985. At the research institute run by the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) in Ebenhausen near Munich, he did research on and wrote about the reforms in the USSR. “During my stay, I was able to further improve my German and acquaint myself with the state of research at Germany’s institutes and universities,” says Boyse looking back.

The experience that I gained at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs of the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) proved to be very useful for my work at the U.S. State Department.
Matthew G. Boyse

But he did not become a scientist – instead he was drawn to practical politics. “Diplomacy and research are both interesting in their own particular way, but the ‘real world’ dimension in the foreign service is indeed closer to my interests,” says Matthew G. Boyse. He got to know what “real life” is all about on all kinds of postings: he was Chief of Staff at the U.S. State Department and a member of the U.S. Embassy staff in New Delhi during the conflict with Pakistan in 2003. At the American Embassy in Berlin, he dealt with questions of economic development in the former East Germany. In Warsaw, he was responsible for maintaining contacts with the Solidarnosc (Solidarity) trade union and with the political parties that emerged from this. The diplomat also gained further experience at the U.S. Embassies in Moscow, Dhaka and London. Since August 2006, he has held the office of U.S. Consul General in Düsseldorf.

“The experience that I gained during my scholarship proved to be very useful for my work at the U.S. State Department, especially since I have been assigned to Germany for the second time now,” says Matthew Boyse. In his capacity as Consul General, he deals with a broad range of issues that relate to the Federal State of North-Rhine Westphalia and the United States. For example, the consulate supports American companies that do trade with Germany or that have invested here. German companies that would like to invest in the U.S. can also turn to his department. “Over and above this, we are engaging actively in our ‘dialogue with German society’ through a large number of information and cultural events,” says the diplomat. In particular, he wants to promote dialogue on politics, business and culture between Americans and Germans and so familiarise Germans with the lesser-known aspects of U.S. foreign and economic policy.

Matthew Gordon Boyse grew up in a suburb of Detroit/Michigan. He graduated from Haverford College in Pennsylvania with a bachelor’s degree in Latin and Greek Philology and from Columbia University in New York with a master’s degree in Soviet and East European Studies. Boyse also studied at Middlebury College in the U.S. state of Vermont and at Yale in Connecticut.

Matthew G. Boyse

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Politiker, Diplomat, US-Generalkonsul in Düsseldorf

DAAD-Stipendium 1985

Matthew G. Boyse DAAD


1985 kam Matthew Gordon Boyse mit einem DAAD-Stipendium für drei Monate nach Deutschland. Am Forschungsinstitut der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik in Ebenhausen bei München recherchierte und schrieb er über die Reformen in der UdSSR. „Ich konnte mein Deutsch während des Aufenthalts weiter verbessern und mich mit dem Stand der Forschung an deutschen Instituten und Universitäten vertraut machen“, blickt Boyse zurück.

Für meine Tätigkeit im Auswärtigen Dienst der USA hat sich die Erfahrung, die ich als DAAD-Stipendiat bei der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik sammeln konnte, als sehr hilfreich erwiesen.
Matthew G. Boyse

Wissenschaftler ist er jedoch nicht geworden, ihn zog es zur praktischen Politik. „Diplomatie und Forschung sind beide auf ihre Weise interessant, aber die ‚real world’-Dimension des Auswärtigen Dienstes steht meinen Interessen doch näher“, sagt Matthew G. Boyse. Das „wahre Leben“ lernte er auf den verschiedensten Positionen kennen: Er war Stabschef im US-Außenministerium und Angehöriger der amerikanischen Botschaft in Neu Delhi während des Konfliktes mit Pakistan 2003. An der Botschaft in Berlin hat er sich mit Fragen der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der ehemaligen DDR beschäftigt. In Warschau war er für die Kontaktpflege zur Solidarnosc-Gewerkschaft und den daraus gewachsenen politischen Parteien verantwortlich. Auch an den US-Botschaften in Moskau, Dhaka und London hat der Diplomat Erfahrungen gesammelt. Seit August 2006 bekleidet er nun das Amt des US-Generalkonsuls in Düsseldorf.

„Für meine Tätigkeit im Auswärtigen Dienst der USA hat sich die Stipendienzeit als sehr hilfreich erwiesen, zumal ich mittlerweile zum zweiten Mal in Deutschland eingesetzt werde“, sagt Matthew Boyse. Als Generalkonsul ist er mit einem breiten Spektrum an Themen befasst, die das Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen und die Vereinigten Staaten betreffen. Das Konsulat unterstützt beispielsweise amerikanische Firmen, die mit Deutschland Handel treiben oder hier investiert haben. Auch deutsche Firmen, die in den USA investieren möchten, können sich an die Einrichtung wenden. „Darüber hinaus führen wir unseren ‚Dialog mit der deutschen Gesellschaft’ mittels einer großen Anzahl von Informations- und Kulturveranstaltungen“, sagt der Diplomat. Er will insbesondere den Dialog über Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur zwischen Amerikanern und Deutschen fördern sowie die in Deutschland weniger bekannten Aspekte amerikanischer Außen- und Wirtschaftspolitik vermitteln.

Matthew Gordon Boyse ist in einem Vorort von Detroit/Michigan aufgewachsen. Am Haverford College in Pennsylvania machte er seinen Bachelor-Abschluss in Lateinischer und Griechischer Philologie, an der New Yorker Columbia University einen Master in sowjetischen und osteuropäischen Studien. Boyse studierte außerdem am Middlebury College im US-Staat Vermont und an der Yale University in Connecticut.

Stand: 2015-02-11