Prof. Dr. Mario J. Molina

Mexico

Chemical Scientist, Nobel prize for Chemistry 1995, Professor of Chemistry at the University of California in San Diego and the Center of Atmospheric Sciences at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

DAAD Scholarship 1965–1966

Prof. Dr. Mario J. Molina by http://science.in2pic.com [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Even as a child, Mario Molina was fascinated by chemistry, so he transformed the bathroom into a lab. Born in Mexico City in 1943, he was sent to a Swiss school at the age of 11 to learn German. That is when he decided to become a chemical scientist. This marked the beginning of an outstanding career. It was as early as 1973 that he discovered the threat which air pollutants, like CFCs, pose for the sensitive ozone layer. 22 years later, he, along with Sherwood Rowland and Paul Crutzen, won the Nobel prize in Chemistry for this work.

I wanted to do research that is useful for society.
Mario J. Molina

Just a year after making their discovery, Molina and Rowland, assisted by the media, brought the problem to the public’s attention and initially drew fierce criticism from industry. However, by 1985 at the latest, as the first ozone hole became visible over the Antarctic, the research chemists’ work had to be acknowledged. The production of CFCs was banned. “A remarkable aspect of my work was the good cooperation with an outstanding group of physicists.”

After studying chemistry in his home town of Mexico City, he went to study at the University of Freiburg on a DAAD Scholarship. In order to put his knowledge on a broader foundation and to open up new areas of research in the field of physical chemistry, he endeavoured to gain admission to a graduate programme in the United States. He finally succeeded in 1968 with admission to the University of California, Berkeley. There, he noted the pioneering spirit and benefited from an intellectually stimulating climate. “My years at Berkeley count among the best in my life.” It was there that he met his close co-worker and later wife Luisa Tan. Shortly afterwards, he moved to the University of Irvine in California. He and Sherwood Rowland jointly developed the decisive theory on ozone. Mario Molina left the university in 1982 because the time-intensive teaching schedule allowed him too little time for his research.

Seven years later, he returned to academic life, teaching and researching at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Since 2004 Molina has been working in the departments of chemistry and biochemistry at the UCSD (University of California, San Diego) and the Center for Atmospheric Sciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. He currently commutes between San Diego and his birthplace Mexico City, where he has founded a Center for Energy and the Environment. At the Mario Molina Center, researchers are looking for practical solutions to energy and environmental problems. One aim is to improve the quality of the air in the city; another is to throw light on climate change.

Prof. Dr. Mario J. Molina

Mexiko

Chemiker, Nobelpreis für Chemie 1995, Professor der Chemie an der University of California in San Diego und am Center of Atmospheric Sciences at Scripps Institution of Oceanography

DAAD-Stipendium 1965–1966

Prof. Dr. Mario J. Molina by http://science.in2pic.com [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Schon als Kind faszinierte Mario Molina die Chemie, und er gestaltete das Badezimmer zum Laboratorium um. Geboren 1943 in Mexico City, wurde er mit 11 Jahren auf eine Schweizer Schule geschickt um Deutsch zu lernen. Damals entschied er sich, Chemiker zu werden. Dies war der Anfang einer herausragenden Karriere. Schon 1973 entdeckte er die Bedrohung der empfindlichen Ozonschicht durch Luftverunreinigungen wie FCKW-Gase. Hierfür erhielt er 22 Jahre später gemeinsam mit Sherwood Rowland und Paul Crutzen den Nobelpreis in Chemie.

Ich wollte mich mit Forschung beschäftigen, die nützlich für die Gesellschaft ist.
Mario J. Molina

Bereits ein Jahr nach ihrer Entdeckung machten Molina und Rowland mit Hilfe der Medien die Öffentlichkeit auf dieses Problem aufmerksam und ernteten anfangs heftige Kritik von Seiten der Industrie. Doch spätestens 1985, als das erste Ozonloch über der Antarktis sichtbar wurde, musste den Chemikern Recht gegeben werden. Die Produktion von FCKW wurde verboten. „Ein beachtenswerter Aspekt meiner Arbeit war die gute Zusammenarbeit mit einer hervorragenden Gruppe von Physikern.“

Nach dem Chemiestudium in seiner Heimatstadt Mexico City ging Mario Molina mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an die Universität Freiburg. Um seinem Wissen eine breitere Basis zu geben und neue Forschungsbereiche in der physikalischen Chemie zu erobern, strebte er die Zulassung zu einem Graduiertenprogramm in den USA an. Dies gelang ihm schließlich 1968 mit der Aufnahme an die University of California, Berkeley. Dort traf er auf ein Klima des Aufbruchs und profitierte von einer intellektuell anregenden Umgebung. „Meine Jahre in Berkeley zählen zu den besten in meinem Leben.“ Dort lernte er seine enge Mitarbeiterin und spätere Frau Luisa Tan kennen. Bald darauf wechselte er an die University of Irvine in Kalifornien. Gemeinsam mit Sherwood Rowland entwickelte er die entscheidende Theorie zum Ozon. Weil er durch die zeitaufwändige Lehre nicht genügend Zeit für seine Forschungen hatte, verließ Mario Molina 1982 die Universität.

Sieben Jahre später kehrte er zum akademischen Leben zurück, lehrte und forschte am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Seit 2004 arbeitet Molina mit am Fachbereich Chemie und Biochemie an der UCSD (University of California, San Diego) und dem dortigen Center for Atmospheric Sciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Derzeit pendelt er zwischen San Diego und seiner Geburtsstadt Mexico City, in der er ein Zentrum für Energie und Umweltstrategien gegründet hat. Am „Mario Molina Zentrum“ werden praktische Lösungen für Energie- und Umweltfragen gesucht. Ein Ziel ist etwa, die Luftqualität der Metropole zu verbessern, ein anderes, über den Klimawandel aufzuklären.

Stand: 2015-09-08