Margaret Atwood

Canada

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1984

Margaret Atwood DAAD


Margaret Atwood is one of the world's best-known feminist authors and a figurehead of Canadian literature. Her work is shaped by the social role of women, as well as discussion and debate on climate change and environmental destruction.

Telling stories is a skill that contributed to the survival of thousands of generations even before the beginning of our historiography.
Margaret Atwood

Born in 1939, the author achieved her first major international success with her novel The Handmaid's Tale (1985), which was filmed by Volker Schlöndorff under the German title Die Geschichte der Dienerin and presented at the 1990 Berlinale. She has since published more than 50 books – volumes of poetry, short stories, essays, novels and children's books – in over 20 languages. Her works have landed among the bestsellers in Germany as well. In 2015, Atwood was the first author to contribute a book manuscript to the Future Library art project. The work – entitled Scribble Moon – will be kept in Oslo and will not be published until 2114.

In 1984, she went to the still divided city as a Guest of the DAAD's Artists-in-Berlin Programme' for a year. That's where she wrote the beginning of The Handmaid's Tale. Since then, she has been closely attached to Germany. The City of Dortmund awarded her the Nelly Sachs Prize for her oeuvre in spring 2010.

The daughter of an entomologist, Atwood grew up in the Canadian prairie. This meant the family had to spend several months a year without any electricity or running water. The time there shaped the author and her childhood experiences found their way into several of her works – for example, an apocalyptic trilogy, the final volume of which appeared in 2014 under the title Maddaddam.

After reading English and literature at Toronto and Harvard, she taught literary studies at various universities in Canada and the United States. Parallel to this, she published her first books. In an interview with the newspaper Der Westen in 2010, Margaret Atwood said: "Telling stories is a skill that contributed to the survival of thousands of generations even before the beginning of our historiography."

Margaret Atwood’s main concern today is with the environment and nature. "I become absolutely politically active when environmental concerns are at stake – something that is close to the heart of a typical Canadian, so to speak," said Margaret Atwood in an interview with the Wiener Zeitung. Just how seriously she takes the issue, she explained in an interview with the newspaper taz in 2014: “In reality, Earth has a chance if humanity changes its ways. If not, the chances are very slim. That’s not something I’m making up.”

Margaret Atwood has received several honorary doctorates as well as a number of prestigious national and international awards, including the foremost literary prizes conferred by Canada and the United Kingdom – the Governor General's Award and the Booker Prize – as well as Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award.

Margaret Atwood

Kanada

Schriftstellerin

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1984

Margaret Atwood DAAD


Margaret Atwood zählt zu den bekanntesten feministischen Autorinnen und ist eine Galionsfigur der kanadischen Literatur. Ihr Werk ist geprägt von der gesellschaftlichen Rolle der Frau, aber auch von der Auseinandersetzung mit Klimawandel und Umweltzerstörung.

Das Erzählen ist eine Fähigkeit, die zum Überleben Tausender von Generationen noch vor Beginn unserer Geschichtsschreibung beigetragen hat.
Margaret Atwood

Den ersten großen internationalen Erfolg erzielte die 1939 geborene Schriftstellerin mit dem Roman „Report der Magd“ (1985), den Volker Schlöndorff unter dem Titel „Die Geschichte der Dienerin“ verfilmte und 1990 auf der Berlinale präsentierte. Mittlerweile sind mehr als 50 Bücher – Gedichtbände, Kurzgeschichten, Essays, Romane und Kinderbücher – in über 20 Sprachen erschienen. Auch in Deutschland landeten ihre Werke immer wieder auf der Bestsellerliste. 2015 übergab Atwood als erste Autorin ein Buchmanuskript mit dem Titel „Scribble Moon“ an das Kunstprojekt „Future Library“ – es wurde in Oslo aufbewahrt und erst im Jahr 2014 gedruckt.

1984 ging sie als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD für ein Jahr in die damals noch geteilte Stadt. Dort schrieb sie den Anfang vom „Report der Magd“. Seitdem ist sie Deutschland verbunden. Im Frühjahr 2010 verlieh ihr die Stadt Dortmund für ihr Gesamtwerk den Nelly-Sachs-Preis.

Die Tochter eines Insektenforschers wuchs in der Wildnis Kanadas auf. Dabei musste die Familie einige Monate im Jahr ohne Elektrizität und fließend Wasser auskommen. Diese Zeit prägte die Schriftstellerin, ihre Erfahrungen aus der Kindheit flossen in einige Werke wie etwa eine Endzeittrilogie ein, deren letzter Band „Die Geschichte von Zeb“ 2014 erschien.

Nach dem Studium der englischen Sprache und Literatur in Toronto und Harvard lehrte sie als Literaturwissenschaftlerin an verschiedenen Universitäten in Kanada und den USA. Parallel veröffentlichte sie ihre ersten Bücher. In einem Interview mit der Zeitung „Der Westen“ sagte Margret Atwood 2010: „Das Erzählen ist eine Fähigkeit, die zum Überleben Tausender von Generationen noch vor Beginn unserer Geschichtsschreibung beigetragen hat.“

Meist geht es Margaret Atwood dabei heute um Umwelt und Natur. „Ausdrücklich politisch tätig werde ich, wenn es um Umweltbelange geht – die Herzenssache einer typischen Kanadierin, sozusagen“, sagte Margaret Atwood gegenüber der Wiener Zeitung. Wie ernst ihr das Thema ist, äußerte sie in einem Interview mit der taz 2014: „In der Realität hat die Erde eine Chance, wenn die Menschheit ihre Lebensgewohnheiten ändert. Wenn nicht, sind die Chancen sehr gering. Das ist nichts, was ich erfinde.“

Margaret Atwood erhielt mehrere Ehrendoktortitel sowie diverse renommierte nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen - unter anderem die wichtigsten Literaturpreise Kanadas und Großbritanniens, den Governor General’s Award und den Booker Prize, sowie den spanischen Prinz-von-Asturien-Preis.

Stand: 2015-09-14