Dr. Marek Prawda

Poland

Diplomat, Ambassador of the Republic of Poland to the European Union

DAAD Scholarship 1987–1989

Dr. Marek Prawda DAAD


Four encounters with Germany have had a profound influence on the life and career of Marek Prawda, diplomat, social scientist and distinguished expert on Germany. Born in 1956 in Kielce, Poland, Prawda studied at Leipzig University from 1975 to 1979. He suffered under the narrow-mindedness imposed by the Socialist political system and established contacts with figures in dissident circles. Some of these contacts are still active today. In 1987, after receiving his doctorate in sociology, Prawda went from Warsaw to the University of Hamburg on a DAAD scholarship. There he told his German fellow students about the Polish reform movement before returning to Warsaw to become active in the trade union movement Solidarność. In the Polish capital, Prawda served on the Committee for Self-Government, making his contribution to the country’s political turnaround.

Germany and Poland – I call that a mature partnership, initially as a goal to aim for.
Marek Prawda

By 1992, Prawda had attained distinction as an expert on Germany, both as a scholar and as Secretary General of the steering committee of the Polish-German Society. The young Republic of Poland sent him to Bonn as a diplomat. His third sojourn in Germany lasted six years. First in Bonn, then in Warsaw and Stockholm, Marek Prawda climbed the career ladder of the Polish diplomatic service. In addition to German, Prawda has also mastered English, French, Swedish and Russian. He returned to Germany in September 2006 as Poland’s Ambassador in Berlin, a post he held until 2012. He combined a love of his native country, which he fought to democratise, with a deep understanding and tangible affection for his host country Germany.

Prawda regards the political irritations that have cropped up between the two countries over the past few years as a part of normal relations. “We’re learning to have differences of opinion. And I call that a mature partnership, initially as a goal to aim for.”

Prawda says he enjoyed living in the “Bonn Republic” as well as in Berlin. The German capital was exactly the right place for bringing interests together after Europe’s eastward enlargement. “We have to place our reconciliation on a solid foundation so that we can have our hands free for practical politics.”

Prawda’s efforts to bring West and East together have now taken him to Brussels. On 1 September 2012, he took up his new post as Ambassador of the Republic of Poland to the European Union.

Dr. Marek Prawda

Polen

Diplomat, Botschafter der Republik Polen bei der Europäischen Union

DAAD-Stipendium 1987–1989

Dr. Marek Prawda DAAD


Vier Begegnungen mit Deutschland haben das Leben und die Laufbahn des Karriere-Diplomaten, profilierten Deutschland-Kenners und Wissenschaftlers Marek Prawda entscheidend beeinflusst. Von 1975 bis 1979 studierte der 1956 in Kielce, Polen, geborene Sozialwissenschaftler an der Universität Leipzig. Er litt unter der Enge, die das politische System vorgab und knüpfte Kontakte zu Vertretern oppositioneller Kreise. Einige dieser Kontakte sind heute noch lebendig. 1987 kam der dann promovierte Soziologe als DAAD-Stipendiat aus Warschau an die Universität Hamburg. Dort berichtete er seinen deutschen Kommilitonen von den polnischen Reformbewegungen und kehrte als Aktivist der Gewerkschaftsbewegung Solidarnosc nach Warschau zurück. In der polnischen Hauptstadt leistete er im Ausschuss für Selbstverwaltung seinen Beitrag zur demokratischen Wende in seiner Heimat.

Deutschland und Polen – ich nenne das eine gereifte Partnerschaft, zunächst als Zielsetzung.
Marek Prawda

1992 schickte die junge Republik Polen den Deutschlandkenner Prawda, der sich als Wissenschaftler und Generalsekretär des Landesvorstandes der Polnisch-Deutschen Gesellschaft profiliert hatte, als Diplomat nach Bonn. Dieser dritte Aufenthalt währte sechs Jahre. Marek Prawda kletterte in Bonn, dann in Warschau und Stockholm die diplomatische Karriereleiter hinauf. Im September 2006 kam der sprachgewandte Pole, der Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Schwedisch und Russisch beherrscht, zurück nach Deutschland, nun als Botschafter in Berlin bis 2012. Er verband die Liebe zu seinem Land, für dessen Demokratisierung er gekämpft hatte, mit einem tiefen Verständnis und spürbarer Sympathie für sein deutsches Gastland.

Die Irritationen, die es seit einigen Jahren auf politischem Parkett zwischen beiden Ländern hin und wieder gibt, hält er für ein Stück Normalität. „Wir lernen auch, andere Meinungen zu haben. Und das nenne ich gereifte Partnerschaft, zunächst als Zielsetzung.“

In der „Bonner Republik“, so Marek Prawda, habe er gerne gelebt, ebenso in Berlin. Die deutsche Hauptstadt sei genau der richtige Ort zur Zusammenführung der Interessen im nach Osten gewachsenen Europa. „Wir müssen unsere Versöhnung auf eine solide Basis stellen, damit wir die Hände frei haben für die praktische Politik.“

Um eine Zusammenführung von West und Ost bemüht sich Prawda inzwischen in Brüssel: Am 1. September 2012 trat er sein Amt als Botschafter der Republik Polen bei der Europäischen Union an.

Stand: 2015-09-26