Prof. Dr. Makoto Ida

Japan

Legal scholar, Professor at Keio University

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1980–1982

Prof. Dr. Makoto Ida DAAD


"In Japan, showing an interest in criminal law always meant having an interest in German criminal law," recalls the lawyer Makoto Ida, remembering his time as a student. This comes from the strong influence that the German law system exercised on Japanese law during the modernisation of the Asian country towards the end of the 19th century.

Whenever it is said I have done a good job, the reason can be found in my years of study in Germany.
Makoto Ida

Born in Tokyo in 1956, Makoto Ida studied at the university at which he still works today as a professor of criminal and medical law, namely at Keio University in Tokyo. However, he also completed part of his education and training in Germany. His academic teacher, Koichi Miyazawa, a well-known criminologist, has always been fascinated by German law and by the country itself. "Each and every day, he would tell me how great and brilliant German studies in criminal law were," recounts Makoto Ida, who, as a pupil and student, had read numerous works by German philosophers in Japanese translation. "All this had contributed to him becoming a lawyer, fascinated by Germany."

After having received the Magister in Law degree at Keio University, Ida received a two-year DAAD Scholarship for the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg in October 1980. Whilst there, he preoccupied himself with the problem of sentencing decisions. "The topic had not been as theoretically engrossed in Japan as it had in Germany," says Makoto Ida. He wanted to write his doctoral thesis in this field. However, before his time as a scholarship holder began, he was drawn to his home country in 1982, because the Keio University had offered him a very good position. However, Ida nevertheless had his thesis translated into Japanese and published it. At the time, he had no idea whatsoever that the essay was later to be regarded as a pioneering work.

In Japan, Makoto Ida is meanwhile regarded by colleagues as the country’s outstanding criminal lawyer. Many of his theoretical studies count among the standard works in Japanese law. He also likes to contribute to topical political discussions on subjects like environmental protection law and commercial criminal law. As an advocate of the rule of law, he sees German criminal proceedings as more humane and therefore more advanced than in Japan. "But for my perception, Japanese legal proceedings are more efficient, precise and correct," he says. He believes you can argue about which system is best. His active exchange with Germany has brought him honorary doctorates from Saarland University and Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. In addition to other awards, he received the Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2015 for his work and his efforts to develop fresh academic talent in Germany and Japan.

Makoto Isa only talks about himself with the greatest of modesty: "I was always an average student at school and university, and believe that I am disproportionately esteemed. Whenever it is said I have done a good job, the reason can be found in my years of study in Germany."

Prof. Dr. Makoto Ida

Japan

Rechtswissenschaftler, Professor an der Keiō-Universität

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1980–1982

Prof. Dr. Makoto Ida DAAD


„Sich für das Strafrecht zu interessieren, hieß in Japan immer auch, sich für das deutsche Strafrecht zu interessieren“, erinnert sich der Jurist Makoto Ida an seine Studienzeit. Das liegt an dem starken Einfluss, den das deutsche Rechtssystem auf die japanische Rechtswissenschaft während der Modernisierung des asiatischen Landes Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts ausübte.

Wenn ich ein gutes Werk vollbracht haben soll, dann liegt das an den Lehrjahren in Deutschland.
Makoto Ida

Studiert hat der 1956 in Tokio geborene Makoto Ida an der Universität, an der er heute als Professor für Straf- und Medizinrecht tätig ist: an der Keio Universität in Tokio. Einen Teil seiner Ausbildung absolvierte er aber auch in Deutschland. Sein akademischer Lehrer Koichi Miyazawa, ein bekannter Kriminologe, war schon immer vom deutschen Recht und vom Land begeistert. „Er hat mir tagtäglich erzählt, wie großartig und überragend die deutsche Strafrechtswissenschaft ist,“ erzählt Makoto Ida, der als Schüler und Student zahlreiche Werke deutscher Philosophen in japanischer Übersetzung gelesen hat.“ Das alles habe dazu beigetragen, dass er ein „von Deutschland begeisterter Jurist“ geworden sei.

Nachdem er den Magister des Rechts an der Keio Universität erworben hatte, erhielt Ida im Oktober 1980 ein zweijähriges DAAD-Stipendium für die Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Dort befasster er sich mit der Problematik der Strafzumessung. „Das Thema war in Japan nicht so theoretisch vertieft wie in Deutschland,“ sagt Makoto Ida. Er wollte in diesen Bereich eine Doktorarbeit schreiben. Doch noch vor dem Ablauf seiner Stipendienzeit zog es ihn 1982 in die Heimat, die Keio Universität hatte ihm eine sehr gute Position angeboten. Seine Arbeit ließ Ida dennoch ins Japanische übersetzen und veröffentlichte sie. Er ahnte damals nicht, dass der Aufsatz später als Pionier-Arbeit gelten sollte.

In Japan gilt Makoto Ida in Fachkreisen inzwischen als der herausragende Strafrechtler des Landes. Viele seiner theoretischen Untersuchungen zählen zu den Standards der japanischen Rechtswissenschaft. Er beteiligt sich aber auch gerne an aktuellen politischen Diskussionen wie im Umweltschutzrecht und Wirtschaftsstrafrecht. Das Strafverfahren in Deutschland empfindet er als rechtsstaatlicher, menschenwürdiger und damit fortschrittlicher als das in Japan. „Aber für mein Empfinden ist das japanische Strafverfahren effizienter, genauer und korrekter,“ sagt er. Über die Frage, welches besser sei, könne man streiten. Sein aktiver Austausch mit Deutschland brachte ihm die Ehrendoktorwürden der Universität des Saarlandes und der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg ein. Außerdem erhielt er neben anderen Preisen für seine Leistungen und sein Engagement für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs in Deutschland und Japan 2015 das Verdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Über sich selbst spricht Makoto Ida mit großer Bescheidenheit: „Ich bin in der Schule und an der Uni immer mittelmäßig gewesen und glaube, dass ich unverhältnismäßig angesehen bin. Wenn ich aber ein gutes Werk vollbracht haben soll, dann liegt das an den Lehrjahren in Deutschland.“

Stand: 2015-09-29