Maciej Popowski

Poland

Diplomat, Deputy Secretary General for Inter-institutional Affairs of the European External Action Service

DAAD Scholarship 1989–1990

Maciej  Popowski Jock Fistick


The German language accompanied Maciej Popowski from his childhood. He was born and raised in Poland and first came into contact with German vocabulary at the market square in Wrocław (Breslau) where a poster from the 1930s still hung. "I think it was an advert for Persil," says Popowski, and recalls another façade where "LSR" (short for Luftschutzraum, air-raid shelter) was written on one of the walls – 20 years after the war. This did not only spark his interest in history: at school he decided to take German as a second foreign language after the compulsory Russian.

I was fortunate enough to belong to the generation that was too young to be seriously confronted with the communist regime, and old enough to be able to make an unencumbered contribution after the end of the regime.
Maciej Popowski

In the 1980s Popowski began his studies of German and Dutch literature at the University of Wrocław. A month before the fall of the Berlin Wall, a DAAD scholarship gave the then 24-year-old academic an opportunity to get to know the country and people of Germany in addition to its language and literature. From October 1989 until February 1990 he worked as an assistant at the University of Siegen, which had just been rated Germany’s best university by the news magazine Der Spiegel. On his way there he had travelled through the old East Germany, and on his way back he saw a country in the midst of a democratic awakening. Formative times. During his training as a diplomat, Popowski returned to Germany – to the Federal Foreign Office’s training centre in Bonn.

Shortly afterwards Popowski moved to the Permanent Representation of the Republic of Poland to the EU in Brussels and in 2008 became a Director in the Directorate-General Development of the European Commission. A year later he was appointed to the post of Head of Cabinet by Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament. Since 2010 he has been Deputy Secretary General for Inter-institutional Affairs of the new European External Action Service. Building up something new is something he has learned since the collapse of Communism. And bringing together people, mentalities and countries is also something he was taught by his exchange experience with the DAAD. In 2015 the skilled EU diplomat led the negotiations with Switzerland in a dispute about new immigration rules.

Maciej Popowski

Polen

Diplomat, Stellvertretender Generalsekretär des Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienstes

DAAD-Stipendium 1989–1990

Maciej  Popowski Jock Fistick


Die deutsche Sprache hat ihn von Kindertagen an begleitet: Maciej Popowski, in Polen geboren und aufgewachsen, kam zuerst am Marktplatz von Wrocław (Breslau) mit deutschem Vokabular in Kontakt. Dort hing ein Werbeplakat aus den dreißiger Jahren. „Für Persil, glaube ich“, sagt Popowski und erinnert sich an eine weitere Fassade: „LSR“ für Luftschutzraum stand, 20 Jahre nach dem Krieg, auf einer der Wände geschrieben. Das weckte nicht nur sein Interesse für Geschichte: In der Schule belegte er nach dem Pflichtfach Russisch das Wahlfach Deutsch.

Ich hatte das Glück, zu der Generation zu gehören, die zu jung war, um ernsthaft mit dem kommunistischen Regime konfrontiert zu werden, und alt genug, um sich nach dem Ende des Regimes unbelastet einbringen zu können.
Maciej Popowski

In den 1980er-Jahren begann Popowski sein Studium der deutschen und niederländischen Literatur an der Universität Wroclaw. Einen Monat vor dem Fall der Mauer konnte der damals 24 Jahre alte Wissenschaftler mithilfe eines DAAD-Stipendiums neben der deutschen Sprache und Literatur auch Land und Leute kennenlernen. Von Oktober 1989 bis Februar 1990 arbeitete er als Assistent an der Universität Siegen, die gerade vom Nachrichtenmagazin „Der Spiegel“ zur besten Universität Deutschlands gekürt worden war. Auf der Hinfahrt war er noch durch die alte DDR gereist, zurück ging es durch ein Land im demokratischen Aufbruch. Prägende Zeiten. Später kam Popowski während seiner Ausbildung zum Diplomaten wieder nach Deutschland – an die Aus- und Fortbildungsstätte des Auswärtigen Amtes in Bonn.

Kurze Zeit darauf wechselte Popowski in die polnische EU-Vertretung nach Brüssel und wurde im Jahr 2008 Direktor in der Generaldirektion Entwicklung in der Europäischen Kommission. Ein Jahr später berief ihn der damalige Präsident des Europaparlaments Jerzy Buzek zum Kabinettschef. Seit 2010 ist er Stellvertretender Generalsekretär des neuen Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienstes. Etwas Neues aufzubauen, das hat er nach der Wende gelernt. Menschen, Mentalitäten, Staaten zusammenzubringen, hat ihn auch der Austausch mit dem DAAD gelehrt. 2015 leitete der geschickte EU-Diplomat die Verhandlungen mit der Schweiz im Streit um die neuen Zuwanderungsregelungen.

Stand: 2015-09-17