Luca Lombardi

Italy

Composer

DAAD Scholarship 1968–1972, Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1998–1999

Luca Lombardi Leo Contini


It was in Cologne that my life actually started to take shape, as a composer and as a person. My artistic interests became more precise, and I entered a new stage in life.
Luca Lombardi

Luca Lombardi’s ties with Germany started in his childhood. His father, an eminent philosopher, and his Jewish mother both believed in German culture and a new Europe. All four children were therefore sent to the German School in Rome, where the young Luca not only gained his Abitur school-leaving certificate but also performed his first compositions for his classmates. Born in Rome in 1945, he has since published around 150 compositions, many of which are played in opera houses and concert halls all over Europe, America, and Japan. Two of his three operas received world premieres in Germany, including, most recently, Prospero, performed in Nuremburg in 2006. After studying in Vienna and Rome, Luca Lombardi went to Cologne in 1968, where he spent nearly four years and experienced first-hand how the so-called Neue Musik (atonality) began to unfold. “Thanks to the DAAD Scholarship, I was truly independent for the first time in my life. I can say that it was in Cologne that my life actually started to take shape, as a composer and as a person. My artistic interests became more precise, and I entered a new stage in life.”

Classes with composers such as Karlheinz Stockhausen, Bernd-Alois Zimmermann, Vinko Globokar and the founder of the first studio of electronic music, Herbert Eimert, inspired Luca, but also made him aware that “you have to find your own path, something no teacher can help you with. And you have to be brave to be able to swim against the tide.” Luca Lombardi was and still is a courageous man. A staunch Marxist at the time, Lombardi wrote his dissertation on the German composer Hanns Eisler and in 1973 took master classes with Paul Dessau in East Berlin.

Even before his time in Cologne, Luca began to follow his own concept of plural music, a concept that went against the dogmatic ideas of the purity of atonality. He calls it inclusive music, i.e. music that incorporates various styles, musical procedures and musical dialects. Hence the use of major/minor harmonies and twelve-tone music in his operas, symphonies, oratorios, cantatas and chamber and piano music.

Since 1993, the Italian has dedicated himself fully to composing. He gave up his position at the Milan Conservatory, where he had been teaching since 1978 – and prior to that at the Conservatory of Pesaro. Luca Lombardi has received several German scholarships and was a guest of the DAAD’s Artists-in-Berlin programme in 1998. Lombardi is a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts and the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. In 2015, aged 70, he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Luca Lombardi

Italien

Komponist

DAAD-Stipendium 1968–1972, Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1998–1999

Luca Lombardi Leo Contini


Die Bindungen von Luca Lombardi an Deutschland bestehen seit der Kindheit: Der Vater, ein bedeutender Philosoph, und die jüdische Mutter vertrauten auf die deutsche Kultur und ein neues Europa. Deshalb schickten sie ihre vier Kinder auf die Deutsche Schule in Rom, wo der junge Luca nicht nur sein Abitur machte, sondern auch seine ersten Kompositionen der Klasse vorspielte. Heute sind viele der mittlerweile rund 150 Werke des Römers, Jahrgang 1945, in Opernhäusern und Konzertsälen in Europa, Amerika und Japan zu hören. Zwei seiner drei Opern wurden in Deutschland uraufgeführt, zuletzt 2006 „Prospero“ in Nürnberg. Nach seinem Studium in Wien und Rom ging Luca Lombardi 1968 für fast vier Jahre nach Köln, wo sich die Neue Musik entfaltete. „Zum ersten Mal war ich dank des DAAD-Stipendiums richtig selbständig, und ich kann sagen, dass in Köln mein Weg als Komponist und Mensch seinen eigentlichen Lauf nahm. Es präzisierten sich meine künstlerischen Interessen, und es begann ein neuer Abschnitt meines Lebens.“

In Köln nahm mein Weg als Komponist und Mensch seinen eigentlichen Lauf. Es präzisierten sich meine künstlerischen Interessen, und es begann ein neuer Abschnitt meines Lebens.
Luca Lombardi

Kurse bei Karlheinz Stockhausen, Bernd-Alois Zimmermann, Vinko Globokar und dem Begründer des ersten Studios für elektronische Musik, Herbert Eimert, inspirierten Luca Lombardi, machten ihm aber zugleich klar: „Man muss seinen eigenen Weg finden, da hilft kein Lehrer. Und man braucht Mut, auch gegen den Strom zu schwimmen.“ Diesen Mut hatte und hat Luca Lombardi. Als damals überzeugter Marxist promovierte er über den deutschen Komponisten Hanns Eisler und wurde 1973 Meisterschüler von Paul Dessau in Ost-Berlin.

Schon vor der Kölner Zeit begann Luca Lombardi, seine Idee einer pluralen Musik zu verfolgen, die den dogmatischen Vorstellungen von der Reinheit der Neuen Musik zuwider liefen. Er spricht auch von inklusiver Musik, die verschiedene Stilebenen, musikalische Verfahrensweisen und musikalische Dialekte einschließt. So kommen in seinen Opern, Symphonien, Oratorien und Kantaten sowie in seiner Kammer- und Klaviermusik sowohl Dur-Moll-Harmonik als auch Zwölftonmusik vor.

Seit 1993 hat sich der Italiener ganz dem Komponieren verschrieben. Seine Tätigkeit am Mailänder Konservatorium, wo er seit 1978 lehrte – davor am Konservatorium von Pesaro –, gab er auf. Luca Lombardi wurde mit mehreren deutschen Stipendien ausgezeichnet, 1998 war er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Lombardi ist Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin und der Bayerischen Akademie der schönen Künste in München. Mit 70 Jahren erhielt er 2015 das Bundesverdienstkreuz.

Stand 2015-09-11