Prof. Dr. Leslaw Cirko

Poland

Germanist, Professor of linguistics at the German Studies Institute, University of Wrocław, Poland

DAAD Scholarship 1983–1984

Prof. Dr. Leslaw Cirko DAAD


A telegram from Wrocław brought a decisive turning point in Lesław Cirko's path through life. "That was in autumn 1981, just before that dramatic day on which martial law was declared on Poland," remembers the Pole, who was born in 1958.

It is with concern that I observe how the importance of the German language is decreasing here in Poland.
Leslaw Cirko

After having graduated in German studies, Cirko became a teacher at a school in Lubin, Poland. Actually, however, he wanted to become an interpreter. The country's tense political situation concerned him deeply. Many others felt much the same. At the University of Wrocław, two assistants from the institute in Wrocław headed by the linguist Norbert Morciniec had left for the west. Morciniec recalled his former pupil, Lesław Cirko, and asked him by telegram, whether he wanted to spontaneously fill a gap at his institute.

Today, he is a professor and holds the Chair of General and Comparative Linguistics at the German Studies Institute at the University of Wrocław. He is a recognised specialist for the morphology and syntax of the German language and works Europe wide together with colleagues on projects of contrastive grammar. The two volume German-Polish contrastive grammar that he published together with colleagues has been published as a standard reference book.

The foundation stone for his collaboration with international linguistics was provided by a DAAD Scholarship he received in 1983 for a stay in Munich. At the time, politics had almost once more determined his further career. Because Cirko, who had never been a party member, was unable to produce the necessary documents for a stay abroad. Once again, Morciniec became active on behalf of his young assistant. He wrote to his colleague in Munich, Harald Weinrich, who headed the Institute for German as a Foreign Language in Munich. Weinrich's personal invitation opened the door to the west for the young scientist. "That was the happiest time of my life," recalls Cirko today. "With a childlike fascination for the unknown, I explored Germany from life's side."

Today, Cirko registers with concern the decreasing importance of German as a language of research. It seems absurd to him that an essay by a Polish German studies scholar is evaluated more highly if it is published in English than if the very same article appears in a German-language journal. The decline in interest among Polish students also tells the professor that the German language is losing its position. "In the 1990s, the German Studies Department in Wrocław was by far the largest in Europe. Since 2005 the number of students has fallen considerably." He and his colleagues are very concerned about this. They do not have a magic solution, but they continue to act as ambassadors for this language. In 2011 Cirko received the DAAD Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm Prize, which is endowed with 10,000 euros, for teaching and research in the German language.

Prof. Dr. Leslaw Cirko

Polen

Germanist, Professor für Linguistik am Germanistischen Institut der Universität Wrocław (Breslau), Polen

DAAD-Stipendium 1983–1984

Prof. Dr. Leslaw Cirko DAAD


Ein Telegramm aus Wrocław (Breslau) gab dem Lebensweg von Lesław Cirko die entscheidende Wendung. „Das war im Herbst 1981, kurz vor dem dramatischen Tag, als in Polen das Kriegsrecht verhängt wurde“, erinnert sich der 1958 geborene Pole.

Mit Sorge beobachte ich, wie die Bedeutung der deutschen Sprache bei uns in Polen abnimmt.
Leslaw Cirko

Cirko war damals, nach abgeschlossenem Germanistikstudium, Lehrer an einer Schule im polnischen Lubin, wollte aber eigentlich Dolmetscher werden. Die angespannte politische Situation im Land machte ihm zu schaffen. Vielen anderen ging es genauso. An der Universität Wrocław hatten sich zwei Assistenten des Breslauer Linguisten Norbert Morciniec in den Westen abgesetzt. Morciniec besann sich seines früheren Schülers Lesław Cirko und fragte per Telegramm bei ihm an, ob er spontan die Lücke an seinem Institut füllen wolle.

Heute leitet er als Professor den Lehrstuhl für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Linguistik am Germanistischen Institut der Universität Wrocław. Er ist anerkannter Spezialist für Morphologie und Syntax der deutschen Sprache und arbeitet europaweit mit Kollegen in Projekten zur kontrastiven Grammatik zusammen. Ein Standardwerk ist die von ihm gemeinsam mit Kollegen veröffentlichte zweibändige deutsch-polnische kontrastive Grammatik.

Den Grundstein für seine Kooperation mit der internationalen Sprachwissenschaft legte 1983 ein DAAD-Stipendium für einen Aufenthalt in München. Damals hätte die Politik beinahe noch einmal seine weitere Karriere bestimmt. Denn Cirko, der nie Parteimitglied gewesen war, konnte die für den Auslandsaufenthalt nötigen Gutachten nicht beibringen. Wieder wurde Morciniec für seinen jungen Assistenten tätig. Er schrieb an seinen Münchner Kollegen Harald Weinrich, der das Institut für Deutsch als Fremdsprache in München leitete. Weinrichs persönliche Einladung öffnete dem jungen Wissenschaftler die Tür in den Westen. „Das war die glücklichste Periode meines Lebens“, erinnert sich Cirko heute. „Mit kindlicher Faszination für das Fremde erkundete ich Deutschland von der Lebensseite.“

Mit Sorge registriert Cirko heute die schwindende Bedeutung des Deutschen als Wissenschaftssprache. Dass der Aufsatz eines polnischen Germanisten, wenn er auf Englisch publiziert ist, höher bewertet werde, als wenn derselbe Artikel in einem deutschsprachigen Fachblatt erscheine, findet Cirko absurd. Auch am Rückgang des Interesses bei den polnischen Studierenden merkt der Professor, dass die deutsche Sprache ihren Rang verliert.. „In den 90er-Jahren war die Germanistik in Breslau mit Abstand die größte in Europa. Seit 2005 schrumpfte die Zahl der Studierenden erkennbar.“ Ihn und seine Kollegen bekümmert dies sehr. Ein Patentrezept dagegen haben sie nicht, aber sie engagieren sich weiter als Botschafter dieser Sprache. Für die Vermittlung und Erforschung der deutschen Sprache erhielt Cirko 2011 den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Jacob- und Wilhelm-Grimm-Preis des DAAD.

Stand: 2015-09-17