Prof. Dr. Leoluca Orlando

Italy

Lawyer, politician, Mayor of Palermo

DAAD Scholarship 1969–1970

Prof. Dr. Leoluca Orlando DAAD


When Leoluca Orlando first took office as Mayor of Palermo in 1985, around 250 people were being murdered in the Sicilian capital every year, all at the hands of the Mafia. In 2001, the year in which he gave up the post to become leader of the opposition in the regional parliament, eight people died a violent death. “That is eight too many, but none of them were killed by the Mafia,” says Orlando. In 2012, Orlando was elected for a fourth term of office as Mayor of Palermo.

The only way to beat corruption and terror is to have the courage to stand by your principles.
Leoluca Orlando

Born in Palermo in 1947, Orlando is regarded as an intrepid warrior in the fight against the terror of the “Cosa Nostra”. He topped their death lists for many years. In his book “Fighting the Mafia and Renewing Sicilian Culture”, published in 2001, the writer openly and self-critically describes how he broke through the wall of the “omertà”, the icy silence. His credo is: “The only way to beat corruption and terror is to have the courage to stand by your principles.”

He became aware of the Mafia issue above all while studying in Heidelberg. In 1968, his fellow students would greet him with the words: “Hey, there comes our Mafioso!” The DAAD scholarship holder read law in the city on the River Neckar and later became a professor of law and solicitor in Palermo. He won the mayoral elections in his home city four times: in 1985, 1993, 1997 and 2012. During these years, he repeatedly fought successfully against corruption and terror, provided the initiative for a cultural renewal, the “Palermitan Renaissance”.

Orlando has received a number of national and international awards for his commitment to this cause, with which he risks his life. They include the Goethe Medal, awarded in Weimar in 1999, the Humanism Prize of the Deutscher Altphilologenverband (German Association of Classical Philologists) in 2008, and in 2013 the Honorary Award of the German Sustainability Award foundation, in cooperation with the Federal Government, for his civil courage in the fight against the Mafia.

Orlando knows that he might have won a battle, but has far from won the war. Nowadays, the Mafia are involved in international finance: “Killers have become bankers”. He urgently warns against corruption, for “where there is corruption, there is bound to be the Mafia”. His unshakeable belief in the good and his strong trust in people having the courage to stand by their principles is also at the heart of his latest book The Sicilian Cart, 50 stories from an eventful life.

Prof. Dr. Leoluca Orlando

Italien

Jurist, Politiker, Bürgermeister von Palermo

DAAD-Stipendium 1969–1970

Prof. Dr. Leoluca Orlando DAAD


Als Leoluca Orlando 1985 zum ersten Mal sein Amt als Oberbürgermeister von Palermo antritt, werden jährlich rund 250 Menschen in der sizilianischen Hauptstadt ermordet. Alle gehen auf das Konto der Mafia. 2001, als der Politiker sein Amt aufgibt, um als Oppositionsführer ins Regionalparlament einzuziehen, sterben acht Menschen eines gewaltsamen Todes. „Das sind acht zu viel, aber keiner von ihnen starb durch die Mafia“, sagt Orlando. Seit 2012 ist Orlando zum vierten Mal Bürgermeister von Palermo.

Die einzige Chance gegen Korruption und Terror ist Zivilcourage.
Leoluca Orlando

Der 1947 geborene Palermer gilt als unerschrockener Kämpfer gegen den Terror der „Cosa Nostra“. Jahrelang steht er ganz oben auf deren Todeslisten. In seinem 2002 erschienenen Buch „Ich sollte der Nächste sein“ schildert der Publizist selbstkritisch und offen, wie er die Mauer der „omertà“, des eisigen Schweigens, durchbrach. „Die einzige Chance gegen Korruption und Terror ist Zivilcourage“, so sein Credo.

Das Thema Mafia wird ihm vor allem während seiner Studienjahre in Heidelberg bewusst. Dort begrüßen ihn die Kommilitonen 1968 mit dem Satz: „Ah! Da kommt unser Mafiosi!“. Am Neckar studiert der DAAD-Stipendiat Rechtswissenschaften, wird später Juraprofessor und Anwalt in Palermo. Vier Mal gewinnt er die Wahl zum Oberbürgermeister seiner Heimatstadt: 1985, 1993,1997 und 2012. Immer wieder geht er erfolgreich gegen Korruption und Terror vor, gibt den Impuls für eine kulturelle Erneuerung, für die „Renaissance von Palermo“.

Für sein lebensbedrohliches Engagement wird Orlando vielfach − auch im Ausland − ausgezeichnet; so erhält er etwa 1999 die Goethe-Medaille in Weimar, 2008 den Humanismus-Preis des Deutschen Altphilologenverbandes und 2013 den Ehrenpreis der Stiftung Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundesregierung für seine Zivilcourage im Kampf gegen die Mafia.

Orlando weiß, dass er eine Schlacht gewonnen hat, aber noch lange nicht den Krieg. Die Mafia mischt heute im internationalen Finanzgewerbe mit: „Aus Killern werden Banker“. Eindringlich warnt er vor Korruption, denn „wo die Korruption ist, kommt die Mafia“. Sein unerschütterlicher Glaube an das Gute und das starke Vertrauen in die Zivilcourage bilden auch den Kern seines Buches „Der sizilianische Karren“, 50 Erzählungen aus einem bewegten Leben.

Stand: 2015-09-11