Kim Hwang-sik

Korea, the Republic of

Lawyer, politician, former Prime Minister of South Korea

DAAD Scholarship 1978–1979

Kim Hwang-sik DAAD


The roots to Kim Hwang-sik’s close ties with Germany extend back to his school days. Like most of his fellow students at secondary school, he chose German as his second foreign language after English. And his interest also continued unbroken after leaving school. Beyond the language itself, he learnt a lot about the country's history, culture and art. Then, in 1978, a dream came true for him. A DAAD scholarship enabled him to complete a period of study in Germany. He then spent a year studying law at the University of Marburg.

It was during my stay in Germany that I heard of the 'Wunder am Rhein' (Miracle on the Rhine), for Germany was a country that had succeeded in reaching reconciliation with its neighbouring countries.
Kim Hwang-sik

Before his study visit, Kim Hwang-sik, who was born in Jangseong in 1948, had already completed his law studies at Seoul National University in South Korea and taken on the position of judge. In Marburg, his interest focused mainly on German civil law and on the country and its people: "It was during my stay in Germany that I heard of the 'Wunder am Rhein' (Miracle on the Rhine), for Germany was a country that had succeeded in reaching reconciliation with its neighbouring countries." This had impressed him deeply and had influenced him in his further work. After completing his scholarship, he initially continued to work as a judge, eventually serving at his country's Supreme Court of Justice. Kim Hwang-sik was then appointed President of the South Korean Court of Auditors for two years before becoming Prime Minister in October 2010, an office he held until 2013.

After leaving office as Prime Minister, the lawyer returned to Germany in 2013 as a visiting researcher at the Institute of Korean Studies (IKS) at Freie Universität Berlin. In Korea he has meanwhile also become active in the field of student sport: he was Co-Chairman of the Organising Committee for the 2015 Gwangju Summer Universiade.

Kim Hwang-sik has always maintained close links with Germany, the DAAD and his host university. This is why, during his premiership, between 2011 and 2012, he was active as a member of the board of the Alumni-Netzwerk Deutschland Korea (ADeKo), a nationwide federation of Germany alumni with around 40 associations. He became its chairman in 2015.

Kim Hwang-sik

Korea, Republik

Richter, Politiker, ehemaliger Premierminister Südkoreas

DAAD-Stipendium 1978–1979

Kim Hwang-sik DAAD


Die Wurzeln für die enge Verbindung von Kim Hwang-sik zu Deutschland reichen zurück bis in die Schulzeit. Wie die meisten seiner Mitschüler hatte er sich im ersten Jahr der Oberstufe für Deutsch als zweite Fremdsprache nach Englisch entschieden. Das Interesse blieb auch nach der Schulzeit ungebrochen. Er lernte über die Sprache hinaus vieles über Geschichte, Kultur und Kunst des Landes. 1978 erfüllte sich dann ein Traum für ihn: Ein Stipendium des DAAD ermöglichte ihm ein Studienaufenthalt in Deutschland. Dort studierte er ein Jahr lang Jura an der Universität Marburg.

Damals, als ich in Deutschland war, habe ich von dem Wunder am Rhein gehört, denn Deutschland war ein Land, das sich mit seinen Nachbarländern versöhnt hat.
Kim Hwang-sik

Vor seinem Stipendienaufenthalt hatte der 1948 in Jangseong geborene Kim Hwang-sik sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Seoul National University in Südkorea bereits beendet und eine Richterstelle übernommen. In Marburg interessierte er sich vor allem für das deutsche Zivilrecht, aber auch für Land und Leute: „Damals habe ich von dem Wunder am Rhein gehört, denn Deutschland war ein Land, das sich mit seinen Nachbarländern versöhnt hat.“ Dies hat ihn tief beeindruckt und in seiner weiteren Arbeit bestimmt. Nach seinem Stipendium war er zunächst weiter als Richter tätig, zuletzt am Obersten Gerichtshof seines Landes. Anschließend übernahm Kim Hwang-sik zwei Jahre lang das Amt des Präsidenten des südkoreanischen Rechnungshofes, bis er im Oktober 2010 zum Premierminister ernannt wurde und das hohe Amt bis 2013 ausfüllte.

Nach seiner Ablösung als Premierminister kehrte der Jurist 2013 als Gastwissenschaftler nach Deutschland zurück – an das Institut für Koreastudien (IKS) der Freien Universität Berlin. In Korea gilt seine Leidenschaft inzwischen auch dem Sport: Er war Co-Präsident des Organisationskomitees für die Weltsportspiele der Studenten, der „Universidade“, die im Sommer 2015 in Gwangju stattfanden.

Kim Hwang-sik bleibt Deutschland, dem DAAD und seiner Gasthochschule eng verbunden. Aus diesem Grund engagierte er sich schon als Premier zwischen 2011 und 2012 als Vorstandsmitglied des Alumni-Netzwerks Deutschland Korea (ADeKo), eines landesweiten Zusammenschlusses von Deutschland-Alumni mit 40 Vereinen. Seit 2015 ist er Vorstandsvorsitzender des Vereins.

Stand: 2015-09-29