Dr. Khouloud Daibes-Abu Dayyeh

Palestinian Territories

Politician, diplomat, Head of the Palestinian Mission in Germany, former Palestinian Minister of Tourism and Archaeology (2007–2012), former Minister of Women’s Affairs (2007–2009)

DAAD Scholarship 1983–1991

Dr. Khouloud  Daibes-Abu Dayyeh Palästinensische Mission Berlin


Khouloud Daibes has cultivated close relations with Germany for many years. Since August 2013 she has headed up the Palestinian Mission in Berlin as Ambassador. “My main duties include maintaining close contact with the Federal Government and German institutions in the fields of education, culture and business,” says Daibes.

Being able to spend several years in Germany again makes me happy.
Khouloud Daibes-Abu Dayyeh

The qualified architect came to Leibniz Universität Hannover in the early 1980s on a DAAD scholarship. She completed her doctorate at Hanover in 1995 with a thesis in the field of monument conservation, namely on Preservation Strategies for the Cultural-Historical Architectural Heritage of Palestine. She was then responsible for the restoration of historical buildings in Bethlehem under the auspices of the UN Development Programme and headed the Institute for Monument Preservation and Urban Planning there. Her work on preserving historical districts in Bethlehem aimed to revive tourism and offer Muslims and Christians an improved infrastructure and better quality of life. Daibes celebrated a major success as Minister of Tourism and Archaeology in 2011 when the UN cultural organisation UNESCO accepted Palestine as a full member. During her term of office from 2007 to 2012, Daibes also considered it an important task to give tourists greater freedom of movement and security. In addition, the Catholic from Beit Jala worked to strengthen ties between Arab and European Christians.

Daibes, who was also a scholarship holder of the Katholischer Akademischer Ausländer-Dienst (Catholic Academic Service for Foreign Students, KAAD) in Germany and acted as a contact person for the DAAD in Israel and Palestine, was pleased to return to Germany: “I very much look forward to being able to spend several years in Germany again,” she said. “As a result of my previous stays, I am well-acquainted with the culture and people here.” Her experience will benefit her in her daily work. “Primarily, it involves developing existing German-Palestinian relations. But establishing new contacts is also important to me.” In addition, as Ambassador she would like to present a comprehensive picture of life in the Palestinian Territories – and who could do that better than Khouloud Daibes?

Dr. Khouloud Daibes-Abu Dayyeh

Palästinensische Gebiete

Politikerin, Diplomatin, Leiterin der Palästinensischen Mission in Deutschland, palästinensische Ministerin für Tourismus und Archäologie (2007–2012) sowie Ministerin für Frauenangelegenheiten (2007–2009)

DAAD-Stipendium 1983–1991

Dr. Khouloud  Daibes-Abu Dayyeh Palästinensische Mission Berlin


Enge Beziehungen zu Deutschland pflegt Khouloud Daibes seit vielen Jahren. Seit August 2013 leitet sie als Botschafterin die Palästinensische Mission in Berlin. „Zu meinen zentralen Aufgaben gehört es, den engen Kontakt zur Bundesregierung und den deutschen Institutionen im Bereich der Bildung, Kultur und Wirtschaft zu bewahren“, sagt Daibes.

Ich freue mich sehr, wieder für einige Jahre in Deutschland sein zu dürfen.
Khouloud Daibes-Abu Dayyeh

Die gelernte Architektin kam Anfang der 1980er-Jahre als DAAD-Stipendiatin an die Universität Hannover. Dort promovierte sie 1995 im Bereich Denkmalschutz über „Erhaltungsstrategien des kulturhistorischen Architekturerbes Palästinas“. Im Rahmen des UN-Entwicklungsprogramms war sie danach für die Restaurierung historischer Bauten in Bethlehem zuständig und leitete das dortige Institut für Denkmalpflege und Stadtplanung. Mit ihrer Arbeit für den Erhalt historischer Stadtviertel in Bethlehem wollte sie den Tourismus beleben und Muslimen wie Christen eine bessere Infrastruktur und Lebensqualität bieten. Einen großen Erfolg feierte Daibes als Ministerin für Tourismus und Archäologie im Jahr 2011: Die UN-Kulturorganisation UNESCO nahm die Palästinenser als Vollmitglied auf. Während ihrer Amtszeit in den Jahren 2007 bis 2012 sah Daibes darüber hinaus eine wichtige Aufgabe darin, den Touristen mehr Bewegungsfreiheit und Sicherheit zu geben. Außerdem wollte die aus Beit Jala stammende Katholikin die Verbindung zwischen arabischen und europäischen Christen stärken.

Daibes – die auch als Stipendiatin des Katholischen Akademischen Ausländer-Dienstes (KAAD) in Deutschland war und dem DAAD als Ansprechpartnerin in Israel und Palästina zur Verfügung stand – kehrte gerne nach Deutschland zurück: „Ich freue mich sehr, wieder für einige Jahre hier in Deutschland sein zu dürfen“, sagt sie. „Aufgrund meiner früheren Aufenthalte bin ich mit der Kultur und Tradition der Menschen hier vertraut.“ Die Erfahrungen kommen ihr bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit zugute. „In erster Linie geht es um den Ausbau bestehender deutsch-palästinensischer Beziehungen. Aber auch das Knüpfen neuer Kontakte ist mir ein wichtiges Anliegen.“ Zudem möchte sie als Botschafterin ein umfassendes Bild des Lebens in den Palästinensischen Gebieten vermitteln – und wer könnte das besser als Khouloud Daibes?

Stand: 2015-09-14