Dr. Kazuaki Tarumi

Japan

Physicist, winner of the German Future Prize

DAAD Scholarship 1978–1979

Dr. Kazuaki Tarumi Deutscher Zukunftspreis / Ansgar Pudenz


He wanted to modernise television – and for achieving that the Japanese physicist Kazuaki Tarumi received the German Future Prize, or the "research Oscar" as it is also known, in November 2003. The award is worth 250,000 euros, which makes it one of the most highly endowed German research prizes. It is awarded annually by Germany’s Federal President for outstanding innovation in the field of technology, science and business.

Good fortune and staying power are what a researcher needs.
Kazuaki Tarumi

Kazuaki Tarumi and his team developed a liquid crystal compound at the Darmstadt-based pharmaceuticals company Merck that significantly improved TV flat screens. To do this, the researchers first had to overcome the inertia of the crystals used in liquid crystal displays (LCDs). These substances have to be able to switch as quickly as possible to ensure that rapid movements on the screen appear natural. The Merck researchers managed to do this and were able to raise picture quality even further with new liquid crystal compounds, which are required for modern large flat screens. From the very start, team leader Tarumi believed a great future lay ahead for the new technology.

The Japanese researcher studied at Bremen in 1978/79 as a DAAD Scholarship holder and also gained his doctorate there. He then worked as a university physicist in Japan before receiving an offer from Merck to take up a position with the company in the field of product development. Since 1990 he has worked in leading positions in liquid crystal research at Merck KGaA. In 2010, he received the Merck Innovation Award. The holder of some 200 patents is also a sought-after university speaker on the subject of innovation management. Tarumi is fascinated by the direct path from idea to technological development. He considers staying power and good fortune to have been the decisive factors in his success.

Dr. Kazuaki Tarumi

Japan

Physiker, Träger des Deutschen Zukunftspreises

DAAD-Stipendium 1978–1979

Dr. Kazuaki Tarumi Deutscher Zukunftspreis / Ansgar Pudenz


Das Fernsehen wollte er modernisieren – und dafür erhielt der japanische Physiker Kazuaki Tarumi im November 2003 den Oscar für Forscher, wie der „Deutsche Zukunftspreis“ auch genannt wird. Die Auszeichnung, die mit 250.000 Euro zu den höchstdotierten deutschen Wissenschaftspreisen gehört, wird alljährlich vom Bundespräsidenten für eine technisch, wissenschaftlich und wirtschaftlich herausragende Innovation vergeben.

Glück und Ausdauer sind die Dinge, die ein Forscher braucht.
Kazuaki Tarumi

Kazuaki Tarumi und sein Team hatten bei der Darmstädter Pharmafirma Merck eine Flüssigkristallmischung entwickelt, die ganz wesentlich zur Verbesserung von Fernseh-Flachbildschirmen beitrug. Dazu mussten die Forscher zunächst die Trägheit der Kristalle überwinden. Denn im LCD (Liquid Crystal Display)-Fernseher müssen die Substanzen so schnell umschalten, dass rasche Bewegungen auf dem Bildschirm natürlich wirken. Dies haben die Merck-Forscher erreicht und konnten die Bildqualität durch neue Flüssigkristall-Mischungen noch weiter steigern, die für die modernen großen Flachbildschirme nötig sind. Von Anfang an glaubte Team-Chef Tarumi an die große Zukunft der neuen Technologie.

Der Japaner hat 1978 und 1979 als DAAD-Stipendiat in Bremen studiert und dort auch promoviert. In Japan war er danach als Physiker an der Hochschule tätig, bevor er von Merck das Angebot bekam, in die Produktentwicklung zu gehen. Seit 1990 arbeitet er in leitenden Funktionen im Bereich Flüssigkristallforschung für die Merck KGaA; 2010 erhielt er den „Merck Innovation Award“. Der Inhaber von rund 200 Patenten ist auch an Hochschulen ein gefragter Redner zum Thema Innovationsmanagement. Tarumi, den der direkte Weg von der Idee zur technischen Verbesserung fasziniert, hält Ausdauer und Glück für die entscheidenden Faktoren seines Erfolgs.

Stand: 2015-09-30