Prof. Dr. Luc Ferry

France

Philosopher, political scientist, former French Minister of Youth, Education and Research

DAAD Scholarship 1972–1974

Prof. Dr. Luc  Ferry DAAD


Luc Ferry, who was born in 1951, was Minister of Youth, Education and Research in France from 2002 to 2004. The well-known philosopher and political scientist studied at the Sorbonne in Paris and at Heidelberg as a DAAD scholarship holder. He wrote his doctoral thesis on the German philosopher Johann Gottlieb Fichte. His appointment as minister came as a surprise to many because Ferry had attended none of the French elite universities.

It would be terrible if the Germans and French were in future only to speak English to each other – and bad English at that.
Luc Ferry

Ferry, who argues against the “spirit of ’68” in his many publications, advocates teaching a uniform foundation of knowledge and skills as a necessary counterbalance to the ever-increasing degree of specialisation and individualisation. One of the key measures which Ferry initiated in office was his action plan to tackle the poor writing and reading skills of French adolescents. He sees the failure of primary schools to teach pupils how to read and write properly as a problem in all European countries and as a “fairly new and worrying difficulty because it was thought that illiteracy had been overcome in the 1960s”.

Ferry is now working in academia and research again and has become one of France’s most influential intellectuals. He has written several books on philosophical topics and regularly gives series of lectures that enjoy great popularity with the general public – such as the Philosophical Tuesday at the Théâtre des Mathurins in Paris, in which he talks about the ancients’ thinking and the German philosophy of Kant, Hegel, Nietzsche and Schopenhauer. Even without a political office, he still expresses his opinion often on everyday events and social policy developments. “He is a talented educationalist and mediator,” wrote the German newspaper FAZ on his 60th birthday. “No one is better at explaining Greek philosophy to his contemporaries and using it to help people cope with life’s problems.”

Prof. Dr. Luc Ferry

Frankreich

Philosoph, Politologie, ehemaliger französischer Bildungsminister

DAAD-Stipendium 1972–1974

Prof. Dr. Luc  Ferry DAAD


Von 2002 bis 2004 war Luc Ferry, Jahrgang 1951, Minister für Jugend, Bildung und Wissenschaft in Frankreich. Der bekannte Philosoph und Politologe studierte an der Pariser Sorbonne und als DAAD-Stipendiat in Heidelberg. Seine Doktorarbeit schrieb er über den deutschen Philosophen Johann Gottlieb Fichte. Als er zum Minister ernannt wurde, war das für viele eine Überraschung, denn Ferry hatte keine der französischen Elite-Hochschulen besucht.

Es wäre schrecklich, wenn wir, Deutsche und Franzosen, untereinander nur noch Englisch sprächen, schlechtes Englisch zudem.
Prof. Dr. Luc Ferry

Ferry, der in vielen Veröffentlichungen gegen den „Geist von 68“ argumentiert, spricht sich für ein einheitliches Fundament an Wissen und Kompetenzen aus, das es als Gegengewicht zu der zunehmenden Spezialisierung und Individualisierung zu vermitteln gelte. Als wichtige Maßnahme in seinem Amt hatte Ferry einen Aktionsplan gegen die Lese- und Schreibschwäche unter französischen Jugendlichen ins Leben gerufen. Dass es in der Grundschule nicht gelingt, den Schülern ausreichend Lesen und Schreiben beizubringen, sieht er als ein Problem in allen europäischen Ländern und als eine „ziemlich neue und beunruhigende Schwierigkeit, denn man glaubte, den Analphabetismus in den sechziger Jahren überwunden zu haben“.

Ferry ist wieder wissenschaftlich tätig und zu einem der einflussreichsten Intellektuellen Frankreichs geworden. Er hat mehrere philosophische Bücher geschrieben und hält regelmäßig vom öffentlichen Publikum begehrte Vortragsreihen – wie den „Philosophischen Dienstag“ im Théâtre des Mathurins in Paris mit über 300 Plätzen, an dem er das antike Denken und die deutsche Philosophie von Kant, Hegel, Nietzsche oder Schopenhauer vermittelt. Auch ohne politisches Amt äußert er sich oft zu tages- und gesellschaftspolitischen Ereignissen. „Er ist ein begabter Pädagoge und Vermittler“, schrieb die FAZ anlässlich seines 60. Geburtstages. „Keiner versteht es besser, die griechische Philosophie den Zeitgenossen zu erklären und als Lebenshilfe dienstbar zu machen.“

Stand: 2015-09-14