Prof. Dr. Karl Schlögel

Germany

Writer, historian, professor emeritus of Eastern European history

DAAD Scholarship 1982–1983

Prof. Dr. Karl Schlögel DAAD


Back at the time when the 34-year old historian Karl Schlögel left Berlin for Moscow, to enter the political and intellectual capital of the then still Communist superpower, he had just completed his doctorate with a conventional, socio-historical study on Forms of Resistance in the Working Classes of the Soviet Union 1953 – 1980. Along with his relocation, he simultaneously changed his research and its presentation, away from the "grand socialist collectives" and abstract terminology. Karl Schlögel wrote the book Moskau lesen (Reading Moscow), a forward-looking prototype of his successful historical method and story-telling technique: By doing so, "Anlauf- und Anhaltspunkte" (Starting and Stopping Points), at the venues, in the urban townscape and in his architecture literally open up the eyes for the juxtaposition of the synchronous and the asynchronous, for destruction and renewal and the creative forces behind the "facades" of power, culture and industry. Proverbially his book's title "Im Raume lesen wir die Zeit" (publ. 2003): (It is in space that we read the time)."

My stay in Moscow marked a major change in my life: I've had a family since that time – and I have produced two books of key importance to me.
Karl Schlögel

This knowledge enhancing spatial turn, "Wendung zum Raum", is Schlöger's original achievement as a historian, as a laudator once praised. His masterpiece “Petersburg. Laboratory of the Modern Age 1909–1921” brought him his academic breakthrough, initially with an appointment at the University of Konstanz and then in 2004 at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder. Indeed, Schlögel was interested in topics in which "the impact" or the force of historical change become visible and tangible. To achieve this "content" he found the suitable form of expression in "fresh linguistic brilliance", as an older colleague and mentor once remarked with admiration. Schlögel received numerous literary prizes for this expression: In 2004, the Sigmund Freud Prize for Scientific Prose conferred by the Deutsche Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung, in 2006, the Hamburg Lessing Prize and, in 2009, the Leipzig Book Prize for European Understanding.

In 2010 and 2011, he was a scholarship holder at the Institute for Advanced Study Berlin, where he worked on a book under the working title Auf der Wolga – eine russländische Geschichte (On the Volga – A Russian Story) on the history and stories of Russia's most important thoroughfare. Since the Maidan protests, the people’s uprising in Kiev in 2013, the acknowledged Russia expert has repeatedly travelled to Ukraine – for his book Entscheidung in Kiew (Decision in Kiev), which was published in September 2015.

Prof. Dr. Karl Schlögel

Deutschland

Schriftsteller, Historiker, Professor emeritus für Osteuropäische Geschichte

DAAD-Stipendium 1982–1983

Prof. Dr. Karl Schlögel DAAD


Als der damals 34-jährige Historiker Karl Schlögel aus Berlin nach Moskau, in die politische und geistige Hauptstadt der damals noch kommunistischen Weltmacht kam, hatte er soeben seinen Doktor mit einer konventionellen sozialgeschichtlichen Untersuchung über „Widerstandsformen der Arbeiterschaft in der Sowjetunion 1953 – 1980“ gemacht. Mit dem Ortswechsel änderte er zugleich seine Forschung und deren Darstellung, weg von sozialen „Großkollektiven“ und abstrakter Terminologie. Karl Schlögel schrieb das Buch „Moskau lesen“, einen zukunftsweisenden Prototyp seiner erfolgreichen historischen Methode und Erzählweise: Dabei eröffnen „Anlauf- und Anhaltspunkte“ am Schauplatz, im Stadtbild und seiner Architektur, den Blick buchstäblich für das Nebeneinander von Gleichzeitigem und Ungleichzeitigem, für Zerstörung und Erneuerung und die gestaltenden Kräfte hinter den „Fassaden“ von Macht, Kultur und Wirtschaft. Sprichwörtlich sein Buchtitel „Im Raume lesen wir die Zeit“ (2003).

Der Moskau-Aufenthalt war eine große Wende in meinem Leben: Seit dieser Zeit gibt es meine Familie – und aus der Zeit sind zwei für mich zentrale Bücher hervorgegangen.
Karl Schlögel

Diese erkenntnisfördernde „Wendung zum Raum“, der spatial turn, ist die originelle Leistung des Historikers Schlögel, wie einmal ein Laudator rühmte. Sein Meisterwerk „Petersburg. Laboratorium der Moderne 1909–1921“ brachte den akademischen Durchbruch. Er bekam zunächst einen Ruf an die Universität Konstanz, dann 1994 an die Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder. Allemal interessieren Schlögel Themen, bei denen „die Wucht“ oder die Energie der historischen Veränderung sichtbar und greifbar wird. Für diesen „Inhalt“ hat er in „frischer sprachlicher Brillanz“ die passende Darstellungsform gefunden, wie ein älterer Kollege und Förderer bewundernd bemerkte. Für diese Darstellung bekam Schlögel viele Literaturpreise: 2004 den Sigmund-Freud-Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung, 2006 den Hamburger Lessing-Preis und 2009 den Leipziger Buchpreis zur Europäischen Verständigung.

2010 und 2011 arbeitete er als Stipendiat des Berliner „Wissenschaftskollegs“ an einem Buch mit dem Arbeitstitel „Auf der Wolga – eine russländische Geschichte“ über Geschichte und Geschichten an Russlands wichtigstem Verkehrsweg. Seit den Tagen des Majdan, der Volkserhebung in Kiew 2013, reiste der anerkannte Russlandexperte immer wieder in die Ukraine – für sein im September 2015 erschienenes Buch „Entscheidung in Kiew“.