Kiran Nagarkar

India

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2008

Kiran Nagarkar DAAD


Kiran Nagarkar was born in Bombay in 1942 and is one of India's most important authors. His novel God's Little Soldier, which appeared in German in 2006 as Gottes kleiner Krieger, made him an overnight success in Europe. In this very political novel, he describes the path that a young Indian takes through various stages of  fundamentalism through to terrorism. Nagarkar has also written numerous novels, plays, and screenplays. His first novel, Seven Sixes are Forty Three (Sieben mal sechs ist dreiundvierzig) dates from 1994 and is seen as a milestone in post-independence Indian literature.

My stay in Germany has changed the way I see my home country of India.
Kiran Nagarkar

However, it took a few years before Nagarkar was able to establish himself among the Indian public. This is why he initially worked as a lecturer, a journalist and, above all, as a creative in the advertising industry after graduating from his studies in English literature in Bombay. His mother tongue is Marathi, one of the 22 official national languages of India. It's spoken by around 70 million people and is thought to be one of the twenty most spoken languages in India. In the country itself, however, it was considered unusual – and also obstructive to his circulation – for him not initially to have used the main languages – Hindu or English. In the meantime, the author has been decorated with major Indian literary prizes, including in 2000 the highest distinction of the Indian Academy of Literature, the Sahitya Academi Award. By comparison, however, his books are in much greater demand in Europe.

Nagarkar says his stay in Germany as a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme changed the way he sees India. What really impressed him about the Berlin metropolis was "all the greenery" and the "astonishing peace and quiet", compared with India's major cities. He now constantly compares his home town of Mumbai with Berlin – and the result is not good for Mumbai. The author has a critical eye for his home town. Noise, pollution, corruption, poverty, political stagnation, these are what he sees as his country's main problems – and as topics for his books. "I love India, that's why I have to criticise it," he says. However, his novels are by no means dark and gloomy. Critics and readers alike praise the playful imagination, the fantabulous passion for language, always with a sharp eye on the present.

Nagarkar is an author who tends to live a secluded life. In Germany, he prefers to go to museums or cinemas, since art and film are among his great passions. He tends to avoid parties or receptions. Playing a part in the lively literary scene is not one of his things. However, he has grown to appreciate the close contact with his readers in Germany. Nowhere else in the world, says Nagarkar, has he experienced as many readings, interested readers or questions.

Kiran Nagarkar

Indien

Schriftsteller

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2008

Kiran Nagarkar DAAD


Kiran Nagarkar, 1942 in Bombay geboren, zählt zu den bedeutenden Autoren Indiens. Mit seinem Roman „Gottes kleiner Krieger“, der 2006 in deutscher Sprache erschien, wurde er mit einem Schlag in Europa berühmt. In diesem sehr politischen Roman schildert er den Weg eines jungen Inders durch verschiedene Arten von Fundamentalismus hin zum Terrorismus. Nagarkar hat zudem zahlreiche Romane, Theaterstücke und Filmdrehbücher geschrieben. Sein erster Roman „Sieben mal sechs ist dreiundvierzig“ aus dem Jahr 1974 gilt als Meilenstein der indischen Literatur nach der Unabhängigkeit.

Der Aufenthalt in Deutschland hat meinen Blick auf meine Heimat Indien verändert.
Kiran Nagarkar

Allerdings dauerte es in Indien einige Jahre, bis sich Nagarkar beim Publikum durchsetzen konnte. Er arbeitete darum nach seinem Studium der englischen Literatur in Bombay zunächst lange als Dozent und Journalist, vor allem aber in der Werbebranche. Seine Muttersprache ist Marahti, eine der 22 offiziellen Landessprachen Indiens. Sie wird von rund 70 Millionen Menschen gesprochen und zählt zu den 20 meistgesprochenen Sprachen Indiens. Im Land galt es freilich als ungewöhnlich – und auch hinderlich für die Verbreitung – dass er sich zunächst nicht der Hauptsprachen Hindi oder Englisch bediente. Inzwischen wurde der Autor mit hohen indischen Literaturpreisen ausgezeichnet, darunter 2000 die höchste Anerkennung der indischen Literaturakademie, der Sahitya Academy Award. Die Auflagen seiner Bücher in Europa sind jedoch vergleichsweise höher.

Sein Aufenthalt in Deutschland als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD, so sagt Nagarkar, habe seinen Blick auf Indien verändert. An der Metropole Berlin hat ihn das „viele Grün“ und die im Vergleich zu indischen Großstädten „erstaunliche Ruhe“ beeindruckt. Er vergleiche nun ständig seine Heimatstadt Bombay mit Berlin – und das gehe nicht gut für Bombay aus. Der Autor hat einen kritischen Blick auf seine Heimat. Lärm, Umweltverschmutzung, Korruption, Armut, politische Unbeweglichkeit, das sieht er als die Hauptprobleme seines Landes an – und als Themen für seine Bücher. „Ich liebe Indien, darum muss ich es kritisieren“, sagt er. Düster sind seine Romane aber keineswegs. Kritiker und Leser loben die spielerische Phantasie, die überbordende Lust an der Sprache, den scharfen Blick auf die Gegenwart.

Nagarkar ist ein Autor, der eher zurückgezogen lebt. In Deutschland ist er lieber in Museen oder Kinos gewesen, denn Kunst und Film gehören zu seinen großen Leidenschaften. Partys oder Empfänge hat er eher gemieden. Das Mitmischen im lebhaften Literaturbetrieb ist nicht sein Fall. Doch den engen Kontakt zu Lesern in Deutschland hat er schätzen gelernt. So viele Lesungen, so viele interessierte Leser, so viele interessante Fragen – so sagt Nagarkar – habe er vorher nirgendwo in der Welt erlebt.

Stand: 2015-09-29