Prof. Dr. Jürgen Margraf

Germany

Psychologist

DAAD Scholarship 1983–1984

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Margraf Achim Multhaupt


How do anxiety disorders and panic attacks arise? How can they be treated? These questions have preoccupied Jürgen Margraf for many years. Today, the psychologist, who was born in 1956, is considered a leading expert in clinical psychology and psychotherapy. His theory: panic disorders can be triggered by completely subjective, psychological and physiological factors. Panic attacks are often triggered by what patients perceive as an accelerated pulse – even when the heartbeat actually remains the same. This insight offers an approach for novel psychotherapeutic treatments.

What do Goethe, Freud and Brecht have in common? All three were not only successful authors, but also suffered from anxiety disorders, which today are diagnosed (…) as panic attacks.
Jürgen Margraf

Margraf repeatedly tried to overcome prejudices about this illness, which was long considered incurable. Hence, he points out that well-known figures such as Goethe, Freud and Brecht also suffered from anxiety disorders, but these did not prevent them from living a successful life. His analysis of the course that this disorder takes became known in Germany as the Margrafsche Teufelskreismodell and its treatment as the Marburger Therapiemodell. His numerous publications include the three-volume Lehrbuch der Verhaltenstherapie, which is considered a standard reference on the subject.

After studying psychology, completing his doctorate at Tübingen and writing his venia legendi (Habilitation) in Marburg, he received his first professorship at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1992. Later, he accepted the offer of a professorship at the Technische Universität Dresden, and in 1999 moved to the University of Basel as a full professor of clinical psychology and psychotherapy. Then, in 2009, he received a Humboldt Professorship at the Ruhr University Bochum. This highly remunerated award aims to enable researchers to work long term under good conditions at German universities. In Bochum, Jürgen Margraf took on the Chair of Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy and – linked with it – the management of a research and treatment centre for psychological health. Margraf also held executive positions in numerous bodies: among others, he was chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board on Psychotherapy of the German Federal Government, director of the Swiss National Centre of Competence in Research SESAM on mental health and president of the European Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Therapies (EABCT). He is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences – Leopoldina and was president of the German Society of Psychology from 2012 to 2014.

In 1983–1984, Margraf spent one year at Stanford University as a DAAD scholarship holder. Today, the psychologist sees the opportunity to do research work at one of the world's best universities as a stroke of luck and a turning point in his academic career.

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Margraf

Deutschland

Psychologe

DAAD-Stipendium 1983–1984

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Margraf Achim Multhaupt


Wie entstehen Angst- und Panikstörungen? Wie kann man sie therapieren? Diese Fragen beschäftigen den 1956 geborenen Psychologen Jürgen Margraf seit vielen Jahren. Er gilt als führender Experte in der klinischen Psychologie und der Psychotherapie. Sein Ansatz: Panikstörungen können durch ganz subjektive psychologische und physiologische Faktoren bedingt sein. Panikattacken werden oft durch eine vom Patienten wahrgenommene Beschleunigung des Pulsschlages ausgelöst – selbst wenn der Herzschlag in Wirklichkeit völlig unverändert bleibt. Diese Erkenntnis bietet den Ansatz für neuartige psychotherapeutische Therapien.

Was haben Goethe, Freud und Brecht gemeinsam? Alle drei waren nicht nur erfolgreiche Autoren, sondern litten auch unter Angststörungen, die heutzutage als Panikstörungen diagnostiziert werden.
Jürgen Margraf

Immer wieder hat Margraf versucht, Vorurteile gegen diese Krankheit auszuräumen, die lange als unheilbar galt. So weist er daraufhin, dass auch prominente Menschen wie Goethe, Freud und Brecht unter Angststörungen litten, die sie aber offensichtlich nicht von einem erfolgreichen Leben abgehalten haben. Seine Analyse des Krankheitsverlaufes ist als das „Margrafsche Teufelskreismodell“, die Behandlung als „Marburger Therapiemodell“ bekannt geworden. Unter seinen zahlreichen Publikationen gilt das dreibändige „Lehrbuch der Verhaltenstherapie“ als Standardwerk.

Nach Psychologiestudium, Promotion in Tübingen und Habilitation in Marburg bekam er 1992 seine erste Professur an der Freien Universität Berlin, nahm 1993 einen Ruf an die Technische Universität Dresden an und ging 1999 als Ordinarius für Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie an die Universität Basel. Dort erreichte ihn 2009 der Ruf auf eine Humboldt-Professur an die Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Diese hoch dotierte Auszeichnung soll es herausragenden Wissenschaftlern ermöglichen, unter guten Bedingungen langfristig an deutschen Hochschulen zu arbeiten. An der Universität Bochum übernahm Jürgen Margraf den Lehrstuhl für Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie und – damit verbunden – die Leitung  eines Forschungs- und Behandlungszentrums für psychische Gesundheit. Margraf hatte außerdem leitende Funktionen in zahlreichen Gremien inne: Unter anderem war er Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirates Psychotherapie der Deutschen Bundesregierung, Direktor des Schweizerischen Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunktes „sesam“ zur psychischen Gesundheit und Präsident des europäischen Dachverbandes für Verhaltenstherapie. Er ist Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und leitete als Präsident zwischen 2012 und 2014 die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychologie.

1983/1984 verbrachte Margraf ein Jahr als DAAD-Stipendiat an der Stanford University. Die Möglichkeit, ein Jahr lang an einer der besten Universitäten der Welt in der Forschung zu arbeiten, betrachtet der Wissenschaftler heute als Glücksfall und Weichenstellung für seine wissenschaftliche Karriere.

Stand: 2015-10-04